Seriously!

Go Back   Seriously! Forums > Serious Sam Series > Serious Sam Classic > Serious Sam Classic Workshop > Serious Editor

Serious Editor Discuss mapping ideas & problems or show tutorials and maps.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 02-20-2002, 01:21 AM   #31   Add To Ignore List  
Jwh
Albino Cyclops
 
Jwh's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2001
Location: SF, CA
 
Jwh is offline Send a message via AIM to Jwh
Default

Aha, tricky....I figured it was something with box size, but I didn't think of trying to resize after I undocked it. Hopefully that'll be the last of my "growth pains"...
__________________
Ozy and Millie
All about fur.
LJ
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2002, 11:46 AM   #32   Add To Ignore List  
is watching you
 
Big Brother's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO
 
Big Brother is offline Send a message via AIM to Big Brother Send a message via MSN to Big Brother Send a message via Yahoo to Big Brother
Default Environment Particle Holder

Unfortunately for me, most of the components, especially the EPH, were unaccessible. I had to manually add the EPH by 'insert item' (took me about 2 hours to finally figure this out, yeah, I'm pretty slow).

In order to do this, I unzipped the .gro file (works with winzip) and then right clicked where the components are in Serious Editor and select insert item, a file browser will open and it should be located in the, ok so I can't remember the folder.

Just thought I'd tell everyone because I wish someone had posted it to save me a few hours.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2002, 08:38 PM   #33   Add To Ignore List  
Saruman the Pimp
 
NoMercy Rider's Avatar
 
Seriously! Beardmaster
Joined: Jun 2001
Location: Oregon, USA
 
NoMercy Rider is offline
Default

This tutorial is great, I was wondering how in the world did they put in all that grass, when I first played. One suggestion tho, I think someone should put this in a webpage format (not txt) and put up some pictures to explain it better, because it was hard to understand at first, but I finally got it .
__________________
Requiescat en Pace.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2002, 12:15 AM   #34   Add To Ignore List  
Jwh
Albino Cyclops
 
Jwh's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2001
Location: SF, CA
 
Jwh is offline Send a message via AIM to Jwh
Default

Agh, now I'm having the floating grass problem too.
This is being really frustrating.
__________________
Ozy and Millie
All about fur.
LJ
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2002, 05:12 AM   #35   Add To Ignore List  
****** Games
 
Joined: Apr 2001
 
Liquid Morphine is offline
Default

JWH: Few thing that might have gone wrong....

1) Your heightmap hasn't been converted to TEX

2) You have not added the alpha channel to your heightmap by hand

3) Uninstall everything that's related to Serious Sam, then re-install the game from disc 2. I know that if your editor crashes (at least in my case it does that) then things get screwy. I had to CTRL-DEL and than kill it a few times...do that often enough and things behave out of wack...keys don't work anymore...certain functions don't either.

Make sure you have enough free memory. Don't run virus scanners or internet applications when trying the editor as it eats up a lot of memory.

Reinstalling has often solved strange problems for me. Make sure though you get all your private stuff out of the serious sam 2 directory before removing it.

Hope this helps, if it doesn't I'll have a look see at your heightmap.

Matthew
http://www.liquidmorphine.com
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2002, 12:37 PM   #36   Add To Ignore List  
is watching you
 
Big Brother's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO
 
Big Brother is offline Send a message via AIM to Big Brother Send a message via MSN to Big Brother Send a message via Yahoo to Big Brother
Default alpha channel

what all is needed in the alpha channel
I have Photoshop 6 and even if I add an alpha channel, all I get is a flat area
growth section

I have all of the elements
-environmentparticleholder (texture is selected, growth selected, box pulled from console)
-worldsettingscontroller
-backgroundviewer (is this the same as the one in the skybox?)

I have loaded up the heightmaps from the singleplayer hame and it works fine, but my own textures do not work.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2002, 09:34 AM   #37   Add To Ignore List  
****** Games
 
Joined: Apr 2001
 
Liquid Morphine is offline
Default

Hello Big Brother,

Please tell me where I can look at the TGA map and I'll download it : )
Perhaps I can find something that's wrong with it.

Matthew
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2002, 04:13 AM   #38   Add To Ignore List  
Banned
 
HighMaintenance's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2001
Location: U dont make mistakes, how u learn what is correct?
 
HighMaintenance is offline
Default

OK, I am big time confused.

In the main menu is an export 3d object command. Is this what you use to get the heightmap? I select my floor polygon and choose export 3d object?


Hey Happy, Choose your polygon and press the right mouse button and choose export displace map to get the heightmap.

After saving it, press ctrl-L to bring up the console and copy the map bounds down.

Last edited by HighMaintenance; 03-13-2002 at 03:08 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2002, 11:50 PM   #39   Add To Ignore List  
Banned
 
HighMaintenance's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2001
Location: U dont make mistakes, how u learn what is correct?
 
HighMaintenance is offline
Default

Hey

Last edited by HighMaintenance; 03-13-2002 at 03:08 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2002, 04:54 PM   #40   Add To Ignore List  
is watching you
 
Big Brother's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO
 
Big Brother is offline Send a message via AIM to Big Brother Send a message via MSN to Big Brother Send a message via Yahoo to Big Brother
Default

when i add the alpha layer, what do i put into that layer?

do i save the file as targa or pcx?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2002, 05:10 PM   #41   Add To Ignore List  
blahblahblah
 
--Fragman--'s Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: In an inexistant City
 
--Fragman-- is offline Send a message via ICQ to --Fragman-- Send a message via AIM to --Fragman-- Send a message via MSN to --Fragman--
Default

I didn't understand the grass tut really.If I use the unedited heightmap, the grass is flat. I think I read in the tut that the editor creates the heightmap WITH the height. But WHY do I have to add this green and blue channels myself and how do I actually do it?? For my pictures, I use Paint shop pro, so please explain for this prog.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2002, 05:15 PM   #42   Add To Ignore List  
Banned
 
HighMaintenance's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2001
Location: U dont make mistakes, how u learn what is correct?
 
HighMaintenance is offline
Default

For anyone reading this I wrote a grass tutorial. Thread is probably in antartica by now.

check my site.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2002, 05:25 PM   #43   Add To Ignore List  
blahblahblah
 
--Fragman--'s Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: In an inexistant City
 
--Fragman-- is offline Send a message via ICQ to --Fragman-- Send a message via AIM to --Fragman-- Send a message via MSN to --Fragman--
Default

I already readed that. Without that I would never get anything of the grass to work, thanx...Do you know how to make the green channel in PSP?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2002, 09:37 PM   #44   Add To Ignore List  
Banned
 
HighMaintenance's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2001
Location: U dont make mistakes, how u learn what is correct?
 
HighMaintenance is offline
Default

Haven't tried it yet.

did you look at "channel mixer"? I thought that might do it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2002, 07:43 AM   #45   Add To Ignore List  
blahblahblah
 
--Fragman--'s Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: In an inexistant City
 
--Fragman-- is offline Send a message via ICQ to --Fragman-- Send a message via AIM to --Fragman-- Send a message via MSN to --Fragman--
Default

How do you use a "channel mixer"?
I'm not very familiar with PSP.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2002, 02:24 PM   #46   Add To Ignore List  
Banned
 
HighMaintenance's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2001
Location: U dont make mistakes, how u learn what is correct?
 
HighMaintenance is offline
Default

Updated my grass tutorial to show how to use the red channel to get various grasses to show up. For PSP users
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2002, 04:34 AM   #47   Add To Ignore List  
Banned
 
HighMaintenance's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2001
Location: U dont make mistakes, how u learn what is correct?
 
HighMaintenance is offline
Default

http://www.deadlydood.com/Textures/ScreenShots/HHFlowers1.jpg

http://www.deadlydood.com/Textures/Grass/Flowers1.zip

If you look real close you can see a fuzz above the flowers. I cannot get rid of it. I do not know what is causing it. The alpha is fine. ;( (EDIT: Fixed fuzziness above flowers. They look fine now)

The flowers look tannish from a distance because of the mipping.

The .tga is included for reference in designing the map.

I like it. It is colorful.



Dryish Field Grasses

http://www.deadlydood.com/Textures/ScreenShots/HHFlowers2.jpg

http://www.deadlydood.com/Textures/Grass/Flowers2.zip


Woody Underbrush


http://www.deadlydood.com/Textures/ScreenShots/HHFlowers3.jpg

http://www.deadlydood.com/Textures/G...UnderBrush.zip

Last edited by HighMaintenance; 04-01-2002 at 04:36 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2002, 03:51 PM   #48   Add To Ignore List  
Witch Bride
 
seriously sexy's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2001
Location: I live in a attic
 
seriously sexy is offline Send a message via AIM to seriously sexy
Default

those are looking pretty sexy there happy
__________________
Check out my new serious sam levels home page HERE
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2002, 10:29 AM   #49   Add To Ignore List  
blahblahblah
 
--Fragman--'s Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: In an inexistant City
 
--Fragman-- is offline Send a message via ICQ to --Fragman-- Send a message via AIM to --Fragman-- Send a message via MSN to --Fragman--
Default

Hey Happy or someone else, please give me a clue how to make grass for terrains. How do I make that green out of the Heightmap in PSP?
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2002, 11:16 AM   #50   Add To Ignore List  
Banned
 
HighMaintenance's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2001
Location: U dont make mistakes, how u learn what is correct?
 
HighMaintenance is offline
Default

I have not attempted that yet. Is the height map from a terrain colored or is it jet black?
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2002, 12:51 PM   #51   Add To Ignore List  
blahblahblah
 
--Fragman--'s Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: In an inexistant City
 
--Fragman-- is offline Send a message via ICQ to --Fragman-- Send a message via AIM to --Fragman-- Send a message via MSN to --Fragman--
Default

It is only black, and that's the problem for me. I don't know how to make the heightmap green.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2002, 03:22 PM   #52   Add To Ignore List  
Kamikaze
 
Joined: May 2002
 
Bobbin is offline
Default

okay, I've got grass nearly working...
It shows in the level, and it seems to get the heightmap correctly, but somehow displaced from the terrain, and I'm sure I've used the height map box numbers correctly, and it's placed in 0,0,0.
Could it be something related to the heightmap size when I export the displacement map?

Thanks!!!

Ps.: my first post!!! (i read a lot)
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2002, 10:43 PM   #53   Add To Ignore List  
Man from 2525
 
Shuriken's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: The Valley of Death
 
Shuriken is offline Send a message via AIM to Shuriken
Default

why are there all these URLs with *s in them? its driving me NUTS!!!
__________________
CLICK THIS
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2002, 01:05 AM   #54   Add To Ignore List  
Gnaar
 
Zekts's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2002
Location: brisbane
 
Zekts is offline Send a message via ICQ to Zekts
Thumbs up

thanks for the tute, helps me out a lot..
__________________
oh really foool....
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2002, 07:41 AM   #55   Add To Ignore List  
Khnum
 
sean123's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2002
 
sean123 is offline
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Shuriken
why are there all these URLs with *s in them? its driving me NUTS!!!
because thats happy's site and i dont think rod will allow it since he is banned . .it kinda sux though .. his site has the best stuff ...
__________________
"A woman is an occasional pleasure but a cigar is always a smoke."
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2002, 05:51 AM   #56   Add To Ignore List  
yaranaika?
 
Xaositect_Crayon's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2002
Location: The Forest
 
Xaositect_Crayon is offline Send a message via AIM to Xaositect_Crayon Send a message via MSN to Xaositect_Crayon Send a message via Yahoo to Xaositect_Crayon
Default

I wonder if you can make the grass spread fire when you use the flamethrower on them.... like have the whole field ablaze
__________________
Marmalade.... sunny days.... Drugs make me wanna next to you

he unobserved state is a fog of probabilities, a window of and for error. The watcher observes, the fog collapses, an event resolves. A theory becomes a fact... What is the truth? Tell me, if you know. And I will not believe you. Things are never what they seem. Clean gloves hide dirty hands - and mine are dirtier than most... Without truth, there can be no justice.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2002, 08:17 PM   #57   Add To Ignore List  
Footballer Orc
 
Caligula's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2002
 
Caligula is offline
Default

Thx i needed that tut painbringer
Looks like im gonna need to find another arvitar
__________________
A wise man once said
"Man Who Eat Garlic Stand Alone".....
well, mabe not.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2002, 01:37 AM   #58   Add To Ignore List  
Werebull
 
p1ut0nium's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2002
Location: Houston, TX
 
p1ut0nium is offline
Default Making Grass Work (Two Very Important Settings)

I have discoverd two very important things that have not been mentioned anywhere else (so far that I can see) that may be causing everyone to have problems getting their grass to work -

IMPORTANT - Set High Resolution to get colored displace map. I have not seen this mentioned anywhere, but it's the only way I can get my displace map to have the proper blue and green tones. Without this you will only get a black and white image. (However, you can also edit the color channels in Photoshop. Depends on what you prefer - longer height map render time or more manual labor. )

Also, when creating the TEX version of the TGA file, make sure the texture size is .25x.25 (NOTE - If you still have trouble, try reducing this even further.)

If you do all this, your grass should work perfectly!

Of course, follow everyone else's info above, just be sure you don't forget to do these two things as well.
__________________
Sincerely,
Matthew Doyle
CEO/Lead Designer
Plutonium Games
www.plutoniumgames.com

Last edited by p1ut0nium; 11-25-2002 at 02:11 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2002, 05:56 AM   #59   Add To Ignore List  
Kamikaze
 
snwexew's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: denial
 
snwexew is offline Send a message via AIM to snwexew
Default ok maybe a newb mistake

ok, i cannot find the enviromental particle holder..... does this entity come in the sdk or what im kinda screwed because my personel pc is a pile and i do alot of work at a local cyber cafe a friend of mine manages. I cannot find it anywhere, and am hoping its just cuz i dont think he has installed the sdk , so WHAT THE HECK AM I MISSING???? how do i make it or define or whatever ive gotten everything else i just cant find the eph .
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2002, 09:37 AM   #60   Add To Ignore List  
blahblahblah
 
--Fragman--'s Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: In an inexistant City
 
--Fragman-- is offline Send a message via ICQ to --Fragman-- Send a message via AIM to --Fragman-- Send a message via MSN to --Fragman--
Default

Make sure you have your .gro files extracted.
Right click on the virtual tree-->insert items go to \classes and select EnvironmentParticlesHolder.ecl and add it.
There you are......
I never really got the grass to work, but I only tried it one or two times.......
I figured you have to select high res to get it to work, but it didn't really work for me........Maybe I should try it again?
__________________
City War City War 2 Rats Rats BTBA
--------------------------
Bomberman SS:XBOX

--------------------------
My Page!
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mapping: Environmental Particles Holder Unwary_Thief Serious Sam Classic Mods 11 08-08-2011 05:22 AM
A Small Thing To Note About Grass allankiipli Serious Editor 1 12-28-2002 06:22 AM
- where can i find small cases/towers? - JacobEsterque Off Topic Forum 6 07-16-2002 08:14 PM
grass density jariten426 Serious Editor 4 04-28-2002 02:31 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:41 PM.