Seriously!

Go Back   Seriously! Forums > Serious Sam Series > Serious Sam 2

Serious Sam 2 Discuss anything and everything about Serious Sam 2, the official sequel to SS:FE and SS:SE.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-12-2006, 01:45 PM   #1   Add To Ignore List  
Kleer
 
grandpajenkins's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Joe Mamas House!
 
grandpajenkins is offline
Default Serius Sam 2 Won't Work

Whenever I play Serious Sam 2 the screen go's pitch grey and a message saying "Vortex Shaders Not Found" comes up plus I don't know how to update my driver please help!
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2006, 01:58 PM   #2   Add To Ignore List  
Kleer
 
grandpajenkins's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Joe Mamas House!
 
grandpajenkins is offline
Default

My log says

-------- start of log --------

LOG: Core version: $Version: Serious Sam 2; 2.066.00:59775; 2005-PATCH-2-066-inc$
LOG: Command: $
LOG: Initializing timer.
LOG: Timestamp: 2005/12/31 16:02:00
LOG: Binary name: Sam2.exe
LOG: Binary soft path: Bin/
LOG: Binary hard path: C:\Program Files\Serious Sam 2\Bin\
LOG: Application directory: C:\Program Files\Serious Sam 2\
LOG: Loading group files...
LOG: All_PC_01.gro: 1194 files
LOG: All_PC_02.gro: 5213 files
LOG: All_PC_03.gro: 3274 files
LOG: Movies_PC_01.gro: 56 files
LOG: Movies_PC_02.gro: 44 files
LOG: --- Serious Engine Startup ---
LOG:
LOG: Examining underlying OS...
LOG: Type: WinNT
LOG: Version: 5.1, build 2600
LOG: Misc: Service Pack 2
LOG:
LOG: Detecting CPU...
LOG: Vendor: GenuineIntel
LOG: Type: 0, Family: 15, Model: 0, Stepping: 10
LOG: MMX: Yes
LOG: SSE: Yes
LOG: CMOV: Yes
LOG: Clock: 1793 MHz
LOG:
LOG: Error loading ImmWraper.dll: Dynamic module "C:\Program Files\Serious Sam 2\Bin\ImmWrapper.dll" not found!.
LOG: IFeel disabled
LOG: Config file 'Content/SeriousSam2/Config/boot.cfg' doesn't exist.
LOG: Processing config file 'Content/SeriousSam2/Config/autoexec.cfg'.
LOG: Processing config file 'Content/SeriousSam2/Config/user.cfg'.
ERR: <memory stream>(4) : error : invalid expression part.
ERR: Syntax error in command.
LOG: "Content/SeriousSam2/Sam2.ini" does not exist, skipping cvar loading.
LOG:
LOG: Desktop settings:
LOG: Color depth: 32-bit
LOG: Desktop resolution: 800 x 600
LOG: Virtual screen: 800 x 600
LOG: Monitors attached: 1
FTL: Fatal error: Cannot set display mode!
FTL: GfxAPI error:
FTL: (Direct3D) Missing support for vertex shaders.

Last edited by Shrinker; 01-12-2006 at 02:22 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2006, 02:03 PM   #3   Add To Ignore List  
Kleer
 
grandpajenkins's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Joe Mamas House!
 
grandpajenkins is offline
Default

Bump
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2006, 02:05 PM   #4   Add To Ignore List  
Kleer
 
grandpajenkins's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Joe Mamas House!
 
grandpajenkins is offline
Default

Bumpity Bump Bump
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2006, 02:22 PM   #5   Add To Ignore List  
λ
 
Shrinker's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2001
Location: Germany
 
Shrinker is offline Send a message via ICQ to Shrinker Send a message via AIM to Shrinker Send a message via MSN to Shrinker
Default

You need a new graphics card.
Now to clean up the mess of this thread...
Please, next time only post your LOG ONCE, not multiple times in a post, and then succeeded by the install log. It is unnecessary text nobody will ever read.
__________________
Homepage | Twitter
 The Beautiful Nature
  Lights | Echoes
   Arrival Mix | Tree of Life

  Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2006, 02:32 PM   #6   Add To Ignore List  
Kleer
 
grandpajenkins's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Joe Mamas House!
 
grandpajenkins is offline
Default

Thank You So Fricking Much!!!!1
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2006, 03:44 PM   #7   Add To Ignore List  
Proconsul
 
Meathead's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2001
Location: Bat Country
 
Meathead is offline
Default

You're welcome!!!!!
__________________
There comes a point in your life when you realize who really matters, who never did, and who always will.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2006, 04:38 PM   #8   Add To Ignore List  
Goodbye Moonmen
 
Discy's Avatar
 
Seriously! Khnum
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: The Netherlands
 
Discy is offline
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grandpajenkins
Thank You So Fricking Much!!!!1
*sniff* *sniffsniff* I smell some serious sarcasm around here.
__________________
"Is there any better Gerüstbaufirmenvorarbeiterschlüsselanhängerfarbenwasserlöslichkeitskontrollchemiker than discy? No!" -Shrinker
[22:30] Fiendian: Discy, Finzy and Louva shall merge into a superentity known as the Lickyfonz.
"Can we just move Discy's posts to the HOF automatically already? :P" -Jetty


Ir-Kalla: Serious Sam Classic map pack in development (Ir-Kalla: Egypt Demo)
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2006, 11:27 PM   #9   Add To Ignore List  
Kleer
 
grandpajenkins's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Joe Mamas House!
 
grandpajenkins is offline
Default

Shrinker would this graphics card be good enough for the game to work

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...Fencoding=UTF8
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2006, 11:32 PM   #10   Add To Ignore List  
Pony Fanatic
 
ChJees's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Sweden, Sundsvall
 
ChJees is offline Send a message via MSN to ChJees
Default

You can get a graphiccard that works for SS2 for less than that, around 65$. I think it is guarantied that it will at least work. (Check for a graphiccard for 2.1 Shader Support at least.)
__________________
My Showcase!.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2006, 06:56 AM   #11   Add To Ignore List  
ZEN
roll'n ana stroll'n
 
ZEN's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2001
Location: Minn. USA
 
ZEN is offline
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grandpajenkins
Shrinker would this graphics card be good enough for the game to work

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...Fencoding=UTF8
Quote:
Originally Posted by SS2 Read Me file systems requirements
Minimum supported (low-end system):

CPU: ~1.5 GHz Athlon XP or Pentium M, or ~2 GHz Pentium 4

RAM: 256 MB

Sound: any DirectSound compatible sound board

Graphics: DirectX 8.0/8.1 compliant or low-end DirectX 9 3D accelerator

(nVidia GeForce3 and 4 series (not MX!), GeForceFX 5200 through 5700 series, ATI Radeon 8500 through 9200 and X300 series, S3 DeltaChrome or XGI Volari ... )



Recommended (mainstream):

CPU: ~2.0 GHz Athlon XP or Pentium M or ~2.6 GHz Pentium 4

RAM: 512 MB

Sound: DirectSound3D compliant sound board

(Creative SoundBlaster Live series, nVidia SoundStorm, ...)

Graphics: DirectX 9.0 compliant 3D accelerator

(nVidia GeForceFX 5900 series and GeForce 6200 and 6600 series, ATI Radeon 9500 thru 9800 and X600-X700 series, ...)
For a few $'s more the 6200 would be a better investment and a 6600 a very noticable improvent over the 6200 for over all gameing.

But to be frank if you can hold out get a 6800GS.
I paid $190 for my 6800/128 and I have no complants beyound my own self incompetence and I plan to pick a GS soon up myself.
__________________
Great men do not aspire to work ... they thrust it upon others.
.oOZEN]:::::o Chase to the cut.

Last edited by ZEN; 01-14-2006 at 07:03 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2006, 01:33 PM   #12   Add To Ignore List  
Kleer
 
grandpajenkins's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Joe Mamas House!
 
grandpajenkins is offline
Default

Sooo..... will the one I posted work?
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2006, 03:30 PM   #13   Add To Ignore List  
ZEN
roll'n ana stroll'n
 
ZEN's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2001
Location: Minn. USA
 
ZEN is offline
Default

To be frank I never got my hands on a 5500 so I couldnt say whether you would be happy with it but I did run Sam2 on a 5900/128 with good results at 800x600.
I would say yes the 5500 will run it at the lowest settings but I can also say for advanced games you wont be to thrilled with it.
I highly recomend a 6600/256 as the lowest card on the current game chain.
__________________
Great men do not aspire to work ... they thrust it upon others.
.oOZEN]:::::o Chase to the cut.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2006, 02:43 AM   #14   Add To Ignore List  
blahblahblah
 
--Fragman--'s Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: In an inexistant City
 
--Fragman-- is offline Send a message via ICQ to --Fragman-- Send a message via AIM to --Fragman-- Send a message via MSN to --Fragman--
Default

I ran it on a GF4TI4200, on low-medium settings. But then again, the 5xxx series aren't that good. I'd probably try to get a 66xx one or so.
On notebook with x700 it runs fine at max details though
__________________
City War City War 2 Rats Rats BTBA
--------------------------
Bomberman SS:XBOX

--------------------------
My Page!
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Error mantazzo Serious Sam 2 50 02-14-2008 04:59 PM
Serious Sam refuses to work Konstantin Serious Sam 2 1 04-01-2007 02:39 PM
What does Google think of you? Sledge Off Topic Forum 69 12-13-2004 07:50 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:37 PM.