Seriously!

Go Back   Seriously! Forums > Serious Sam Series > Serious Sam Classic > Serious Sam Classic Workshop > Serious Modeler

Serious Modeler Discuss modelling ideas & problems or show tutorials and models.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-29-2001, 05:32 AM   #1   Add To Ignore List  
Mmm, tea.
 
Armern's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2001
Location: The banana tree
 
Armern is offline
Post

Well is there a way i can decreae the amount of poly's?
It would be really bad if i had to make that model again cuz it wouldn't turn out as butifull as now. Can i do an option that 2 triangles are merged?

If there is anyway of decreasing please tell me. I don't care if it will decrease the buty. I'll solve that later.

Thanks in advance
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2001, 06:58 AM   #2   Add To Ignore List  
untitled.
 
Hollywood's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2001
Location: Australia
 
Hollywood is offline Send a message via MSN to Hollywood
Post

What sort of model is it?

If you use your mip models correctly, this shouldn't be a problem.
__________________
Tres.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2001, 09:46 AM   #3   Add To Ignore List  
Banned
 
HighMaintenance's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2001
Location: U dont make mistakes, how u learn what is correct?
 
HighMaintenance is offline
Post

Which program? Lightwave 6.5b has a command called qemloss 2 that reduces polycount. The model will get uglier though. ;(
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2001, 02:03 PM   #4   Add To Ignore List  
Witch Bride
 
Joined: Mar 2001
Location: Croatia
 
Admir Elezovic is offline
Post

Depends on your app, there are plenty of ways to reduce polygon count. Mine is manual, by merging vertices and adjusting them.

Admir
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2001, 07:05 PM   #5   Add To Ignore List  
Witch Bride
 
Joined: Aug 2001
 
Fuse is offline
Post

well i use 3dsmax so i use collapsing and welding to take care of those useless polygons and optimize the model ....
__________________
Visit my portfolio
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2001, 12:17 PM   #6   Add To Ignore List  
Gnaar
 
Joined: Sep 2001
 
Euphronios is offline
Post

I'd have to say that is faaar to many polys, even for lod...
It's time to target weld until your head explodes.
Your best bet would be to render the front and side of your model and use that as a backdrop to do a new model with about half the polys. Keep in mind, when modelling, that only large, defining, curves are important to the model. All those cool little details you may want to add will have to be done with a skin.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2001, 01:45 AM   #7   Add To Ignore List  
Mmm, tea.
 
Armern's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2001
Location: The banana tree
 
Armern is offline
Post

ok well i remade da whole thing and now it only has 740 poly's and doen't look much diff. thanks anyways

P.S i tried some things but it just made it look to crappy
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Big lightning problem SeriousGrandpa Serious Editor 14 03-03-2002 10:16 AM
Big problem! darkstar Serious Sam Classic 20 02-11-2002 07:44 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:14 PM.