Seriously!

Go Back   Seriously! Forums > Serious Sam Series > Serious Sam Classic > Serious Sam Classic Workshop > Serious Sam Classic Mods

Serious Sam Classic Mods General mod discussion for Serious Sam 1 goes in this forum, also any tutorials/tutorial requests that have not been added to Serious Sam Wiki yet.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-12-2006, 06:14 AM   #1   Add To Ignore List  
Footballer Orc
 
Joined: Aug 2006
 
mikecoon is offline
Default Enemy scripting

Okay, I wish to modify the script used to send enemies at you in one of the levels. Now, I do not wish to change the maps or add anything to the level, I just would like to change how the enemies are spawned and the timing of their attacks. For example, maybe add two extra waves of enemies at you or have them spawn at different locations.

Where would the best place to start be?

mikecoon
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2006, 10:55 AM   #2   Add To Ignore List  
Goodbye Moonmen
 
Discy's Avatar
 
Seriously! Khnum
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: The Netherlands
 
Discy is offline
Default Re: Enemy scripting

A good place to start?

www.seriousengine.com

To be more precise, this should get you started on enemy waves.
__________________
"Is there any better Gerüstbaufirmenvorarbeiterschlüsselanhängerfarbenwasserlöslichkeitskontrollchemiker than discy? No!" -Shrinker
[22:30] Fiendian: Discy, Finzy and Louva shall merge into a superentity known as the Lickyfonz.
"Can we just move Discy's posts to the HOF automatically already? :P" -Jetty


Ir-Kalla: Serious Sam Classic map pack in development (Ir-Kalla: Egypt Demo)
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2006, 02:08 AM   #3   Add To Ignore List  
Footballer Orc
 
Joined: Aug 2006
 
mikecoon is offline
Default Re: Enemy scripting

Diso\connector,
I read the article. Now my question is can I open up the level I wan to modify and modify the enemy script and save it? for Example, I want to modify the Court of Gilgamish. So if I open it up with the serious engine, will I also have access to the enemy scripting?
mikecoon
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2006, 07:36 AM   #4   Add To Ignore List  
Razardous
 
The Serious Spoon's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: The Netherlands
 
The Serious Spoon is offline Send a message via ICQ to The Serious Spoon
Default Re: Enemy scripting

Yes you will have access to the enemy scripting, although it's not recommended to change original levels seeing as you won't be able to play them online anymore...
__________________
Facebook | Last.fm | Twitter | DeviantArt

"And yet be reminded by the Gods that though cooperation is a friendly pursuit, friendly fire is righteous in its purging of the vile and corrupt. Let ye not be deserving of its wrath for the hoarding of power-ups."
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2006, 09:53 AM   #5   Add To Ignore List  
Goodbye Moonmen
 
Discy's Avatar
 
Seriously! Khnum
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: The Netherlands
 
Discy is offline
Default Re: Enemy scripting

If you are planning to modify levels make sure to save it to a new location. Otherwise you will save over the original ones. Open up the world in Serious Editor and you have full access to all stuff, because Croteam used that editor to make the levels.
__________________
"Is there any better Gerüstbaufirmenvorarbeiterschlüsselanhängerfarbenwasserlöslichkeitskontrollchemiker than discy? No!" -Shrinker
[22:30] Fiendian: Discy, Finzy and Louva shall merge into a superentity known as the Lickyfonz.
"Can we just move Discy's posts to the HOF automatically already? :P" -Jetty


Ir-Kalla: Serious Sam Classic map pack in development (Ir-Kalla: Egypt Demo)
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2006, 06:58 PM   #6   Add To Ignore List  
Footballer Orc
 
Joined: Aug 2006
 
mikecoon is offline
Default Re: Enemy scripting

Okay, I opened up the Serious Engine. Now when I try to open a level or world, i keep getting an error message that says, the file has thew wrong p[ath. Why must all files reside in the Serious~1 path? that makes no sense.

Anyways to get around this? I would prefer to put my levels in my own directories.
mikecoon
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2006, 07:09 PM   #7   Add To Ignore List  
Goodbye Moonmen
 
Discy's Avatar
 
Seriously! Khnum
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: The Netherlands
 
Discy is offline
Default Re: Enemy scripting

Open the maps from within the editor, not by double clicking on the wld file.
__________________
"Is there any better Gerüstbaufirmenvorarbeiterschlüsselanhängerfarbenwasserlöslichkeitskontrollchemiker than discy? No!" -Shrinker
[22:30] Fiendian: Discy, Finzy and Louva shall merge into a superentity known as the Lickyfonz.
"Can we just move Discy's posts to the HOF automatically already? :P" -Jetty


Ir-Kalla: Serious Sam Classic map pack in development (Ir-Kalla: Egypt Demo)
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2006, 11:19 PM   #8   Add To Ignore List  
Footballer Orc
 
Joined: Aug 2006
 
mikecoon is offline
Default Re: Enemy scripting

Disconnector,
thanks.


mikecoon
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2006, 02:00 PM   #9   Add To Ignore List  
Mental
 
Deepblue's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
 
Deepblue is offline
Default Re: Enemy scripting

Double clicking the .wld file means that your computer will mistake the SS2 .wld file for an SS:FE or SS:SE one
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2006, 03:26 PM   #10   Add To Ignore List  
Awww
 
SLAwww's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Location: Kiev, Ukraine
 
SLAwww is offline Send a message via ICQ to SLAwww
Default Re: Enemy scripting

...only if you seted SED2 as a default prog for .wld files.

Well, double-click will not work anyway. You need to open everything from editor.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2006, 02:47 AM   #11   Add To Ignore List  
Footballer Orc
 
Joined: Aug 2006
 
mikecoon is offline
Default Re: Enemy scripting

Is it possible to set off a trigger based on the number fo enemies left on the field?
What I want to do is have let say 5 waves of enemies but I do not want to use touchfields to set them off except for the first one. I want the 2nd one to be set off when there are lets say less than 10 enemies left. Any ideas?
mikecoon

Last edited by mikecoon; 10-18-2006 at 08:32 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2006, 12:54 PM   #12   Add To Ignore List  
T-Mech
 
Morkze's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2004
Location: SED
 
Morkze is offline Send a message via MSN to Morkze
Default Re: Enemy scripting

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikecoon View Post
Is it possible to set off a trigger based on the number fo enemies left on the field?
What I want to do is have let say 5 waves of enemies but I do not want to use touchfields to set them off except for the first one. I want the 2nd one to be set off when there are lets say less than 10 enemies left. Any ideas?
mikecoon
It possible by setting the enemy templates' death target to a trigger, which has "count use" checked and the "count", for example if you have 30 enemies, and want next wave to trigger when 10 enemies are left, so the count is then 20.

Here's an example map, where the next wave spawns, when you have 10 gnaars left.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Wave Example.zip (12.1 KB, 37 views)
__________________
Projects:
Zorg Shooter for XBOX mod
Mappack:|||||||||| 56%
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2006, 11:38 PM   #13   Add To Ignore List  
Footballer Orc
 
Joined: Aug 2006
 
mikecoon is offline
Default Re: Enemy scripting

Morkze,
thanks.
Now let suppose my first wave consist of 20 kleers , 20 knaars, and 5 big walkers. Now is there a way to set off the next wave when the total number of enemies is down to 10? Now remember, the 10 could be any combo of the kleers, gnaars and big walkers.

mikecoon
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2006, 10:16 AM   #14   Add To Ignore List  
Goodbye Moonmen
 
Discy's Avatar
 
Seriously! Khnum
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: The Netherlands
 
Discy is offline
Default Re: Enemy scripting

The total amount of enemies is 45. If you want the next wave to trigger at 10 enemies left, then you have to set "count" property to 35 and flag "count use", and trigger the next wave.
__________________
"Is there any better Gerüstbaufirmenvorarbeiterschlüsselanhängerfarbenwasserlöslichkeitskontrollchemiker than discy? No!" -Shrinker
[22:30] Fiendian: Discy, Finzy and Louva shall merge into a superentity known as the Lickyfonz.
"Can we just move Discy's posts to the HOF automatically already? :P" -Jetty


Ir-Kalla: Serious Sam Classic map pack in development (Ir-Kalla: Egypt Demo)
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2006, 03:26 PM   #15   Add To Ignore List  
Awww
 
SLAwww's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Location: Kiev, Ukraine
 
SLAwww is offline Send a message via ICQ to SLAwww
Default Re: Enemy scripting

Just don't forget you can point as many enemies as you want to one trigger.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2006, 03:06 AM   #16   Add To Ignore List  
Footballer Orc
 
Joined: Aug 2006
 
mikecoon is offline
Default Re: Enemy scripting

okay, another question. I am just changing the last battle of this level. Now, is there a way to go stratight to the changed portion and test your changes without having to play the whole level?

I tried saving the game up to point right before the final battle of the level. Since I am only changing the last battle, I figured it would just save everyhting up to that point. Unfortunately, when I changed the last battle and then reloaded the saved game, the saved game apparently saved the pre change level data also. So I am stuck wthhaving to replay the whole level to check my changes.

Any ideas onm how to get around this?
mikecoon
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2006, 03:52 AM   #17   Add To Ignore List  
JETROID!!
 
Jetroid's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: UK
 
Jetroid is offline
Default Re: Enemy scripting

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikecoon View Post
okay, another question. I am just changing the last battle of this level. Now, is there a way to go stratight to the changed portion and test your changes without having to play the whole level?

I tried saving the game up to point right before the final battle of the level. Since I am only changing the last battle, I figured it would just save everyhting up to that point. Unfortunately, when I changed the last battle and then reloaded the saved game, the saved game apparently saved the pre change level data also. So I am stuck wthhaving to replay the whole level to check my changes.

Any ideas onm how to get around this?
mikecoon
yep,try ghosting to the point of the final battle or depending on where it is you could fly over the walls
__________________

Wow you failed so much in Life, that you need such things as fun. - Gnaarwarian
Last hax0red by Jetroid; 01-01-1970 at 12:00 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2006, 04:21 AM   #18   Add To Ignore List  
Footballer Orc
 
Joined: Aug 2006
 
mikecoon is offline
Default Re: Enemy scripting

jetholt,
how do you ghost? is that the invisible function?
Also, how do you get the cheat codes to work in server mode?
mikecoon
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2006, 04:28 AM   #19   Add To Ignore List  
JETROID!!
 
Jetroid's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: UK
 
Jetroid is offline
Default Re: Enemy scripting

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikecoon View Post
jetholt,
how do you ghost? is that the invisible function?
Also, how do you get the cheat codes to work in server mode?
mikecoon
you cant cheat in server modes and just type pleaseghost in single player to ghost around the room
__________________

Wow you failed so much in Life, that you need such things as fun. - Gnaarwarian
Last hax0red by Jetroid; 01-01-1970 at 12:00 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2006, 05:11 AM   #20   Add To Ignore List  
Footballer Orc
 
Joined: Aug 2006
 
mikecoon is offline
Default Re: Enemy scripting

JetHolt,
Well, i used a teleporter at the beginning and jusy teleport to the place I want to test.
mikecoon
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2006, 05:23 AM   #21   Add To Ignore List  
JETROID!!
 
Jetroid's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: UK
 
Jetroid is offline
Default Re: Enemy scripting

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikecoon View Post
JetHolt,
Well, i used a teleporter at the beginning and jusy teleport to the place I want to test.
mikecoon
did it work?
__________________

Wow you failed so much in Life, that you need such things as fun. - Gnaarwarian
Last hax0red by Jetroid; 01-01-1970 at 12:00 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2006, 05:35 AM   #22   Add To Ignore List  
Footballer Orc
 
Joined: Aug 2006
 
mikecoon is offline
Default Re: Enemy scripting

JetHolt
It worked like a charm.
mikecoon
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2006, 06:53 AM   #23   Add To Ignore List  
TwL
Gone Again
 
TwL's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Singapore, Singapore
 
TwL is offline
Default Re: Enemy scripting

THere's no need to add a teleporter. Just drag out a PlayerMarker, and tick the "Quick Start" option. You will immediately start from there when you test the level.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2006, 08:52 AM   #24   Add To Ignore List  
Goodbye Moonmen
 
Discy's Avatar
 
Seriously! Khnum
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: The Netherlands
 
Discy is offline
Default Re: Enemy scripting

Quote:
Originally Posted by twl View Post
THere's no need to add a teleporter. Just drag out a PlayerMarker, and tick the "Quick Start" option. You will immediately start from there when you test the level.
Just as I wanted to say. Also, you can use the 'Target' option to trigger an event, instead of having to go through many battles.
__________________
"Is there any better Gerüstbaufirmenvorarbeiterschlüsselanhängerfarbenwasserlöslichkeitskontrollchemiker than discy? No!" -Shrinker
[22:30] Fiendian: Discy, Finzy and Louva shall merge into a superentity known as the Lickyfonz.
"Can we just move Discy's posts to the HOF automatically already? :P" -Jetty


Ir-Kalla: Serious Sam Classic map pack in development (Ir-Kalla: Egypt Demo)
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2006, 12:22 PM   #25   Add To Ignore List  
Awww
 
SLAwww's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Location: Kiev, Ukraine
 
SLAwww is offline Send a message via ICQ to SLAwww
Default Re: Enemy scripting

And don't forget that PlayerMarker marked as a "quick start" will only work properly when you test the game in editor.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2006, 04:25 AM   #26   Add To Ignore List  
Kamikaze
 
Jurica2's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Croatia
 
Jurica2 is offline
Default Re: Enemy scripting

Hmmmm.....
__________________
Serious Sam 2 Editor

Last edited by Jurica2; 10-22-2006 at 08:03 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2006, 06:28 AM   #27   Add To Ignore List  
Mental
 
Deepblue's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
 
Deepblue is offline
Default Re: Enemy scripting

You want some help for SED2? Wrong forum section, but if you do need help just go into www.seriousengine.com, it has tutorials for both editors
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2006, 01:54 PM   #28   Add To Ignore List  
Awww
 
SLAwww's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Location: Kiev, Ukraine
 
SLAwww is offline Send a message via ICQ to SLAwww
Default Re: Enemy scripting

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurica2 View Post
Hmmmm.....
And please be more specific next time.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 11:00 AM   #29   Add To Ignore List  
Goodbye Moonmen
 
Discy's Avatar
 
Seriously! Khnum
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: The Netherlands
 
Discy is offline
Default Re: Enemy scripting

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurica2 View Post
Hmmmm.....
Aye, true dat. I totally agree with you.
__________________
"Is there any better Gerüstbaufirmenvorarbeiterschlüsselanhängerfarbenwasserlöslichkeitskontrollchemiker than discy? No!" -Shrinker
[22:30] Fiendian: Discy, Finzy and Louva shall merge into a superentity known as the Lickyfonz.
"Can we just move Discy's posts to the HOF automatically already? :P" -Jetty


Ir-Kalla: Serious Sam Classic map pack in development (Ir-Kalla: Egypt Demo)
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mapping: Enemy Counter/Boss Meter Sengin Serious Sam Classic Mods 46 11-16-2004 09:27 AM
Bush falls off bicycle Sledge Off Topic Forum 150 05-26-2004 08:49 PM
Mapping: Enemy Marker Fiendian Serious Sam Classic Mods 0 12-20-2002 07:07 PM
Help needed with enemy-related entities Earthling Serious Sam Classic SDK 8 09-18-2002 11:16 AM
Enemy Markers. Nifran Tay Serious Editor 2 05-09-2002 02:42 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:50 PM.