Seriously!

Go Back   Seriously! Forums > Serious Sam Series > Serious Sam 2

Serious Sam 2 Discuss anything and everything about Serious Sam 2, the official sequel to SS:FE and SS:SE.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-19-2006, 10:55 AM   #1   Add To Ignore List  
Gnaar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
 
Falcon1 is offline
Default PC reboots when playing ingame cutscene in 1st level

When I start the game, get into the first level, heading towards the raptor and moving up the hill, there will be played a small ingame cutscene.
Whenever this cuscene is playes my PC reboots.
Any suggestions how to solve this?

Serious Sam2 v2.070
Win XP Pro SP2

nVidia nForce 4 Chipset driver v6.86
ATi Catalyst v8.29 Beta (newest)
Direct X 9.0c v4.09.0000.0904

AMD Athlon 64 3500+
2GB DDR400 Ram Corsair
ATi X1800XL 256MB
ASUS A8N-Sli Deluxe

**Edit** Addes dxdiag.txt in .rar archive
Attached Files
File Type: rar DxDiag.rar (12.7 KB, 44 views)

Last edited by Falcon1; 08-19-2006 at 11:03 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2006, 10:58 AM   #2   Add To Ignore List  
Razardous
 
The Serious Spoon's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: The Netherlands
 
The Serious Spoon is offline Send a message via ICQ to The Serious Spoon
Default

Have you tried using non-beta drivers for your graphics card? Also, tell me what audio card/chip you have.
__________________
Facebook | Last.fm | Twitter | DeviantArt

"And yet be reminded by the Gods that though cooperation is a friendly pursuit, friendly fire is righteous in its purging of the vile and corrupt. Let ye not be deserving of its wrath for the hoarding of power-ups."
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2006, 11:06 AM   #3   Add To Ignore List  
Gnaar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
 
Falcon1 is offline
Default

I might try official 6.8 later.. But when it's a problem with the ATi Beta driver, I have to report this to ATi.

I'm having an Creative SB X-Fi with latest drivers 2.09.0001
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2006, 11:08 AM   #4   Add To Ignore List  
Razardous
 
The Serious Spoon's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: The Netherlands
 
The Serious Spoon is offline Send a message via ICQ to The Serious Spoon
Default

Hmm, your audio card looks pretty pimped, but to be sure try setting max sounds to 10 or 15 in Audio Options.
__________________
Facebook | Last.fm | Twitter | DeviantArt

"And yet be reminded by the Gods that though cooperation is a friendly pursuit, friendly fire is righteous in its purging of the vile and corrupt. Let ye not be deserving of its wrath for the hoarding of power-ups."
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2006, 12:36 PM   #5   Add To Ignore List  
Gnaar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
 
Falcon1 is offline
Default

OK, I disabled the windows auto-reboot. Then I could see a bluescreen, saying ati3duag.dll caused an error.

I found the mistake: Having AA enabled, makes the game crash. With no AA, it's fine.
I guess it's a HDR + AA problem (I had both enabled first).

I just wonder why it worked till the ingame cutscene... However, I will test whether it works with AA, when enabling it through the graphics drivers menu, later.

Already reported this bug to ATi.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2006, 05:33 PM   #6   Add To Ignore List  
Hey ladies
 
Fiendian's Avatar
 
Glowing Red Stove Top
Joined: Nov 2002
Location: Iceland
 
Fiendian is offline Send a message via ICQ to Fiendian Send a message via MSN to Fiendian
Default

HDR + AA would slaughter FPS anyways.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2006, 06:14 PM   #7   Add To Ignore List  
( . Y . )
 
Monkeydee's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: wherever you aren't
 
Monkeydee is offline
Default

the x1800xl should be able to do AA+HDR just fine. it sounds like a driver error to me. try reinstalling your video drivers. and make sure to have the .NET framework installed too.
__________________
Questioning everything a government does is the highest form of patriotism.

Coolest Site Ever
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2006, 06:53 PM   #8   Add To Ignore List  
Gnaar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
 
Falcon1 is offline
Default

I'm running Oblivion with HDR + AA enabled... so Serious Sam 2 shouldn't be a problem
@Monkeydee: I installed the drivers just a few days ago.. Did a drivercleaner + registry cleaning run as always, and installed .net Framework 2 (as 8.29 are the first that _need_ the framework 2). So I don't think that's the problem. As I said, I reported it to ATi, and maybe tomorrow (too late now) I try enabling AA via the CCC.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2006, 08:39 AM   #9   Add To Ignore List  
Gnaar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
 
PaTHoS_de is offline Send a message via ICQ to PaTHoS_de
Default Re: PC reboots when playing ingame cutscene in 1st level

I have the equal hardware an the same problem:

AMD Athlon 64 3700+
Asus A7N SLI Premium (nvidia nForce 4, V6.86)
ATI Radeon X1800 XT 512, CCC, V6.11
Soundblaster Audigy, V2.09.0016

Serious Sam 2 crash in the first ingame Video with a bluescreen with the message that a problem occours with ati3diag.dll.

simply switch AA,AF,HDR off?

I going to try this @home... ;-)

bye
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2006, 08:47 AM   #10   Add To Ignore List  
Kamikaze
 
Joined: Oct 2006
 
ozzyrulez is offline
Default Re: PC reboots when playing ingame cutscene in 1st level

I had the same exact problem not to long ago and the nice people on this board helped me solve it. I have a x1900xtx that would crash in the cutscenes with hdr and aa enabled. it turned out that the gpu was overheating. I got ati tray tools and upped the fan speed and now it works like a champ with both settings on. Hope it helps you out!
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stuck w/Bug on Forsaken Compound Level RiValsPlace Serious Sam 2 6 10-29-2005 03:31 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:59 PM.