Seriously!

Go Back   Seriously! Forums > General > Showcases & Portfolios

Showcases & Portfolios The most awesome creations of our members can be seen here. Got some cool stuff? Show it off here and get feedback!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 37 votes, 4.81 average. Display Modes
Old 08-28-2006, 11:34 AM   #31   Add To Ignore List  
Finzy Corp. CEO
 
Finzy's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Whatshisoffice
 
Finzy is offline
Default

I've started an another SS2 map project...so far I call it the "Mwidgo Experiment".*

What it's about: Well, I always wondered how many moons and such things planets have in SS2. Almost every planet had a moon or something orbiting around it, by looking to the sky. In Mdigbo you can see a small moon in the sky...so I made a map about it.

The storyline:
Sam gets a distress call from a moon called "Mwidgo" after finishing his business with Mental in Sirius, and decides to rush into aid with his newly stolen dropship. Unfortunately the dropship is equipped with Serious Censory System (SCS), Mental's newest and most famous technology, that prevents any human being from taking direct control over the ship- effectively preventing Sam from watching Plasma TV, saying funny one-liners and sitting in the sofa (Read manual- dropships do have those). Not only that, the censory system will be able to control the ship's movement by setting it to the wrong course. Fortunately Sam manages to cut off the power at the last minute and set the course to Mwidgo, but the ship crashes somewhere in a deep canyon...meaning a long walk back to civilization, where the simba wizards are rumoured to live...SE-ish, ehh? Well the ship crashing would fit in the story better, I guess...

*Widgo because it's a known planet of wizard simba tribes.

No screenshots yet because I've only made the terrain so far.

Last edited by Finzy; 08-28-2006 at 11:39 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2006, 12:46 PM   #32   Add To Ignore List  
Finzy Corp. CEO
 
Finzy's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Whatshisoffice
 
Finzy is offline
Default

*Bump*
Some screenshots from the Mwidgo Experiment...the first one is from the crashing site, where you start. The two last ones are taken from wilderness near the crashing site and they have bloom. Now, I don't know if I should use bloom or not...what do you think? It certainly makes the overall map feel more lifelike, but then again a lot of people don't like it at all.
http://img218.imageshack.us/img218/5818/mwidgoexperimentscreenshot2xc9.th.jpg
http://img79.imageshack.us/img79/3679/mwidgoexperimentscreenshot3mt6.th.jpg
http://img177.imageshack.us/img177/8969/mwidgoexperimentscreenshot4cv4.th.jpg

(Oh yeah and sorry for the emptiness of the areas, I'm still adding stuff in)

As for Mountain Madness, I think I'll polish it a bit before releasing the final version. I might add some Bloom to it too.

Last edited by Finzy; 08-30-2006 at 12:49 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2006, 12:55 PM   #33   Add To Ignore List  
Albino Cyclops
 
GeForceNoob's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
 
GeForceNoob is offline Send a message via MSN to GeForceNoob
Default

Hmm...It's ok, but why the textures are all messed up? On mountains I mean. And the mountains top are all kinda...sharp? Did you use Vertex tool or paint tool? I advice you to use paint tool, because you can easily displace mountains, and then smooth them till perfect condition + paint the terrain with variable textures, unlike you did Like I said, it's not bad, but still needs a lot of work to do
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2006, 12:57 PM   #34   Add To Ignore List  
Finzy Corp. CEO
 
Finzy's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Whatshisoffice
 
Finzy is offline
Default

Paint tool. Yeah, they need smoothing. Thanks for the reply.

(But should I use Bloom or not??)

Last edited by Finzy; 08-30-2006 at 01:01 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2006, 01:09 PM   #35   Add To Ignore List  
Albino Cyclops
 
GeForceNoob's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
 
GeForceNoob is offline Send a message via MSN to GeForceNoob
Default

Yes. Bloom looks nice
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2006, 01:33 PM   #36   Add To Ignore List  
Mental
 
Deepblue's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
 
Deepblue is offline
Default

Maybe you should start the level flying through a canyon in that jet and shooting at enemies before a cutscene crashes you into the cliff (There is a macro to force the player out of the vehicle I think, not too sure)
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2006, 06:25 PM   #37   Add To Ignore List  
Goodbye Moonmen
 
Discy's Avatar
 
Seriously! Khnum
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: The Netherlands
 
Discy is offline
Default

Use Bloom or die.
__________________
"Is there any better Gerüstbaufirmenvorarbeiterschlüsselanhängerfarbenwasserlöslichkeitskontrollchemiker than discy? No!" -Shrinker
[22:30] Fiendian: Discy, Finzy and Louva shall merge into a superentity known as the Lickyfonz.
"Can we just move Discy's posts to the HOF automatically already? :P" -Jetty


Ir-Kalla: Serious Sam Classic map pack in development (Ir-Kalla: Egypt Demo)
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2006, 07:46 AM   #38   Add To Ignore List  
Finzy Corp. CEO
 
Finzy's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Whatshisoffice
 
Finzy is offline
Default

Bloom sounds like a good choice then

Good idea Deepblue, just gotta extend the map a bit for the flying scene. I haven't even tried making vehicles in SED2 yet (Shame on me!), so this sounds like something I'd like to try to do.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2006, 08:01 AM   #39   Add To Ignore List  
Mental
 
Deepblue's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
 
Deepblue is offline
Default

For using that Jet, just use the player helicoper vehicle Param (Drag the Aircraft character entity in first) and replace the model with the aircraft model you used and save the param file as a new one
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2006, 07:34 AM   #40   Add To Ignore List  
Finzy Corp. CEO
 
Finzy's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Whatshisoffice
 
Finzy is offline
Default

Where can I find the player helicopter params? I can only find helicopter params for the enemies (or at least, they always attack me when I try to approach them, or do nothing).

I wonder if I could use the hoversaucer (or whatever those blue hoverfighter params are called) params instead, they seem to work fine.

http://img114.imageshack.us/img114/8306/mwidgoexperimentscreenshot5yf3.th.jpg
http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/8553/mwidgoexperimentscreenshot6nn1.th.jpg

And is there any way to force the editor to use AA and AF? I tried setting AF to 8x from my videocard's control panel (I use Ati Tray Tools) but the editor doesn't seem to use those settings. SS2 does though.

Edit: The cliff textures are still messed up a bit. I tried smoothing them with the paint tool but it doesn't seem to work. I can change the sharp-looking cliffs though.

Last edited by Finzy; 09-01-2006 at 07:38 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2006, 08:20 AM   #41   Add To Ignore List  
Razardous
 
The Serious Spoon's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: The Netherlands
 
The Serious Spoon is offline Send a message via ICQ to The Serious Spoon
Default

The helicopter attacks you you say? You do know that vehicles the player can use should have no behaviour, right?
__________________
Facebook | Last.fm | Twitter | DeviantArt

"And yet be reminded by the Gods that though cooperation is a friendly pursuit, friendly fire is righteous in its purging of the vile and corrupt. Let ye not be deserving of its wrath for the hoarding of power-ups."
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2006, 08:21 AM   #42   Add To Ignore List  
TwL
Gone Again
 
TwL's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Singapore, Singapore
 
TwL is offline
Default

E:\Program Files\Serious Sam 2\Content\SeriousSam2\Databases\Puppets\BossVehicl es\PlayerHelicopter.ep
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2006, 09:41 AM   #43   Add To Ignore List  
Finzy Corp. CEO
 
Finzy's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Whatshisoffice
 
Finzy is offline
Default

Aah, so it was in the boss vehicles directory. Thanks!

@Spoon- Yeah, well, I was so desperate to find the correct params that I tried everything

I've been sick for three days by now, so my mind may not be at it's...err...brightest state? Maybe I shouldn't map when I'm sick...but I can't get any sleep either.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2006, 02:16 AM   #44   Add To Ignore List  
Finzy Corp. CEO
 
Finzy's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Whatshisoffice
 
Finzy is offline
Default

Arr, I feel much better today...and here's some Oblivion screenshots to get you bored. I installed Obscuro's Oblivion Overhaul 1.3 yesterday, and it's pretty nice.
You can download it from here.

http://img226.imageshack.us/img226/9662/oblivionscreenieee5.th.jpg
http://img226.imageshack.us/img226/2092/oblivionscreenie5ix0.th.jpg

Those two were taken with my new Argonian character. Skills: Armorer/Heavy Armor/Blade/Marksman/Destruction/Restoration/Sneak. Specializes on combat, key attributes Willpower and Agility. I wanted to take heavy armor because I've never tried it before.

Then, my previous psychotic assasin character:
http://img219.imageshack.us/img219/9400/oblivionscreenie2fe3.th.jpghttp://img179.imageshack.us/img179/9537/oblivionscreenie3ub5.th.jpghttp://img179.imageshack.us/img179/7206/oblivionscreenie4tp3.th.jpg
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2006, 05:13 AM   #45   Add To Ignore List  
Mental
 
Deepblue's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
 
Deepblue is offline
Default

Nice.....I've found turning Interior and Exterior shadows off completely really helps framerate especially since they look like crap all over characters and NPCs. Maybe now I'll be able to turn the grass on

Light armour/Heavy armour: Depends. If you want to sneak a lot or use marksman skills, use light armour. If you want to go into battle, swords or blunt weapons swinging, use heavy armour combined with the block skill....and maybe the athletics skill to help you run faster (Unless you become expert in heavy armour that is)

Me? I've started a new character with Blade, Marksman, Destruction, Light armour, Heavy armour, Conjuration and Athletics skills. I'll post some shots in my showcase when I'm a little further along
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2006, 05:40 AM   #46   Add To Ignore List  
Finzy Corp. CEO
 
Finzy's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Whatshisoffice
 
Finzy is offline
Default

You could also try tweaking the .ini file to reduce the performance hit that the grass does. When I play Oblivion, I get exactly the same framerate with grass turned on and off now The only bad thing is that sometimes the grass looks like big squares when looking at it from the distance. Maybe the low-poly grass mod is conflicting with something, because it's not meant to be so.

Anyways,
iMinGrassSize= Try changing that value to 120. If anything goes wrong, change it back to it's original value.

You can find the .ini file from *User name*/Documents and Settings/My Games/Oblivion/

(SS2 enemies look insane at close range... )

Last edited by Finzy; 09-02-2006 at 05:43 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2006, 05:43 AM   #47   Add To Ignore List  
Mental
 
Deepblue's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
 
Deepblue is offline
Default

The grass may look blocky far away probably because that's the grass model's LOD version, its the same with the trees and mountain textures
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2006, 05:44 AM   #48   Add To Ignore List  
Finzy Corp. CEO
 
Finzy's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Whatshisoffice
 
Finzy is offline
Default

No, I mean that it looks really, really bad...I doubt it's the LOD version of it. I'll post a screenshot as soon as I launch Oblivion again.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2006, 12:00 PM   #49   Add To Ignore List  
Finzy Corp. CEO
 
Finzy's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Whatshisoffice
 
Finzy is offline
Default

No thumbnails this time, enjoy the larger screenshots.

http://img372.imageshack.us/img372/9792/mwidgoexperimentscreenshot7rq9.jpg
http://img366.imageshack.us/img366/801/mwidgoexperimentscreenshot8ul3.jpg

Last edited by Finzy; 09-02-2006 at 12:02 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2006, 12:19 PM   #50   Add To Ignore List  
Goodbye Moonmen
 
Discy's Avatar
 
Seriously! Khnum
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: The Netherlands
 
Discy is offline
Default

I love it.
__________________
"Is there any better Gerüstbaufirmenvorarbeiterschlüsselanhängerfarbenwasserlöslichkeitskontrollchemiker than discy? No!" -Shrinker
[22:30] Fiendian: Discy, Finzy and Louva shall merge into a superentity known as the Lickyfonz.
"Can we just move Discy's posts to the HOF automatically already? :P" -Jetty


Ir-Kalla: Serious Sam Classic map pack in development (Ir-Kalla: Egypt Demo)
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2006, 01:11 PM   #51   Add To Ignore List  
Mental
 
Deepblue's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
 
Deepblue is offline
Default

Haven't you added any shadowmaps yet? I do that everytime I create or insert a model

Still looks nice though
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2006, 01:49 PM   #52   Add To Ignore List  
Finzy Corp. CEO
 
Finzy's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Whatshisoffice
 
Finzy is offline
Default

SED2 "malfunctions" whenever I try to. I just get an error message that says: "Application malfuction. Please report." But it doesn't crash anyway, but it doesn't let me create shadowmaps either. I tried doing them exactly like described in the tutorials, but I get the same message no matter what I do

And here's the grass screenshot, as promised:
http://img518.imageshack.us/img518/2390/oblivionsquaregrasssf9.jpg

I don't think it should look like that...I mean, it's looked better before. I don't know what's causing it though.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2006, 02:00 PM   #53   Add To Ignore List  
Mental
 
Deepblue's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
 
Deepblue is offline
Default

I've had SED2 crash when making shadowmaps but that's when I miss a polygon out
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2006, 07:02 AM   #54   Add To Ignore List  
Finzy Corp. CEO
 
Finzy's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Whatshisoffice
 
Finzy is offline
Default

This is just crazy. I never thought this map would go on so well without problems!

And again, here's some screenshots:
http://img124.imageshack.us/img124/6761/mwidgoexperimentscreenshot10mk4.jpg
http://img216.imageshack.us/img216/9410/mwidgoexperimentscreenshot11tl7.jpg

Another sick idea of mine...Treehouse of Horrors. The player needs to walk through sticks of meat in order to reach the top.
http://img116.imageshack.us/img116/4861/mwidgoexperimentscreenshot9ue7.jpg

And, instead of doing just one map, I think I'll do a whole episode set on Mwidgo. The first map focuses on flying through the canyons with Mental's airfighter (Deepblue's idea), the second one will be the one I'm doing currently (Path Through The Woods), and the third one...dunno yet, maybe a shaman tribe village or something.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2006, 07:07 AM   #55   Add To Ignore List  
Goodbye Moonmen
 
Discy's Avatar
 
Seriously! Khnum
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: The Netherlands
 
Discy is offline
Default

Looks great. Now how about a shadowmap?
__________________
"Is there any better Gerüstbaufirmenvorarbeiterschlüsselanhängerfarbenwasserlöslichkeitskontrollchemiker than discy? No!" -Shrinker
[22:30] Fiendian: Discy, Finzy and Louva shall merge into a superentity known as the Lickyfonz.
"Can we just move Discy's posts to the HOF automatically already? :P" -Jetty


Ir-Kalla: Serious Sam Classic map pack in development (Ir-Kalla: Egypt Demo)
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2006, 07:08 AM   #56   Add To Ignore List  
Mental
 
Deepblue's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
 
Deepblue is offline
Default

I think everyone has their own mapping methods. I make the shadowmaps as I build. F1NLAND will probably do it at the end
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2006, 07:16 AM   #57   Add To Ignore List  
Finzy Corp. CEO
 
Finzy's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Whatshisoffice
 
Finzy is offline
Default

I'd do it but the editor doesn't let me do it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Me
SED2 "malfunctions" whenever I try to. I just get an error message that says: "Application malfuction. Please report." But it doesn't crash anyway, but it doesn't let me create shadowmaps either. I tried doing them exactly like described in the tutorials, but I get the same message no matter what I do
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2006, 07:22 AM   #58   Add To Ignore List  
Mental
 
Deepblue's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
 
Deepblue is offline
Default

Well that's what I meant by "do it when the map is finished". That way when the map is finished, you have all the time to find a way to do it
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2006, 09:16 AM   #59   Add To Ignore List  
Albino Cyclops
 
GeForceNoob's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
 
GeForceNoob is offline Send a message via MSN to GeForceNoob
Default

hmm...Sausages...yummi
Nice work btw
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2006, 10:08 AM   #60   Add To Ignore List  
T-Mech
 
Morkze's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2004
Location: SED
 
Morkze is offline Send a message via MSN to Morkze
Default

Hehe, nice idea!
__________________
Projects:
Zorg Shooter for XBOX mod
Mappack:|||||||||| 56%
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Frozen Pizza Recall! sURFNmADNESS Off Topic Forum 1 11-01-2007 06:42 PM
Frozen Margarita........ xxzen Off Topic Forum 1 05-19-2004 10:24 AM
Warcraft 3: Frozen Throne Quoth Off Topic Forum 9 11-23-2003 08:09 PM
Twelve million moments frozen in time xxzen Off Topic Forum 4 10-14-2003 07:57 PM
Warcraft III The Frozen Throne Hollywood Off Topic Forum 34 01-25-2003 10:01 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:36 PM.