Seriously!

Go Back   Seriously! Forums > Serious Sam Series > Serious Sam Classic > Serious Sam Classic Workshop > Serious Sam Classic SDK

Serious Sam Classic SDK Discuss coding ideas & problems or show tutorials and code snippets.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-22-2009, 09:14 PM   #1   Add To Ignore List  
Kamikaze
 
Joined: Aug 2009
 
wgarnett is offline
Default SDK Do What ?

Please help newbie ....

SDK Can Do What ? Make New Game ? or only Make MOD ?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2009, 05:06 AM   #2   Add To Ignore List  
Supreme Commander
 
XMR1's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: Germany
 
XMR1 is offline Send a message via ICQ to XMR1 Send a message via MSN to XMR1
Default Re: SDK Do What ?

With the SDK you can modify the existing game to a certain degree.
You can add new enemies, weapons, can change ammunition (e.g. instead of 50 bullets in one box you can have 76 bullets per box). You also can do a lot of other fancy stuff, that wouldn't be possible without coding. And here we are at the point, the SDK is nothing else than a part of the Serious Sam source code, which you are allowed to modify and recompile.
Check out these to find out what's possible. (IMO Btba, is one of the heaviest modifications to SE, so if you really wanna see what's possible, if you good at coding, download and play it).
__________________
website |xmr1.bplaced.net
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 09:29 PM   #3   Add To Ignore List  
Kamikaze
 
Joined: Aug 2009
 
wgarnett is offline
Default Re: SDK Do What ?

Can I change Screen or GUI Layout ???
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2009, 02:56 AM   #4   Add To Ignore List  
blahblahblah
 
--Fragman--'s Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: In an inexistant City
 
--Fragman-- is offline Send a message via ICQ to --Fragman-- Send a message via AIM to --Fragman-- Send a message via MSN to --Fragman--
Default Re: SDK Do What ?

Yes.
__________________
City War City War 2 Rats Rats BTBA
--------------------------
Bomberman SS:XBOX

--------------------------
My Page!
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2009, 05:01 AM   #5   Add To Ignore List  
Khnum
 
Mischievous's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: I'm a gamer, so in a metaphysical way,no where.
 
Mischievous is offline
Default Re: SDK Do What ?

You know I always wanted to get in to coding...for ss,where can I get the SDK for Serious Sam
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2009, 05:25 AM   #6   Add To Ignore List  
Supreme Commander
 
XMR1's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: Germany
 
XMR1 is offline Send a message via ICQ to XMR1 Send a message via MSN to XMR1
Default Re: SDK Do What ?

It's all in our downloading section.
Here is a direct link to the SDK.
However that's not all you need.
You need a development environment like Visual Studio 2008. (There's a free version of it out, which should be enough).
Though there are some problems with it and the best would be to get Visual C++ 6 as it runs with it 100 percently.
__________________
website |xmr1.bplaced.net
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 12:24 AM   #7   Add To Ignore List  
Kamikaze
 
Joined: Aug 2009
 
wgarnett is offline
Default Re: SDK Do What ?

anyone use VS 2008 to compiler success ?
and anyone can give your tutorials to do this ??

thanks very much , I'm a newbie ..... sorry for my stupid .
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 10:14 AM   #8   Add To Ignore List  
Supreme Commander
 
XMR1's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: Germany
 
XMR1 is offline Send a message via ICQ to XMR1 Send a message via MSN to XMR1
Default Re: SDK Do What ?

Well AFAIK VS has some problems with the SDK which are not C related (you're programming knowlege won't help you to fix them).

Unfortunately I have no idea hwo to fix them as I used VC++ 6.0, so either you hope someone else knows how to fix them or you google each one until you got it.
__________________
website |xmr1.bplaced.net
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 11:26 AM   #9   Add To Ignore List  
blahblahblah
 
--Fragman--'s Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: In an inexistant City
 
--Fragman-- is offline Send a message via ICQ to --Fragman-- Send a message via AIM to --Fragman-- Send a message via MSN to --Fragman--
Default Re: SDK Do What ?

I used one of the newer VS versions together with the old compilers, that way you get the GUI improvements of VS and still be able to compile it.
__________________
City War City War 2 Rats Rats BTBA
--------------------------
Bomberman SS:XBOX

--------------------------
My Page!
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2009, 11:03 PM   #10   Add To Ignore List  
Kamikaze
 
Joined: Aug 2009
 
wgarnett is offline
Default Re: SDK Do What ?

SDK include Script Editor , World Editor and other tools ????



and can anyone make SDK source code to support DirectX 9 or DirectX 10 .

three years ago ,when I'm a master, I change DirectShow 8 to DirectShow 9 , It success
but now I forget how to upgrate it .

Last edited by wgarnett; 09-11-2009 at 08:59 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2009, 10:22 AM   #11   Add To Ignore List  
blahblahblah
 
--Fragman--'s Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: In an inexistant City
 
--Fragman-- is offline Send a message via ICQ to --Fragman-- Send a message via AIM to --Fragman-- Send a message via MSN to --Fragman--
Default Re: SDK Do What ?

You're confusing a few things here. The Serious Editor which is used to create maps is already included in the game. The SDK only consists of source code (in C++ mostly).
__________________
City War City War 2 Rats Rats BTBA
--------------------------
Bomberman SS:XBOX

--------------------------
My Page!
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2009, 10:32 AM   #12   Add To Ignore List  
Kamikaze
 
Joined: Aug 2009
 
wgarnett is offline
Default Re: SDK Do What ?

SDK Can let me make a MOD , but this mod like a full total convertion , when I play into game , I don't need to choose MENU->MOD->My MOD GAME NAME ? (it directly run the mod mode). ?
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2009, 10:35 AM   #13   Add To Ignore List  
blahblahblah
 
--Fragman--'s Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: In an inexistant City
 
--Fragman-- is offline Send a message via ICQ to --Fragman-- Send a message via AIM to --Fragman-- Send a message via MSN to --Fragman--
Default Re: SDK Do What ?

You can start a mod directly by adding a "+game modname" parameter to the command (by making a shortcut for example). Alternatively, you could also replace the original EntitiesMP.dll, but I doubt anyone would want to do that. Full conversion is understood as something that changes both gameplay and content, instead of minor changes only, this doesn't have to be related to how the game starts up.
__________________
City War City War 2 Rats Rats BTBA
--------------------------
Bomberman SS:XBOX

--------------------------
My Page!
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2009, 10:40 AM   #14   Add To Ignore List  
Kamikaze
 
Joined: Aug 2009
 
wgarnett is offline
Default Re: SDK Do What ?

thanks , I know how to do ....
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2009, 09:16 AM   #15   Add To Ignore List  
Kamikaze
 
Joined: Aug 2009
 
wgarnett is offline
Default Re: SDK Do What ?

I have seen Serious Editor .
Can editor + sdk can make a new level ???
and level I can put some custom 3ds max model monster ??
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2009, 09:35 AM   #16   Add To Ignore List  
λ
 
Shrinker's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2001
Location: Germany
 
Shrinker is offline Send a message via ICQ to Shrinker Send a message via AIM to Shrinker Send a message via MSN to Shrinker
Default Re: SDK Do What ?

For making a new level and importing a new model, you only need the Serious Editor and a converter for your 3DSMax, but no SDK.
__________________
Homepage | Twitter
 The Beautiful Nature
  Lights | Echoes
   Arrival Mix | Tree of Life

  Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2009, 11:08 AM   #17   Add To Ignore List  
Kamikaze
 
Joined: Aug 2009
 
wgarnett is offline
Default Re: SDK Do What ?

Serious Editor ?? but how to set script to active monster attack or life value ??
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SDK setup help Lancelot du lac Serious Sam Classic SDK 67 12-27-2008 08:24 AM
Do you think CroTeam should release the SS2 SDK to the public? TwL Serious Sam 2 13 04-19-2007 08:48 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:08 AM.