Seriously!

Go Back   Seriously! Forums > Serious Sam Series > Serious Sam HD

Serious Sam HD Discuss anything and everything about Serious Sam HD, the official remake of SS:FE on Serious Engine 3.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-14-2012, 03:48 PM   #1   Add To Ignore List  
Gnaar
 
Joined: Mar 2012
 
sareks is offline
Question Custom Levels for Serious Sam HD 1st / 2nd Encounter & Serious Sam 2 (ii)

Hi, can somebody explain how to play user maps from this forum
that I have downloaded and unpacked in the SS1E / SS2E / SS2
corresponding directory (which I bought with Steam).
I start the game, I shows the normal levels not the custom ones.
What now?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 04:03 PM   #2   Add To Ignore List  
Mental
 
Deepblue's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
 
Deepblue is offline
Default Re: Custom Levels for Serious Sam HD 1st / 2nd Encounter & Serious Sam 2 (ii)

Don't unpack them.
They're .gro files.

Just place them in the main game folder.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 04:05 PM   #3   Add To Ignore List  
Gnaar
 
Joined: Mar 2012
 
sareks is offline
Default Re: Custom Levels for Serious Sam HD 1st / 2nd Encounter & Serious Sam 2 (ii)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deepblue View Post
Don't unpack them.
They're .gro files.

Just place them in the main game folder.
Ok, found it out in SS2 it's easy, just go to custom levels.

Now I need to figure out how to start them in SSHD 1st encounter and 2nd encounter. If anyone has an idea, please post.

Thanks in advance for sharing

Last edited by sareks; 03-14-2012 at 04:31 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 04:08 PM   #4   Add To Ignore List  
ah damnit
 
Squadala's Avatar
 
Seriously! Secret Agent
Joined: Dec 2009
 
Squadala is offline
Default Re: Custom Levels for Serious Sam HD 1st / 2nd Encounter & Serious Sam 2 (ii)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sareks View Post
Will do, now how do I start them? What to do to play them?
Start up TSE HD, but select "play moddable version" when it first boots up. After that, start the game like usual and check out the "single player" menu. If it worked, you'll see a new menu named something like "Squadala's cool map!" underneath the usual "South America", "Persia" and "Medieval" options. That menu has the custom level you've installed. Click on it, then start the level.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 04:40 PM   #5   Add To Ignore List  
Gnaar
 
Joined: Mar 2012
 
sareks is offline
Default Re: Custom Levels for Serious Sam HD 1st / 2nd Encounter & Serious Sam 2 (ii)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squadala View Post
Start up TSE HD, but select "play moddable version" when it first boots up. After that, start the game like usual and check out the "single player" menu. If it worked, you'll see a new menu named something like "Squadala's cool map!" underneath the usual "South America", "Persia" and "Medieval" options. That menu has the custom level you've installed. Click on it, then start the level.
K, here's what I did, I unpacked the zip / rar files in the SS HD 2nd encounter directory (I tried the root, then the one that had the other .gro files in)

Then, I did what you said, yet the files didn't show up in the single player campagne selection menu... not sure what to do now...
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 04:45 PM   #6   Add To Ignore List  
Developer Fairy
 
Solais's Avatar
 
Croteam Representative
Joined: Nov 2009
 
Solais is offline
Default Re: Custom Levels for Serious Sam HD 1st / 2nd Encounter & Serious Sam 2 (ii)

Depends on which maps you've downloaded.
__________________
Since Old Lost Age I Shine

My Serious Sam 3/HD Workshop


While I do work for Croteam, I'm first of all of this community, so my opinions are my own and do not represent Croteam's views.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 04:58 PM   #7   Add To Ignore List  
Gnaar
 
Joined: Mar 2012
 
sareks is offline
Default Re: Custom Levels for Serious Sam HD 1st / 2nd Encounter & Serious Sam 2 (ii)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solais View Post
Depends on which maps you've downloaded.
Ok, I would only use the corresponding maps, like SS2 for SS2, SS1stE for SS1st E and SS2nd E for SS2nd E.

As for SS2 it works just by putting the .gro files in the SS2 directory and starting the game then choosing custom maps.

Not sure how to deal with SS1st and SS2nd Encounter. Can you explain me step my step what you did, and exactly in which directory etc.?

Thanks again
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 05:15 PM   #8   Add To Ignore List  
ah damnit
 
Squadala's Avatar
 
Seriously! Secret Agent
Joined: Dec 2009
 
Squadala is offline
Default Re: Custom Levels for Serious Sam HD 1st / 2nd Encounter & Serious Sam 2 (ii)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sareks View Post
Ok, I would only use the corresponding maps, like SS2 for SS2, SS1stE for SS1st E and SS2nd E for SS2nd E.

As for SS2 it works just by putting the .gro files in the SS2 directory and starting the game then choosing custom maps.

Not sure how to deal with SS1st and SS2nd Encounter. Can you explain me step my step what you did, and exactly in which directory etc.?

Thanks again
Make sure the levels you're downloading are for the HD version of Serious Sam. The HD version cannot play levels designed for the original game.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
THE most important suggestion for SS3 Squadala Serious Sam 3 46 03-18-2013 12:18 PM
Sound Error - Need Help Desperately !! rv_84 Serious Sam 2 22 04-13-2008 02:37 PM
What does Google think of you? Sledge Off Topic Forum 69 12-13-2004 07:50 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:09 PM.