Seriously!

Go Back   Seriously! Forums > Serious Sam Series > Serious Sam 3

Serious Sam 3 Everything you want to know or say about Serious Sam 3!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 06-02-2011, 05:31 AM   #1   Add To Ignore List  
Lava Golem
 
Wezilla's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
 
Wezilla is offline
Lightbulb Recommended specs to run Serious Sam 3 ?

I'm planning upgrade PC I want play top end "ULTRA FULL MAX"

For this! Serious Sam 3

Discuss ?
__________________
NO COVER. ALL MAN.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 07:20 AM   #2   Add To Ignore List  
Finzy Corp. CEO
 
Finzy's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Whatshisoffice
 
Finzy is offline
Default Re: Recommended specs to run Serious Sam 3 ?

I guess the ultra settings will be designed for future's hardware, like in SSHD, so you probably can't run it on ultra on anything but the very top end systems.

As for minimum specs, I hope it will still run on a 2.2 Ghz Core 2 Duo in the CPU department. That's all I'm asking.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 07:49 AM   #3   Add To Ignore List  
🐱 Kitty 💘💙💚💛💜
 
Scratch's Avatar
 
Crackshell Developer
Joined: May 2007
Location: Heiloo, Netherlands
 
Scratch is offline
Default Re: Recommended specs to run Serious Sam 3 ?

I can run Ultra on a GTX 460 with 1GB memory on HD TSE. It'll probably be more difficult on BFE, but who knows...
__________________
I'm a cat by the way. I'm also everyone's most hated critic.
(Opinions expressed are my own)

Nimble Writer - now available on Steam, Itch.io.
CodeCat, my blog that I need to update - I also have a showcase, which I barely update.
(I do not respond to PM's about Serious Sam Revolution or Bogus Detour. Please use the appropriate community hubs for that.)
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 11:47 AM   #4   Add To Ignore List  
Hey ladies
 
Fiendian's Avatar
 
Glowing Red Stove Top
Joined: Nov 2002
Location: Iceland
 
Fiendian is offline Send a message via ICQ to Fiendian Send a message via MSN to Fiendian
Default Re: Recommended specs to run Serious Sam 3 ?

I can go up to high/ultra settings @ 1920x1080 on my machine in Sam HD, we'll see about Sam 3. I guess there I will be somewhere around high.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 11:51 AM   #5   Add To Ignore List  
Khnum
 
Mischievous's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: I'm a gamer, so in a metaphysical way,no where.
 
Mischievous is offline
Default Re: Recommended specs to run Serious Sam 3 ?

Well, on HD I'm around medium , so for SS3, I'd say...Ultra low.
__________________
Secretly Blue
Mass Effect 3, It's kind of as if you had to pay extra to see Golum in the LOTR series.
Louva-Deus:"You were born with a longer tail that the rest of us"
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 03:07 PM   #6   Add To Ignore List  
Lava Golem
 
Dave3d's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
 
Dave3d is offline
Default Re: Recommended specs to run Serious Sam 3 ?

Hmmmmm.
May be an excuse to get 2 more GTX580's and 2 more monitors, for 3-way monitor goodness.

  Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 04:35 PM   #7   Add To Ignore List  
Finzy Corp. CEO
 
Finzy's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Whatshisoffice
 
Finzy is offline
Default Re: Recommended specs to run Serious Sam 3 ?

If only all of us were that rich
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 04:44 PM   #8   Add To Ignore List  
...
 
AntonioR's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
 
AntonioR is offline
Default Re: Recommended specs to run Serious Sam 3 ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Finzy View Post
If only all of us were that rich
He said he has 7-8 PC, and one has 12 GB of RAM. And I have this sh*t for 6 years
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 07:41 PM   #9   Add To Ignore List  
Lava Golem
 
Dave3d's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
 
Dave3d is offline
Default Re: Recommended specs to run Serious Sam 3 ?

Yeah, well, working in the software industry pays pretty well, and I have to keep on top of technology, for, ummm, business reasons, yeah. Business reasons.

I am far from 'Rich' though.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 12:22 AM   #10   Add To Ignore List  
Pan
Silver Lined Boots
 
Pan's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Looking for Snake
 
Pan is offline
Default Re: Recommended specs to run Serious Sam 3 ?

I can play HD on Ultra, so I suppose Medium/High on SS3 since it seems to be more graphically taxing on the system (Breaking walls down and stuff, as seen in the teaser.)
__________________
"Don't you have to be told to do things to be considered a slave?"
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 10:04 PM   #11   Add To Ignore List  
Ugh-Zan III
 
Brute's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
 
Brute is offline Send a message via MSN to Brute
Default Re: Recommended specs to run Serious Sam 3 ?

Setting HD to "Ultra" does not set all specifications to max, nor does guarantee Sam 3 will have the same graphical settings.
At this point, you can only speculate. Judge your current specs to the minimum settings that newer PC games require. Honestly, though, you're better off just waiting until Steam activates the pre-order, then check the minimum settings there.

@Dave3d: No one needs three monitors when one will suffice just fine.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 10:24 PM   #12   Add To Ignore List  
Lava Golem
 
Dave3d's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
 
Dave3d is offline
Default Re: Recommended specs to run Serious Sam 3 ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brute View Post
...
@Dave3d: No one needs three monitors when one will suffice just fine.
I wouold beg to differ.
When I was playing Q3 competitively, I would have loved having that extra real estate, where I could see more of the world, and maybe an enemy sooner than he/she saw me.

But, I am out of the competitive online play now, and yes, I dont need 3 monitors. But, it would really help with the immersiveness of games.
Imagine playing Metro 2033 with 3 monitors, surrounding you vision.
Man, talk about immersive.

But, ultimately, I just cant justify spending that much money for the benefits of just a handful of games.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 10:42 PM   #13   Add To Ignore List  
Hey ladies
 
Fiendian's Avatar
 
Glowing Red Stove Top
Joined: Nov 2002
Location: Iceland
 
Fiendian is offline Send a message via ICQ to Fiendian Send a message via MSN to Fiendian
Default Re: Recommended specs to run Serious Sam 3 ?

Someone totally needs to make a computer monitor shaped like a giant upside-down fish bowl which we put our heads into. Total immersiveness!
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 11:03 PM   #14   Add To Ignore List  
Lava Golem
 
LordAngus's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
 
LordAngus is offline
Default Re: Recommended specs to run Serious Sam 3 ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fiendian View Post
Someone totally needs to make a computer monitor shaped like a giant upside-down fish bowl which we put our heads into. Total immersiveness!
Play it on the IMAX Dome.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 11:14 PM   #15   Add To Ignore List  
Ugh-Zan III
 
Brute's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
 
Brute is offline Send a message via MSN to Brute
Default Re: Recommended specs to run Serious Sam 3 ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fiendian View Post
Someone totally needs to make a computer monitor shaped like a giant upside-down fish bowl which we put our heads into. Total immersiveness!
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2011, 04:20 AM   #16   Add To Ignore List  
Developer Fairy
 
Solais's Avatar
 
Croteam Representative
Joined: Nov 2009
 
Solais is offline
Default Re: Recommended specs to run Serious Sam 3 ?

I'm not rich, hell I'm piss poor, but I actually have two monitors. Of course, it's because when I bought the new one, I didn't threw out the old one. Though I rarely use it, but it was nice when I was playing SEHD and doing all the secrets while looking at the secrets guide on the other monitor.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2011, 07:42 AM   #17   Add To Ignore List  
🐱 Kitty 💘💙💚💛💜
 
Scratch's Avatar
 
Crackshell Developer
Joined: May 2007
Location: Heiloo, Netherlands
 
Scratch is offline
Default Re: Recommended specs to run Serious Sam 3 ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brute View Post
@Dave3d: No one needs three monitors when one will suffice just fine.
Once you go multi-monitor, you won't go back.
__________________
I'm a cat by the way. I'm also everyone's most hated critic.
(Opinions expressed are my own)

Nimble Writer - now available on Steam, Itch.io.
CodeCat, my blog that I need to update - I also have a showcase, which I barely update.
(I do not respond to PM's about Serious Sam Revolution or Bogus Detour. Please use the appropriate community hubs for that.)
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2011, 10:17 AM   #18   Add To Ignore List  
Hey ladies
 
Fiendian's Avatar
 
Glowing Red Stove Top
Joined: Nov 2002
Location: Iceland
 
Fiendian is offline Send a message via ICQ to Fiendian Send a message via MSN to Fiendian
Default Re: Recommended specs to run Serious Sam 3 ?

You have no idea how wrong you are.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2011, 11:04 AM   #19   Add To Ignore List  
🐱 Kitty 💘💙💚💛💜
 
Scratch's Avatar
 
Crackshell Developer
Joined: May 2007
Location: Heiloo, Netherlands
 
Scratch is offline
Default Re: Recommended specs to run Serious Sam 3 ?

Who, me?
__________________
I'm a cat by the way. I'm also everyone's most hated critic.
(Opinions expressed are my own)

Nimble Writer - now available on Steam, Itch.io.
CodeCat, my blog that I need to update - I also have a showcase, which I barely update.
(I do not respond to PM's about Serious Sam Revolution or Bogus Detour. Please use the appropriate community hubs for that.)
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2011, 11:11 AM   #20   Add To Ignore List  
Hey ladies
 
Fiendian's Avatar
 
Glowing Red Stove Top
Joined: Nov 2002
Location: Iceland
 
Fiendian is offline Send a message via ICQ to Fiendian Send a message via MSN to Fiendian
Default Re: Recommended specs to run Serious Sam 3 ?

Yes.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2011, 11:39 AM   #21   Add To Ignore List  
🐱 Kitty 💘💙💚💛💜
 
Scratch's Avatar
 
Crackshell Developer
Joined: May 2007
Location: Heiloo, Netherlands
 
Scratch is offline
Default Re: Recommended specs to run Serious Sam 3 ?

Well, everyone has his own opinions...
__________________
I'm a cat by the way. I'm also everyone's most hated critic.
(Opinions expressed are my own)

Nimble Writer - now available on Steam, Itch.io.
CodeCat, my blog that I need to update - I also have a showcase, which I barely update.
(I do not respond to PM's about Serious Sam Revolution or Bogus Detour. Please use the appropriate community hubs for that.)
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2011, 01:18 PM   #22   Add To Ignore List  
Ugh-Zan III
 
Brute's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
 
Brute is offline Send a message via MSN to Brute
Default Re: Recommended specs to run Serious Sam 3 ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Angelo View Post
Well, everyone has his own opinions...
But women don't?

I tease; back to topic.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2011, 04:17 PM   #23   Add To Ignore List  
Witch Bride
 
GeNeRiC_DeTeCteD's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
 
GeNeRiC_DeTeCteD is offline
Default Re: Recommended specs to run Serious Sam 3 ?

Well if I can play Crysis 2 on the highest options with decent FPS, I expect to be able to play SS3 on the highest options with maximum FPS.
HD was running like crap god forbids this cycle returns in SS3 - which seems to have lower graphics than the HD remakes.

Croteam should really work on their engine IMO.
__________________
Dear guest,
You will have to register to Seriously! forums to view this special signature.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2011, 04:26 PM   #24   Add To Ignore List  
Hey ladies
 
Fiendian's Avatar
 
Glowing Red Stove Top
Joined: Nov 2002
Location: Iceland
 
Fiendian is offline Send a message via ICQ to Fiendian Send a message via MSN to Fiendian
Default Re: Recommended specs to run Serious Sam 3 ?

Sam HD probably runs like crap for you because it is a proper PC game while Crysis 2 is a console port (They actually had to change Press Start to Press Enter in a patch, go figure.). My PC is quite good and as a result I get smooth performance in Sam HD on high settings.

The worlds powered by Serious Engine 3 look great, and I have no doubt 3.5 will only be better since SS3 will have much more detailed levels and enemies.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2011, 04:48 PM   #25   Add To Ignore List  
Werebull
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Hungary
 
joattila1 is offline
Default Re: Recommended specs to run Serious Sam 3 ?

Im going to get it for Xbox 360. My laptop couldn't even play SSHD nevermind Serious Sam 3!
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2011, 04:50 PM   #26   Add To Ignore List  
Witch Bride
 
GeNeRiC_DeTeCteD's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
 
GeNeRiC_DeTeCteD is offline
Default Re: Recommended specs to run Serious Sam 3 ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fiendian View Post
Sam HD probably runs like crap for you because it is a proper PC game while Crysis 2 is a console port (They actually had to change Press Start to Press Enter in a patch, go figure.). My PC is quite good and as a result I get smooth performance in Sam HD on high settings.

The worlds powered by Serious Engine 3 look great, and I have no doubt 3.5 will only be better since SS3 will have much more detailed levels and enemies.
Crysis 2 has better graphics and still works better, hell, not Crysis 2. Even Crysis with it's utter crap engine worked better.
__________________
Dear guest,
You will have to register to Seriously! forums to view this special signature.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2011, 04:56 PM   #27   Add To Ignore List  
Hey ladies
 
Fiendian's Avatar
 
Glowing Red Stove Top
Joined: Nov 2002
Location: Iceland
 
Fiendian is offline Send a message via ICQ to Fiendian Send a message via MSN to Fiendian
Default Re: Recommended specs to run Serious Sam 3 ?

I think FEAR looks better than FEAR 2, and I have seen people say Crysis looks better than the sequel. Graphical superiority is not so black and white nowadays.

Crysis and Sam HD run similarly on my system. Smooth on high settings but lag quite a bit on ultra. I can set CPU preset to Ultra in Sam HD though, but GPU can only go to High with some custom tweaking to bring it up a few more notches.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2011, 06:02 PM   #28   Add To Ignore List  
🐱 Kitty 💘💙💚💛💜
 
Scratch's Avatar
 
Crackshell Developer
Joined: May 2007
Location: Heiloo, Netherlands
 
Scratch is offline
Default Re: Recommended specs to run Serious Sam 3 ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brute View Post
But women don't?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cXf0yIRcdnI
__________________
I'm a cat by the way. I'm also everyone's most hated critic.
(Opinions expressed are my own)

Nimble Writer - now available on Steam, Itch.io.
CodeCat, my blog that I need to update - I also have a showcase, which I barely update.
(I do not respond to PM's about Serious Sam Revolution or Bogus Detour. Please use the appropriate community hubs for that.)
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2011, 07:31 PM   #29   Add To Ignore List  
Ugh-Zan III
 
Brute's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
 
Brute is offline Send a message via MSN to Brute
Default Re: Recommended specs to run Serious Sam 3 ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by GeNeRiC_DeTeCteD View Post
HD was running like crap god forbids this cycle returns in SS3 - which seems to have lower graphics than the HD remakes.
Croteam should really work on their engine IMO.
You're hilarious, whether intentional or not.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Angelo View Post
I hate Family Guy.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2011, 08:21 PM   #30   Add To Ignore List  
🐱 Kitty 💘💙💚💛💜
 
Scratch's Avatar
 
Crackshell Developer
Joined: May 2007
Location: Heiloo, Netherlands
 
Scratch is offline
Default Re: Recommended specs to run Serious Sam 3 ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by brute View Post
i hate family guy.
Nooooo D:
__________________
I'm a cat by the way. I'm also everyone's most hated critic.
(Opinions expressed are my own)

Nimble Writer - now available on Steam, Itch.io.
CodeCat, my blog that I need to update - I also have a showcase, which I barely update.
(I do not respond to PM's about Serious Sam Revolution or Bogus Detour. Please use the appropriate community hubs for that.)
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Serius Sam 2 Won't Work grandpajenkins Serious Sam 2 13 01-26-2006 02:43 AM
Serious Sam 2 doesn´t start Weckicrush Serious Sam 2 13 12-23-2005 01:45 PM
The Serious, Serious Sam 2 Review.... Be Serious! Serious Sam 2 11 10-15-2005 02:28 PM
What does Google think of you? Sledge Off Topic Forum 69 12-13-2004 07:50 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:34 PM.