Seriously!

Go Back   Seriously! Forums > General > Showcases & Portfolios

Showcases & Portfolios The most awesome creations of our members can be seen here. Got some cool stuff? Show it off here and get feedback!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 37 votes, 4.81 average. Display Modes
Old 09-03-2006, 02:50 PM   #61   Add To Ignore List  
Serious Xmas 2009!!
 
Wytas's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Location: Lithuania
 
Wytas is offline Send a message via MSN to Wytas
Default

Haha, Treehouse of horrors Nice idea! But whats wrong with shadowmaps? When exactly you get an error?
__________________
My Showcase Thread !!!
Haunted PalaceSerious Sam SE Music Video (High Quality)

New projects!
• A sequel to one of my maps o_O
• Serious Sam crazy!™
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2006, 07:11 AM   #62   Add To Ignore List  
Finzy Corp. CEO
 
Finzy's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Whatshisoffice
 
Finzy is offline
Default

Thanks for the comments

Quote:
But whats wrong with shadowmaps? When exactly you get an error?
When copying an existing UVMap to the new shadowmap. I press OK and the editor malfunctions...I never get it working.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2006, 07:49 AM   #63   Add To Ignore List  
TwL
Gone Again
 
TwL's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Singapore, Singapore
 
TwL is offline
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by F1NLAND-Warrior
Thanks for the comments


When copying an existing UVMap to the new shadowmap. I press OK and the editor malfunctions...I never get it working.
Usually this may be the cause of typing the names the wrong way round.

There was once when I wanted to copy an existing UV map but I typed it wrongly and it crashes. Stupid me.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2006, 09:49 AM   #64   Add To Ignore List  
Mental
 
Deepblue's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
 
Deepblue is offline
Default

Remember about capitals and stuff. I always call my UVmapping "Texture" and my shadowmaps "Shadow". Much easier that way and it doesn't matter about multiple models because SED2 never get's the shadow and UVmaps mixed up
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2006, 11:19 AM   #65   Add To Ignore List  
Finzy Corp. CEO
 
Finzy's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Whatshisoffice
 
Finzy is offline
Default

Can I have an UVmap named like this, for example; NameName, or will it crash it? I'm pretty sure that I typed everything correctly (heck, I check for typos all the time ).
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2006, 11:30 AM   #66   Add To Ignore List  
Mental
 
Deepblue's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
 
Deepblue is offline
Default

It might be the name crashing it who knows? Just try using "Shadow" for all your shadowmaps and "Texture" for all the UVmaps. I do this and no crashes except when I don't select all polys during shadowmap creation
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2006, 12:43 PM   #67   Add To Ignore List  
Finzy Corp. CEO
 
Finzy's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Whatshisoffice
 
Finzy is offline
Default

But what if I have multiple UVmaps? Can I name them all just "Texture"?
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2006, 01:56 PM   #68   Add To Ignore List  
Mental
 
Deepblue's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
 
Deepblue is offline
Default

Yeah it doesn't matter. I do it all the time. For some reason several UVmaps for the same model using the same name don't overwrite each other...which is good

Take my SS2 map for example, all UVmaps in all the models are named Texture. Same with all the shadowmaps being named Shadow
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2006, 10:08 PM   #69   Add To Ignore List  
TwL
Gone Again
 
TwL's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Singapore, Singapore
 
TwL is offline
Default

Yes, recently I confirmed that using same UV map will not overwrite the properites of other surfaces. That was a mistake I made when I was making my models, when I though it is required to make different UV map for different surfaces.

And seriously, CT tutorials are very confusing.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2006, 04:19 AM   #70   Add To Ignore List  
Serious Xmas 2009!!
 
Wytas's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Location: Lithuania
 
Wytas is offline Send a message via MSN to Wytas
Default

I hope you don't create new UVMap for each surface?
__________________
My Showcase Thread !!!
Haunted PalaceSerious Sam SE Music Video (High Quality)

New projects!
• A sequel to one of my maps o_O
• Serious Sam crazy!™
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2006, 05:12 AM   #71   Add To Ignore List  
TwL
Gone Again
 
TwL's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Singapore, Singapore
 
TwL is offline
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wytas
I hope you don't create new UVMap for each surface?
No, when the property of the UV map for a surface is different then the current UV map, I create a new one.

That's because CT didn't really say it clearly when I was going through the Basic Room tuts and though it is neccesary to have a different UV map for different surfaces with different properties.

Anyway, back on topic.


EDIT : Oh yeah, I think I am the first person to see this Sed2 message : UVMap '<name>' ignored because it exceeds max number of UVMaps per mesh(8)

Last edited by TwL; 09-05-2006 at 05:24 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2006, 06:52 AM   #72   Add To Ignore List  
Serious Xmas 2009!!
 
Wytas's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Location: Lithuania
 
Wytas is offline Send a message via MSN to Wytas
Default

LOL, if I delete Default UVMap before I copy Texture uvmap to Shadow uvmap,COPY function doesn't give me TARGET tag
__________________
My Showcase Thread !!!
Haunted PalaceSerious Sam SE Music Video (High Quality)

New projects!
• A sequel to one of my maps o_O
• Serious Sam crazy!™
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2006, 09:18 AM   #73   Add To Ignore List  
Razardous
 
The Serious Spoon's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: The Netherlands
 
The Serious Spoon is offline Send a message via ICQ to The Serious Spoon
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by F1NLAND-Warrior
But what if I have multiple UVmaps? Can I name them all just "Texture"?
You can't have multiple UV-Maps with the same name, if that's what you mean.
__________________
Facebook | Last.fm | Twitter | DeviantArt

"And yet be reminded by the Gods that though cooperation is a friendly pursuit, friendly fire is righteous in its purging of the vile and corrupt. Let ye not be deserving of its wrath for the hoarding of power-ups."
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2006, 11:14 AM   #74   Add To Ignore List  
Finzy Corp. CEO
 
Finzy's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Whatshisoffice
 
Finzy is offline
Default

Well why Deepblue says it works then?

Quote:
Yeah it doesn't matter. I do it all the time. For some reason several UVmaps for the same model using the same name don't overwrite each other...which is good

Take my SS2 map for example, all UVmaps in all the models are named Texture. Same with all the shadowmaps being named Shadow
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2006, 12:29 PM   #75   Add To Ignore List  
Mental
 
Deepblue's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
 
Deepblue is offline
Default

It does work Spoon. I've done this with many models in my maps. But don't take my word for it though F1NLAND, try it for yourself and see if it works.

I haven't done any SED2 mapping for a while so I'm not entirely sure that's how I did things
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2006, 08:59 PM   #76   Add To Ignore List  
TwL
Gone Again
 
TwL's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Singapore, Singapore
 
TwL is offline
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by F1NLAND-Warrior
Well why Deepblue says it works then?
The Serious Spoon :
You can't have multiple UV-Maps with the same name, if that's what you mean.


Maybe you both two have misunderstood what Spoon has said. Check the words in BoLd

And it works for me too, by the way. When I discovered it, I then realise that I made a lot of mistakes in my old maps : "Jumping Of Death", "Mist Of Fight", etc

Last edited by TwL; 09-06-2006 at 04:31 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2006, 09:07 AM   #77   Add To Ignore List  
Finzy Corp. CEO
 
Finzy's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Whatshisoffice
 
Finzy is offline
Default

Ah, whatever. I usually give an unique name to all UVMaps. It's easier to find and re-use them that way.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2006, 09:26 AM   #78   Add To Ignore List  
Razardous
 
The Serious Spoon's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: The Netherlands
 
The Serious Spoon is offline Send a message via ICQ to The Serious Spoon
Default

Deepblue, what you probably mean is that when you press Shift+S to uvmap a poly, you enter the name of an already existing UV-Map to map the poly to. However what that does is not create a second UV-Map with the same name (which is not possible), it simply adds that poly and its uvmap data to the already exisiting UV-Map
__________________
Facebook | Last.fm | Twitter | DeviantArt

"And yet be reminded by the Gods that though cooperation is a friendly pursuit, friendly fire is righteous in its purging of the vile and corrupt. Let ye not be deserving of its wrath for the hoarding of power-ups."
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2006, 09:29 AM   #79   Add To Ignore List  
Mental
 
Deepblue's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
 
Deepblue is offline
Default

Ah. But at least it doesn't make the rest of the polys use the same UVmapping effect (e.g. Planar, Band, etc)
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2006, 10:26 AM   #80   Add To Ignore List  
Finzy Corp. CEO
 
Finzy's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Whatshisoffice
 
Finzy is offline
Default

http://img102.imageshack.us/img102/874/mwidgoexperimentscreenshot12uw4.jpg

Phew...this village area took a lot of time to make. And patience. It just insane how many times you have to test fights. Looks like I'll also have to split up this map to smaller parts because the loading times and framerates are starting to get too low if I continue doing it this way...dunno how well the finalized version runs.

Edit- And, as you can see from the screenshot, most of the simbas are dead in this map. Hooray for midget haters!

Last edited by Finzy; 09-06-2006 at 10:37 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2006, 09:03 PM   #81   Add To Ignore List  
TwL
Gone Again
 
TwL's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Singapore, Singapore
 
TwL is offline
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by F1NLAND-Warrior
<img>http://img102.imageshack.us/img102/874/mwidgoexperimentscreenshot12uw4.jpg</img>

Phew...this village area took a lot of time to make. And patience. It just insane how many times you have to test fights. Looks like I'll also have to split up this map to smaller parts because the loading times and framerates are starting to get too low if I continue doing it this way...dunno how well the finalized version runs.

Edit- And, as you can see from the screenshot, most of the simbas are dead in this map. Hooray for midget haters!
Very nice! Awesome!

Also, do remember that the Editor's FPS is lower than the normal game's FPS.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2006, 04:05 AM   #82   Add To Ignore List  
Serious Xmas 2009!!
 
Wytas's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Location: Lithuania
 
Wytas is offline Send a message via MSN to Wytas
Default

Yes, very nice map! And battles look like fully loaded with adrenaline!!!
I enjoyed Mountain Madness BETA very much! I believe this one will be a kick-ass map too!!!
__________________
My Showcase Thread !!!
Haunted PalaceSerious Sam SE Music Video (High Quality)

New projects!
• A sequel to one of my maps o_O
• Serious Sam crazy!™
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2006, 07:47 AM   #83   Add To Ignore List  
Finzy Corp. CEO
 
Finzy's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Whatshisoffice
 
Finzy is offline
Default

Ah, that's great! I was worried that no one tried out the beta

I think I'll release Path Through The Woods as a single map even though the whole mappack isn't finished yet. I don't want to keep you all waiting too long, because I have to complete The Banishment module before I can fully focus on SED2 (due to NWN2's release date ).

So, that means that you won't be able to play the first and third map....yet. But don't worry, I think the second level is going to be the best one in the whole mappack.
And once I finish making that module, I'll continue my SED2 work and finish the mappack.

And, I think I'll need to get Mountain Madness finished as well. It isn't a tough job to do, but I'll just need to polish it a bit. I mean, it doesn't even have an ending yet
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2006, 07:51 AM   #84   Add To Ignore List  
Mental
 
Deepblue's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
 
Deepblue is offline
Default

You can always put a "to be continued" at the end of each level if you release them seperately
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2006, 07:55 AM   #85   Add To Ignore List  
Finzy Corp. CEO
 
Finzy's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Whatshisoffice
 
Finzy is offline
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deepblue
You can always put a "to be continued" at the end of each level if you release them seperately
You know, that's exactly what I did yesterday The map ends at the part where Sam finds a large gate. Nettie just says "To be continued"...and that's the end of it. Once the mappack is finished, then I'll update the maps with added level transitions.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2006, 08:26 AM   #86   Add To Ignore List  
Mental
 
Deepblue's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
 
Deepblue is offline
Default

I know this is a bit late but I've just played your snowy mountain thing map. I'd have to say the enemy spawning isn't very good. I'd just sit there and wait for two rhinos to spawn and kill since I've killed everything else and talk about buggy. There's huge open spaces into nothing so loads of enemies would fall off into nowhere and since they don't die, I can't complete the level.

You could at least put some forcefields where the open spaces are so you and enemies don't fall


Also, NEVER resize huge enemies. That big tank guy just stood there and kept on smacking the ground. This meant I and other enemies around it kept on getting hurt/killed. Later after killing it I found it should have been much bigger according to it's gibs
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2006, 08:52 AM   #87   Add To Ignore List  
Finzy Corp. CEO
 
Finzy's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Whatshisoffice
 
Finzy is offline
Default

This will be much more improved in my current map. It doesn't have too openly sized areas (except for one, which is surrounded by cliffs- but it needs to be sized like that because of the battles in that area) and the gameplay is much more linear than in the previous one.

Not that it's completely linear, you can almost always go off the road seeking for secrets (Currently there's 6 secrets to be found. I tried to make each secret unique).
Plus, the spawning is improved- enemies spawn much faster in this one and you never have to wait for them to spawn (unless you spam SBombs with giveall cheat).

Now I sound like a freakin' business man. But I guess your maps get better the more experience you have.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2006, 09:38 AM   #88   Add To Ignore List  
Finzy Corp. CEO
 
Finzy's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Whatshisoffice
 
Finzy is offline
Default

I keep getting these damned errors when trying to upload pictures to Imageshack...
http://img347.imageshack.us/img347/9721/mwidgoexperimentscreenshot13oz9.jpg
http://img460.imageshack.us/img460/5189/mwidgoexperimentscreenshot14hv5.jpg

I hope they show up okay.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2006, 12:25 PM   #89   Add To Ignore List  
Goodbye Moonmen
 
Discy's Avatar
 
Seriously! Khnum
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: The Netherlands
 
Discy is offline
Default

Looks cool.
__________________
"Is there any better Gerüstbaufirmenvorarbeiterschlüsselanhängerfarbenwasserlöslichkeitskontrollchemiker than discy? No!" -Shrinker
[22:30] Fiendian: Discy, Finzy and Louva shall merge into a superentity known as the Lickyfonz.
"Can we just move Discy's posts to the HOF automatically already? :P" -Jetty


Ir-Kalla: Serious Sam Classic map pack in development (Ir-Kalla: Egypt Demo)
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Frozen Pizza Recall! sURFNmADNESS Off Topic Forum 1 11-01-2007 06:42 PM
Frozen Margarita........ xxzen Off Topic Forum 1 05-19-2004 10:24 AM
Warcraft 3: Frozen Throne Quoth Off Topic Forum 9 11-23-2003 08:09 PM
Twelve million moments frozen in time xxzen Off Topic Forum 4 10-14-2003 07:57 PM
Warcraft III The Frozen Throne Hollywood Off Topic Forum 34 01-25-2003 10:01 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:08 AM.