Seriously!

Go Back   Seriously! Forums > Serious Sam Series > Serious Sam Classic > Serious Sam Classic Workshop > Serious Editor

Serious Editor Discuss mapping ideas & problems or show tutorials and maps.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-18-2003, 03:04 PM   #1   Add To Ignore List  
Werebull
 
mpb2's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: On my sofa
 
mpb2 is offline Send a message via ICQ to mpb2
Angry damn Croteam and their 3-texture limit!

damn croteam and their 3-texture limit!

i was going to have a topmap that blends into a different topmap and use texture 3 for the grass but i need a texture 4! is there any grass textures that don't look horrible on their own?
__________________
Command Prompt Easter Egg:

type "Format C:" without the quotes.

:D
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2003, 03:54 PM   #2   Add To Ignore List  
pee pee
 
toastar's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2001
Location: canada
 
toastar is offline Send a message via ICQ to toastar
Default

blend them in PS or something?
__________________
toastar
now on the twitter
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2003, 06:54 PM   #3   Add To Ignore List  
Residant Player
 
DaPlaya's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2002
Location: Memphis IV
 
DaPlaya is offline Send a message via ICQ to DaPlaya
Default

doesn't the half-life engine only have single texture capabilties?
more than 3 textures is not needed.
but like toastar said, you should blend them in PS or PSP depending on what you use...
__________________
#include <beer.h> For Sheeeze, Laaaaatttteeee
/Coder/Modeler|Animator\Mapper\ - Night Raiders (RIP)
If a job is worth doing it's worth dieing for.
Your foe is well equipped, well-trained, battle-hardened. He Believes his gods are on his side. Let him believe what he will. We have the tanks on ours.
Life is a prison, death shall be my release
"If we fail, then I was not destened to rule, and am deserving of my death"
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2003, 07:31 PM   #4   Add To Ignore List  
G-Type Crazy
 
AverageJoe's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
 
AverageJoe is offline Send a message via AIM to AverageJoe
Default

holy shit kid, I barley use 2 when making topmaps! but 4?! GOD DAMN!
__________________
The Most IMPORTANT Video You'll Ever See
The body a mountain, the mind a river, what you think of changes how you think of what you think of.
Beware of those who care or know not of happiness. Blackhole singularity.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2003, 09:45 PM   #5   Add To Ignore List  
:]]llll(696)llll[[:
 
cyborgguineapig's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2002
Location: Portland OR
 
cyborgguineapig is offline Send a message via AIM to cyborgguineapig
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DaPlaya
doesn't the half-life engine only have single texture capabilties?
more than 3 textures is not needed.
but like toastar said, you should blend them in PS or PSP depending on what you use...
Hehe nice try Halflife has alpha textures where you can see the texture layer below it meaning...

Edit: or wait, lol, let me thinkabout this..
__________________
Whoa...Like whoa, Hey!
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2003, 10:09 PM   #6   Add To Ignore List  
is watching you
 
Big Brother's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO
 
Big Brother is offline Send a message via AIM to Big Brother Send a message via MSN to Big Brother Send a message via Yahoo to Big Brother
Default

I've used 3 before, but never needed 4.

I figure if I need 4, I'm doing something wrong
__________________
Blarg blarg.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2003, 11:20 PM   #7   Add To Ignore List  
G-Type Crazy
 
AverageJoe's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
 
AverageJoe is offline Send a message via AIM to AverageJoe
Default

no shit......DAMN! FOUR ****ING TEXTURES?!?
__________________
The Most IMPORTANT Video You'll Ever See
The body a mountain, the mind a river, what you think of changes how you think of what you think of.
Beware of those who care or know not of happiness. Blackhole singularity.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2003, 12:41 AM   #8   Add To Ignore List  
Mental
 
Joben's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2001
Location: USA
 
Joben is offline Send a message via ICQ to Joben Send a message via AIM to Joben
Default

im not shure (if your Shrinker i spelled it that way on purpose) what he is trying to do...

Please explain more carfuly what you are trying to do (what roles each texture would fill: how big it is and what kind of area its aplied to) and maybe we can help you do it with a smaller number of them. Post pics if it will help.
__________________
My Youtube Channel - My Website
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2003, 08:11 AM   #9   Add To Ignore List  
λ
 
Shrinker's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2001
Location: Germany
 
Shrinker is offline Send a message via ICQ to Shrinker Send a message via AIM to Shrinker Send a message via MSN to Shrinker
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Joben
im not shure (if your Shrinker i spelled it that way on purpose) what he is trying to do...
What do you mean by that?
__________________
Homepage | Twitter
 The Beautiful Nature
  Lights | Echoes
   Arrival Mix | Tree of Life

  Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2003, 09:39 AM   #10   Add To Ignore List  
G-Type Crazy
 
AverageJoe's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
 
AverageJoe is offline Send a message via AIM to AverageJoe
Default

T1: Grass detail texture
T2: ANOTHER grass detail texture
T3: Topmap texture
T4: OMG USE ONE TOPMAP TEXTURE AND ONE DETAIL TEXTURE AND THAT'S MORE THAN ENOUGH!!!!!
__________________
The Most IMPORTANT Video You'll Ever See
The body a mountain, the mind a river, what you think of changes how you think of what you think of.
Beware of those who care or know not of happiness. Blackhole singularity.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2003, 10:42 AM   #11   Add To Ignore List  
still alive
 
Philer's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2002
Location: where nekked women are
 
Philer is offline Send a message via ICQ to Philer Send a message via AIM to Philer Send a message via MSN to Philer Send a message via Yahoo to Philer
Default

Yeah thats right!
__________________
Electronic parts work because they have smoke in them.
Proof: They stop working if smoke comes out.

my maps, my page
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2003, 11:54 PM   #12   Add To Ignore List  
is watching you
 
Big Brother's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO
 
Big Brother is offline Send a message via AIM to Big Brother Send a message via MSN to Big Brother Send a message via Yahoo to Big Brother
Default

hehe

why would you need more than one detail texture of the same thing???
and why not combine the topmaps?


weeeee!!!!!!!!

/me dances
__________________
Blarg blarg.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2003, 12:30 AM   #13   Add To Ignore List  
Mental
 
Joben's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2001
Location: USA
 
Joben is offline Send a message via ICQ to Joben Send a message via AIM to Joben
Default

Ive been thinking about ways to texture terrain.
One of them used 3 textures. Topmap, medium, detail grass
thats the scheme in my pics of the tree covered landscape in Post Your Crap.
http://forums.seriouszone.com/attachment.php?s=&postid=411681

But now im thinking that with carful texture creation you would need only two. Instead of a medium texture every 20 meters and a detail one every 1 meter just use one that repeates ever 5 or so. Even if you want to try swithing from one 'neo-detail' texture to another and have a place were they overlap your still only going to need those 3 tex slots.

ive been looking at the demo to Trophy Hunter 2003, which has some realy geourgous outdoor scenery. Im trying to pick up tips and figure out exactly how they work the texture transistions smoothly from say woodland to gree grass.
__________________
My Youtube Channel - My Website

Last edited by Joben; 04-20-2003 at 12:32 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2003, 02:19 AM   #14   Add To Ignore List  
is watching you
 
Big Brother's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO
 
Big Brother is offline Send a message via AIM to Big Brother Send a message via MSN to Big Brother Send a message via Yahoo to Big Brother
Default

well from your pic I'd go for a more natural gree/brown for the grass. that's very pastel. Once you get the right color green many players will ignore the grass and start looking at other things. It;s only when the grass stands out as unnatural that it becomes necessary to pay a lot of attention to the terrain.

...did that make sense?
__________________
Blarg blarg.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2003, 01:52 PM   #15   Add To Ignore List  
Mental
 
Joben's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2001
Location: USA
 
Joben is offline Send a message via ICQ to Joben Send a message via AIM to Joben
Default

the exact color tones are rather beside the point.

[edit] anyway, that is fairly correct coloration, i sampled it from photographs or that kind of terrain for goodness sake. [/edit]
__________________
My Youtube Channel - My Website

Last edited by Joben; 04-20-2003 at 02:33 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2003, 04:57 PM   #16   Add To Ignore List  
G-Type Crazy
 
AverageJoe's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
 
AverageJoe is offline Send a message via AIM to AverageJoe
Default

make a backgorund, it will look alot better.
__________________
The Most IMPORTANT Video You'll Ever See
The body a mountain, the mind a river, what you think of changes how you think of what you think of.
Beware of those who care or know not of happiness. Blackhole singularity.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2003, 05:14 PM   #17   Add To Ignore List  
Mental
 
Joben's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2001
Location: USA
 
Joben is offline Send a message via ICQ to Joben Send a message via AIM to Joben
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AverageJoe
make a backgorund, it will look alot better.
duh...

you have a wondeful grasp on the irrelivent.
__________________
My Youtube Channel - My Website
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2003, 05:24 PM   #18   Add To Ignore List  
I cant download ink
 
DamianTV's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: State of Dillusion
 
DamianTV is offline
Default

I agree about the 3 texture limit. There are some other limitations that has made me just want to wait for the next engine. I found another odd bug with something I was just tinkering with. Blended partially transparent textures dont seem to receive Haze marker effects. Of course I could have just screwed it up.
__________________
The essence of Freedom comes from the proper limitation of Government.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2003, 07:00 AM   #19   Add To Ignore List  
Hey ladies
 
Fiendian's Avatar
 
Glowing Red Stove Top
Joined: Nov 2002
Location: Iceland
 
Fiendian is offline Send a message via ICQ to Fiendian Send a message via MSN to Fiendian
Default

I only need 1 or 2 because Im making a small level in Persia.

I agree to AJ:

T1: Can be whatever texture
T2: Detail or another grass texture
T3: Topmap.
T4: ???
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2003, 07:16 AM   #20   Add To Ignore List  
blahblahblah
 
--Fragman--'s Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: In an inexistant City
 
--Fragman-- is offline Send a message via ICQ to --Fragman-- Send a message via AIM to --Fragman-- Send a message via MSN to --Fragman--
Default

eh, no, the first texture should be the topmap, then some grass texture, and then the grass detail texture...
__________________
City War City War 2 Rats Rats BTBA
--------------------------
Bomberman SS:XBOX

--------------------------
My Page!
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2003, 07:19 AM   #21   Add To Ignore List  
T-Mech
 
sheep's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2001
Location: France
 
sheep is offline Send a message via ICQ to sheep
Default

Fragman is right! The first texture must be the topmap, when the engine renders far-away polygons he use only the first layer... the when the player get closer engine loads the second layers etc... (it doesn't work like that? )
__________________
Sheep le mouton
>>NNtuts<<
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2003, 09:41 AM   #22   Add To Ignore List  
G-Type Crazy
 
AverageJoe's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
 
AverageJoe is offline Send a message via AIM to AverageJoe
Default

I've never had problems with that at all.
__________________
The Most IMPORTANT Video You'll Ever See
The body a mountain, the mind a river, what you think of changes how you think of what you think of.
Beware of those who care or know not of happiness. Blackhole singularity.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2003, 12:17 PM   #23   Add To Ignore List  
λ
 
Shrinker's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2001
Location: Germany
 
Shrinker is offline Send a message via ICQ to Shrinker Send a message via AIM to Shrinker Send a message via MSN to Shrinker
Default

@sheep

Only the THIRD layer isnt rendered when the player is too far away, hence the name "detail texture layer".
__________________
Homepage | Twitter
 The Beautiful Nature
  Lights | Echoes
   Arrival Mix | Tree of Life

  Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2003, 03:44 AM   #24   Add To Ignore List  
T-Mech
 
samsamsam's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: Taiwan!!!!
 
samsamsam is offline Send a message via Yahoo to samsamsam
Default

3 texture ... neither make more texture to reply useful texture nor lost some good texture effect...

PS ? My favorites!
__________________
Samuel Free World Part 1(ver1.5) Release...

Samuel Free World- Part 2(75%)

include- Samuel Free World- Part 2-Go To Sky.


ZZZZZzzz...
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2003, 02:52 PM   #25   Add To Ignore List  
****** Games
 
Joined: Apr 2001
 
Liquid Morphine is offline
Default

The engine uses four texture layers because it was written initially for TNT cards. The fourth layer is used by the shadowmaps which are generated automatically and you cannot acces those.

Having said that, first of all, why not use procedural growth ? That would break up the texture a bit.

Second, every texture layer is going to cost you render cycles, so if you want to add another layer you will have to pay for this in reduced performance. I assume you have enough overhead in that department to want to add another layer.

Why not duplicate the terrain and place it slightly above your original terrain, then using portal/transparent on these polygons to add three more texture layers to the original one?

Alternatively you can make patches just like decals and add different textures on different area's of your map. You can easily do this by selecting polygon's on your original terrain and clone them to a brush.

Lastely, would it hurt to have asked your question in a little more polite manner?

Matthew
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2003, 01:25 PM   #26   Add To Ignore List  
Gnaar
 
Joined: Apr 2003
 
The Pharao is offline
Default

Hmmm, a possibility to trick this limit would be to blend two or more textures in an image editing program, it would only work on smaller scaled textures though.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2003, 08:32 AM   #27   Add To Ignore List  
Werebull
 
Dark AZ's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2003
Location: Moscow, Russia
 
Dark AZ is offline Send a message via ICQ to Dark AZ
Default

To my mind 3 textures is an optimal variant because not all GPU can support multitexturing with 4 or more layers. And I think yhat this terrain looks very good.
http://www.cyberaz.narod.ru/terrain1.jpg
__________________
"I'm just a poor boy, nobody loves me" (c) Queen
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2003, 10:01 AM   #28   Add To Ignore List  
G-Type Crazy
 
AverageJoe's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
 
AverageJoe is offline Send a message via AIM to AverageJoe
Default

nice red X
__________________
The Most IMPORTANT Video You'll Ever See
The body a mountain, the mind a river, what you think of changes how you think of what you think of.
Beware of those who care or know not of happiness. Blackhole singularity.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2003, 11:06 AM   #29   Add To Ignore List  
λ
 
Shrinker's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2001
Location: Germany
 
Shrinker is offline Send a message via ICQ to Shrinker Send a message via AIM to Shrinker Send a message via MSN to Shrinker
Default

Yeah, I like it too
__________________
Homepage | Twitter
 The Beautiful Nature
  Lights | Echoes
   Arrival Mix | Tree of Life

  Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2003, 03:05 PM   #30   Add To Ignore List  
Werebull
 
Dark AZ's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2003
Location: Moscow, Russia
 
Dark AZ is offline Send a message via ICQ to Dark AZ
Talking

!!!!LOL!!!!

Damned server problems!!!
Here it is:

http://airwarrior.seriouszone.com/terrain1.jpg

if it will not work,....not my day
__________________
"I'm just a poor boy, nobody loves me" (c) Queen
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:34 AM.