Seriously!

Go Back   Seriously! Forums > Serious Sam Series > Serious Sam HD

Serious Sam HD Discuss anything and everything about Serious Sam HD, the official remake of SS:FE on Serious Engine 3.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 5 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 11-25-2009, 07:10 PM   #1   Add To Ignore List  
Lava Golem
 
Joined: Apr 2003
 
jasser is offline
Default Serious Sam HD FAQ

Serious Sam HD FAQ
(written and maintained by Spoon and Fiendian)

Table of contents
1. How can I enable cheats?
2. What are the system requirements for the game?
3. I heard that the retail version of the game will require Steam, is that true?
4. Is there a demo for the game?
5. When will the retail version/XBLA version be released?
6. How many levels/secrets/enemies does the game have?
7. Where can I find my ...? [Sub-items: 6.1 Savegames, 6.2 Config data, 6.3 Log files, 6.4 Screenshots]
8. Will there be a Second Encounter HD?
9. Is there a dedicated server app for Serious Sam HD?
10. I heard there is no deathmatch/editor/SDK. Will they be released later?
11. I don't like auto-jump and/or dynamic crosshairs. Will this be fixed?
12. Is there a demo recording functionality in the game? And what about timedemo for benchmarking?



  1. How can I enable cheats?

    To enable cheats, hold shift and press F3 F4 F3 F3 F4. This will unlock an option in the pause menu (bound to the End key), where you can find several cheats such as giveall, god mode, etc. To disable cheat mode, use the same key combo. To access the cheat menu, press the End key. Note that while cheat mode is enabled, no scores will be submitted to the leaderboards, and no achievements will be unlocked.

    Under no circumstances should you use external cheats! Such as memory editors. The game actively detects these in different ways, and if you're caught cheating thus, there will be repercussions. So don't do it.

  2. What are the system requirements for the game?

    Quote:
    Minimum

    CPU/Processor: Intel P4 3.0GHz or AMD Athlon64 3500+
    Graphics Card: 256MB VRAM Graphics Card that supports DirectX 9.0c with Shader Model 3.0 (i.e.; Nvidia GeForce 7600-series, ATI Radeon X1600 or better)*
    RAM: 1GB for XP or 2GB for Vista
    Hard Drive: 1GB of free hard disk space
    Sound Card: DirectX 9.0c Compatible Sound Card
    Operating System: Windows XP (32bit or 64bit) with Service Pack 3 or
    Windows Vista** with Service Pack 2
    DirectX: 9.0c
    CD/DVD-ROM: DVD-ROM

    Recommended

    CPU/Processor: Intel Core2Duo 2.0GHz or AMD Athlon64 X2 4000+
    Graphics Card: 512MB VRAM Graphics Card that supports DirectX 9.0c with Shader Model 3.0 (i.e.; Nvidia GeForce 9800-series, ATI Radeon HD 4850 or better)*
    RAM: 2GB
    Hard Drive: 1GB of free hard disk space
    Sound Card: 5.1 Surround Sound DirectX 9.0c Compatible Sound Card
    Operating System: Windows XP (32bit or 64bit) with Service Pack 3 or
    Windows Vista** with Service Pack 2 or Windows 7
    DirectX: 9.0c
    CD/DVD-ROM: DVD-ROM

    Additional Info

    * Integrated video controllers (Intel Chipsets or similar) are not
    recommended or intended for gaming and may not work with this game.

    ** You will be required to install DirectX 9.0c to run the game.
    DirectX 9.0c is included with this copy of the game.
  3. I heard that the retail version of the game will require Steam, is that true?

    Yes, it is. All PC versions of the game, including the version that can be purchased from Get Games, require Steam to work.

  4. Is there a demo for the game?

    Not at the moment, but a demo has been announced as of today, 4th December. You will get a chance to try the Karnak demo level in the HD glory before you decide to buy the full game.
    Full announcement here.

  5. When will the retail version/XBLA version be released?

    No press releases have been made for the retail box release, but here are some per-country stats:
    Austria, Germany and Switzerland: December 10th, 2009 [Confirmed] (Thanks, Pulverdings!)
    United Kingdom: January 29th, 2010 [Unconfirmed]
    Slovakia and Czech Republic: January 31st, 2010 [Unconfirmed]

    As for the XBLA release, it has been confirmed that it got pushed all the way to January 13th next year.
    News item here.

  6. How many levels/secrets/enemies does the game have?

    As of now there is no confirmation of new levels or different enemy placement in HD. But new secrets that do not exist in the original have been confirmed, and perhaps there are more new goodies waiting to be discovered.

  7. Where can I find my ...?
    • Game saves: Steam directory/userdata/Steam accountID/41000/local/SeriousSamHD
    • Configuration data: Steam directory/userdata/Steam account ID/41000/local/SeriousSamHD
    • Log files: Steam directory/steamapps/common/serious sam hd the first encounter/Log
    • Screenshots: Steam directory/steamapps/common/serious sam hd the first encounter/Temp/ScreenShots

  8. Will there be a Second Encounter HD?

    You bet! It has been announced that Serious Sam HD: The Second Encounter will be released early 2010 for PC and consoles.
    Full announcement here.

  9. Is there a dedicated server app for Serious Sam HD?

    Not yet, but it should be added in a patch in the coming weeks.

  10. I heard there is no deathmatch/editor/SDK. Will they be released later?

    These are to be added in future patches.

  11. I don't like auto-jump and/or dynamic crosshair. Will this be fixed?

    These were made optional in the first patch.
    Auto-jump: Make sure your copy of the game is updated, then fire it up, open the console, type plr_bAllowPlayerAutoJump=0 (case sensitive) and press Enter. This will disable the auto-jump feature.

    Dynamic crosshair: Make sure your copy of the game is updated, then fire it up, open up the console, type hud_bFixedCrosshair=1 (case sensitive) and the crosshair should change to a static state.

  12. Is there a demo recording functionality in the game? And what about timedemo for benchmarking?

    This feature is being worked on. It is currently in the game but disabled. It will be enabled in a future patch (likely the next patch) when Croteam have tested and ironed out the glitches.

Last edited by Fiendian; 12-14-2009 at 10:19 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2009, 12:22 AM   #2   Add To Ignore List  
Pan
Silver Lined Boots
 
Pan's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Looking for Snake
 
Pan is offline
Default Re: Serious Sam HD FAQ

Good work Jasser, are we free to add on to this at all?
__________________
"Don't you have to be told to do things to be considered a slave?"
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2009, 05:53 AM   #3   Add To Ignore List  
PASGETTI!
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
 
Gimli is offline
Default Re: Serious Sam HD FAQ

Add away, and someone will update the fist post with info.
__________________
"But someday I will break the curse. If there's such a thing as peace, I will find it! Faith... is better than any plan!"
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2009, 08:20 AM   #4   Add To Ignore List  
Witch Bride
 
NecroViolator's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
 
NecroViolator is offline
Default Re: Serious Sam HD FAQ

1...Just curious, but is there a Demo of the game ???

2...IF you use more Cores on the CPU can you play on a slower speed ??? Example 4x1.6 ???
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2009, 08:56 AM   #5   Add To Ignore List  
Khnum
 
Alen Ladavac's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2001
Location: Croatia
 
Alen Ladavac is offline
Default Re: Serious Sam HD FAQ

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasser View Post
To enable cheats, hold shift and press F1 F2 F1 F1 F2. This will
unlock an option in the pause menu, where you can find several cheats
such as giveall, god mode,
Actually, its F3&F4, not F1&F2. And you have to be in the menus for this to work.

And perhaps note that the in-game cheat menu is bound to "End".
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2009, 10:13 AM   #6   Add To Ignore List  
PASGETTI!
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
 
Gimli is offline
Default Re: Serious Sam HD FAQ

Fixed and fixed text formatting. Came out weird looking.
__________________
"But someday I will break the curse. If there's such a thing as peace, I will find it! Faith... is better than any plan!"
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2009, 12:29 PM   #7   Add To Ignore List  
Witch Bride
 
GeNeRiC_DeTeCteD's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
 
GeNeRiC_DeTeCteD is offline
Default Re: Serious Sam HD FAQ

if i destroy a tree, it's shadow will disappear?
__________________
Dear guest,
You will have to register to Seriously! forums to view this special signature.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2009, 12:43 PM   #8   Add To Ignore List  
Finzy Corp. CEO
 
Finzy's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Whatshisoffice
 
Finzy is offline
Default Re: Serious Sam HD FAQ

Yes, since all lighting is dynamic.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2009, 03:08 PM   #9   Add To Ignore List  
Lava Golem
 
Joined: Apr 2003
 
jasser is offline
Default Re: Serious Sam HD FAQ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pan Strife View Post
Good work Jasser, are we free to add on to this at all?
Not my work. Spoon's work. Even says so on the first line . And yeah you can add to it, that's why the thread isn't locked.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2009, 10:30 AM   #10   Add To Ignore List  
Razardous
 
The Serious Spoon's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: The Netherlands
 
The Serious Spoon is offline Send a message via ICQ to The Serious Spoon
Default Re: Serious Sam HD FAQ

Quote:
Originally Posted by NecroViolator View Post
1...Just curious, but is there a Demo of the game ???

2...IF you use more Cores on the CPU can you play on a slower speed ??? Example 4x1.6 ???
Added the question about the demo. I don't know about your second question, I'll check with Croteam.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alen Ladavac View Post
Actually, its F3&F4, not F1&F2. And you have to be in the menus for this to work.

And perhaps note that the in-game cheat menu is bound to "End".
Oops, thanks. I knew I should've checked that

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gimli View Post
Fixed and fixed text formatting. Came out weird looking.
Thanks. It's because I emailed it to jasser, which added word wrap to the text.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasser View Post
Not my work. Spoon's work. Even says so on the first line . And yeah you can add to it, that's why the thread isn't locked.
Indeed. I was unable to access Seriously! at home for some reason, so jasser posted it for me.
__________________
Facebook | Last.fm | Twitter | DeviantArt

"And yet be reminded by the Gods that though cooperation is a friendly pursuit, friendly fire is righteous in its purging of the vile and corrupt. Let ye not be deserving of its wrath for the hoarding of power-ups."
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2009, 12:29 PM   #11   Add To Ignore List  
Witch Bride
 
NecroViolator's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
 
NecroViolator is offline
Default Re: Serious Sam HD FAQ

@The Serious Spoon

Thanks bro...

BTW, ask if the Map Editor was also supposed to support multi processing (Multi-Core)...Always good with more speeds...
I read something about it somewhere but cant find it again...

Also if we are allowed to use the OpenGL this time around in editor... ...

Thanks ...
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2009, 03:56 PM   #12   Add To Ignore List  
Kleer
 
Costa's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
 
Costa is offline
Default Re: Serious Sam HD FAQ

What happened if i join in a server with custom map (made with the editor)?
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2009, 05:23 PM   #13   Add To Ignore List  
PASGETTI!
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
 
Gimli is offline
Default Re: Serious Sam HD FAQ

We don't know yet, because the editor is not out yet.
__________________
"But someday I will break the curse. If there's such a thing as peace, I will find it! Faith... is better than any plan!"
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2009, 05:57 PM   #14   Add To Ignore List  
Witch Bride
 
GeNeRiC_DeTeCteD's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
 
GeNeRiC_DeTeCteD is offline
Default

i wish it would be like in halo (yeah, i have played it alot in the last weeks),you don't need to download anything, just join the server, and no matter what mod the guy have, you will have it too.

Since Serious Sam HD have better models, textures, more polygons....
We will need better skills to meet SSHD's standards? or we will have better displacing tools?

edit: didn't saw it's a double, merge the posts if you can. (Merged)
__________________
Dear guest,
You will have to register to Seriously! forums to view this special signature.

Last edited by jasser; 11-29-2009 at 07:42 PM. Reason: Merged at request of user
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2009, 08:37 AM   #15   Add To Ignore List  
Hey ladies
 
Fiendian's Avatar
 
Glowing Red Stove Top
Joined: Nov 2002
Location: Iceland
 
Fiendian is offline Send a message via ICQ to Fiendian Send a message via MSN to Fiendian
Default Re: Serious Sam HD FAQ

Updated the FAQ now that the first patch is released. Also added a statement about demo recording/timedemo based on Alen Ladavac's statement in this thread.

EDIT: Updated the FAQ again to reflect announcement of SSHD:SE and delay of XBLA release. Also added an extra line to the demo explanation clause, one stupid reason for a lack of demo is now equalized with a good reason why there should be a demo.

Last edited by Fiendian; 12-01-2009 at 07:56 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 06:49 AM   #16   Add To Ignore List  
Razardous
 
The Serious Spoon's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: The Netherlands
 
The Serious Spoon is offline Send a message via ICQ to The Serious Spoon
Default Re: Serious Sam HD FAQ

Nice! Thanks for helping to keep things accurate and up to date
__________________
Facebook | Last.fm | Twitter | DeviantArt

"And yet be reminded by the Gods that though cooperation is a friendly pursuit, friendly fire is righteous in its purging of the vile and corrupt. Let ye not be deserving of its wrath for the hoarding of power-ups."
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2009, 03:05 PM   #17   Add To Ignore List  
Hey ladies
 
Fiendian's Avatar
 
Glowing Red Stove Top
Joined: Nov 2002
Location: Iceland
 
Fiendian is offline Send a message via ICQ to Fiendian Send a message via MSN to Fiendian
Default Re: Serious Sam HD FAQ

No problem.
Btw, updated the FAQ today to reflect the announcement of the upcoming demo.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 04:42 PM   #18   Add To Ignore List  
Kamikaze
 
Joined: Dec 2005
 
seriousEd is offline
Default Re: Serious Sam HD FAQ

I heard there is no Walk/Run toggle. Why is that?
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 06:03 PM   #19   Add To Ignore List  
blahblahblah
 
--Fragman--'s Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: In an inexistant City
 
--Fragman-- is offline Send a message via ICQ to --Fragman-- Send a message via AIM to --Fragman-- Send a message via MSN to --Fragman--
Default Re: Serious Sam HD FAQ

CT probably realized that walking doesn't make any sense in this game
__________________
City War City War 2 Rats Rats BTBA
--------------------------
Bomberman SS:XBOX

--------------------------
My Page!
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 06:12 PM   #20   Add To Ignore List  
Ugh-Zan III
 
Brute's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
 
Brute is offline Send a message via MSN to Brute
Default Re: Serious Sam HD FAQ

I find it annoying. I can only walk with the controller, and only use thirdperson with the keyboard.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 07:52 AM   #21   Add To Ignore List  
Khnum
 
Alen Ladavac's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2001
Location: Croatia
 
Alen Ladavac is offline
Default Re: Serious Sam HD FAQ

You can rebind controller commands. Can't you rebind 3rd person to the controller?
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 12:11 PM   #22   Add To Ignore List  
Pan
Silver Lined Boots
 
Pan's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Looking for Snake
 
Pan is offline
Default Re: Serious Sam HD FAQ

Quote:
Originally Posted by --Fragman-- View Post
CT probably realized that walking doesn't make any sense in this game
I walk with colts all the time. XD
__________________
"Don't you have to be told to do things to be considered a slave?"
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 04:12 PM   #23   Add To Ignore List  
Ugh-Zan III
 
Brute's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
 
Brute is offline Send a message via MSN to Brute
Default Re: Serious Sam HD FAQ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alen Ladavac View Post
You can rebind controller commands. Can't you rebind 3rd person to the controller?
I didn't know you could. I only saw 4 sets of pre-defined controller layouts (A B and lefty versions). I'll have to figure out how to do that. Re-binding "jump" may also be nice.

*edit: So, I found the Custom Controller options, but if you're not aware of this yet, I just thought I'd bring it to your attention.
__________________

Last edited by Brute; 12-08-2009 at 08:11 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2009, 09:01 AM   #24   Add To Ignore List  
Hey ladies
 
Fiendian's Avatar
 
Glowing Red Stove Top
Joined: Nov 2002
Location: Iceland
 
Fiendian is offline Send a message via ICQ to Fiendian Send a message via MSN to Fiendian
Default Re: Serious Sam HD FAQ

Updated FAQ, the delay of the XBLA release is now reflected here. Also added some more details about the retail box.

EDIT: Did some changes to the formatting to (hopefully) make the FAQ more readable. Also added a list of questions that the FAQ answers.

Last edited by Fiendian; 12-14-2009 at 09:40 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2009, 04:18 AM   #25   Add To Ignore List  
Gnaar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
 
ToVat43 is offline
Default Re: Serious Sam HD FAQ

Great :/

Last edited by ToVat43; 06-09-2011 at 12:05 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2009, 04:35 AM   #26   Add To Ignore List  
Ugh-Zan III
 
Brute's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
 
Brute is offline Send a message via MSN to Brute
Default Re: Serious Sam HD FAQ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deathlink6.0 View Post
Just read that even the retail version of Serious Sam HD needs Steam.

That's sad. It is a reason for me not buy a game when it is released via an online platform but SSHD comes at least also on DVD which can be bought in a shop. I really like Serious Sam and I have three legal versions only of Serious Sam SE (Original, Gold and one from a game magazine). SSam was great for LANs and I played it very often with friends (Coop/Deathmatch/Splittscreen*) but with Steam it will be difficult to do that. You can't just give everyone a CD/DVD to put it into Disc-Drive and install. A lot of my mates don't want Steam and something like that.
Well, unless you violate the Terms of Use agreement, it's actually easier to install the game again on seperate computers from Steam, as you can download it off your account, which can be accessed anywhere.

You're not supposed to install one copy of a retail game on multiple computers at the same time, espicially not to play them together online.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2009, 06:27 AM   #27   Add To Ignore List  
Finzy Corp. CEO
 
Finzy's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Whatshisoffice
 
Finzy is offline
Default Re: Serious Sam HD FAQ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brute View Post
You're not supposed to install one copy of a retail game on multiple computers at the same time, espicially not to play them together online.
Yeah, I can't think of any modern games that would allow that.

I've tried playing SS:SE without the disc, but even that requires you to first insert the disc and take it off after the game has launched (and you may still get messages telling you to insert the correct disc), so it's not really advised.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 08:32 AM   #28   Add To Ignore List  
Witch Bride
 
GeNeRiC_DeTeCteD's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
 
GeNeRiC_DeTeCteD is offline
Default Re: Serious Sam HD FAQ

Quote:
Originally Posted by GeNeRiC_DeTeCteD View Post
Since Serious Sam HD have better models, textures, more polygons....
We will need better skills to meet SSHD's standards? or we will have better displacing tools?
.
__________________
Dear guest,
You will have to register to Seriously! forums to view this special signature.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 08:38 AM   #29   Add To Ignore List  
Finzy Corp. CEO
 
Finzy's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Whatshisoffice
 
Finzy is offline
Default Re: Serious Sam HD FAQ

Yes.

I like simple answers.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2012, 01:31 PM   #30   Add To Ignore List  
Andromeda
 
Rakanishu's Avatar
 
Seriously! Sam Master
Joined: Dec 2011
Location: Universe
 
Rakanishu is offline
Default Re: Serious Sam HD FAQ

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasser View Post
[list=1][*]How can I enable cheats?

To enable cheats, hold shift and press F3 F4 F3 F3 F4. This will unlock an option in the pause menu (bound to the End key), where you can find several cheats such as giveall, god mode, etc. To disable cheat mode, use the same key combo. To access the cheat menu, press the End key. Note that while cheat mode is enabled, no scores will be submitted to the leaderboards, and no achievements will be unlocked.

Under no circumstances should you use external cheats! Such as memory editors. The game actively detects these in different ways, and if you're caught cheating thus, there will be repercussions. So don't do it.
You also can do "cht_bEnable=1" in the console with the key " ˛ "
__________________
Showcase Thread© -- Crippler and Raka's Artillery©
-------------------------

Procyon, alive... and still shining.
Check STM 1.08B for SSSE by Troy and Zeo.
French mapper and modder since 2010.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AEon's Secrets of Serious Sam 2 FAQ AEon Serious Sam 2 49 08-31-2013 01:07 PM
Tutorial/FAQ: How To Make A World Playable In Serious Michael Harris Serious Editor 16 02-25-2005 09:40 AM
How To Make A World Playable In Serious Michael Harris Serious Editor 0 02-14-2002 01:53 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:05 PM.