Seriously!

Go Back   Seriously! Forums > Serious Sam Series > Serious Sam HD

Serious Sam HD Discuss anything and everything about Serious Sam HD, the official remake of SS:FE on Serious Engine 3.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-20-2013, 05:31 PM   #1   Add To Ignore List  
Werebull
 
serioustime's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
 
serioustime is offline
Default Distant Light in Rooms Problem

Picture says it all. No it's not a problem of performance settings as I already tried higher settings.

http://i43.tinypic.com/2ah730p.png

I know Ignore Distant Lights option would solve this, but I need to include a distant light because there will be a hole in the ceiling. So anyways to fix this?
__________________
Time is serious, don't waste it.
SeriousTime's Maps
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 06:31 PM   #2   Add To Ignore List  
Albino Cyclops
 
Slayer5381's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Serbia
 
Slayer5381 is offline
Default Re: Distant Light in Rooms Problem

Maybe to use Dark Probe Light?
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 06:46 PM   #3   Add To Ignore List  
Werebull
 
serioustime's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
 
serioustime is offline
Default Re: Distant Light in Rooms Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slayer5381 View Post
Maybe to use Dark Probe Light?
How?
__________________
Time is serious, don't waste it.
SeriousTime's Maps
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 06:53 PM   #4   Add To Ignore List  
Developer Fairy
 
Solais's Avatar
 
Croteam Representative
Joined: Nov 2009
 
Solais is offline
Default Re: Distant Light in Rooms Problem

I think you should make that hole first, then see how the light is calculated.
__________________
Since Old Lost Age I Shine

My Serious Sam 3/HD Workshop


While I do work for Croteam, I'm first of all of this community, so my opinions are my own and do not represent Croteam's views.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 07:03 PM   #5   Add To Ignore List  
Werebull
 
serioustime's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
 
serioustime is offline
Default Re: Distant Light in Rooms Problem

http://i40.tinypic.com/2vuzgi9.png
__________________
Time is serious, don't waste it.
SeriousTime's Maps
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 07:09 PM   #6   Add To Ignore List  
Albino Cyclops
 
Slayer5381's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Serbia
 
Slayer5381 is offline
Default Re: Distant Light in Rooms Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by serioustime View Post
How?
Well i am not good with Light, i only know about Distant lights.. Try to copy from some map where is a closed place..
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 07:27 PM   #7   Add To Ignore List  
Werebull
 
serioustime's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
 
serioustime is offline
Default Re: Distant Light in Rooms Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slayer5381 View Post
Well i am not good with Light, i only know about Distant lights.. Try to copy from some map where is a closed place..
There's only one Distant Light in each map. Also, this one is copied from an original map.
__________________
Time is serious, don't waste it.
SeriousTime's Maps
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 08:06 PM   #8   Add To Ignore List  
Night Sparrow
 
Ryason55's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
 
Ryason55 is offline
Default Re: Distant Light in Rooms Problem

This has been an issue with the engine since Serious Sam 2. The only way around it would be to make a shell-like model around the room that blocks light from hitting those edges. This is what Croteam does in Serious Sam 3. Just be sure to make holes where light is supposed to go through.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 09:07 PM   #9   Add To Ignore List  
Werebull
 
serioustime's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
 
serioustime is offline
Default Re: Distant Light in Rooms Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryason55 View Post
This has been an issue with the engine since Serious Sam 2. The only way around it would be to make a shell-like model around the room that blocks light from hitting those edges. This is what Croteam does in Serious Sam 3. Just be sure to make holes where light is supposed to go through.
Are there anyways to make this model invisible and untouchable (like projectiles)?
__________________
Time is serious, don't waste it.
SeriousTime's Maps
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 04:11 AM   #10   Add To Ignore List  
Developer Fairy
 
Solais's Avatar
 
Croteam Representative
Joined: Nov 2009
 
Solais is offline
Default Re: Distant Light in Rooms Problem

Ah yes, light blockers, I forgot about them (since I personally don't use them... at least yet). Well, the way lightblockers are made and placed such a way that you wouldn't be able to see them normally. Load up an official level and you can see how on some levels, there are many rooms encased in this "black box". That "black box" is the light blocker.
__________________
Since Old Lost Age I Shine

My Serious Sam 3/HD Workshop


While I do work for Croteam, I'm first of all of this community, so my opinions are my own and do not represent Croteam's views.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 04:33 AM   #11   Add To Ignore List  
Finzy Corp. CEO
 
Finzy's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Whatshisoffice
 
Finzy is offline
Default Re: Distant Light in Rooms Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by serioustime View Post
Are there anyways to make this model invisible and untouchable (like projectiles)?
You could give it a new static model scheme override that's set to no collision, that's typically how you make anything not collide. As for making it invisible, in the base color property in shader config settings in mesh editor (iirc), the third bar or so is the alpha value. If it's not base color then it's illumination. Click on it and drag it all the way to the left/right and see what happens (you may need to exit mesh editor to see the changes).

Not sure if invisible models do block light though.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 05:16 AM   #12   Add To Ignore List  
Developer Fairy
 
Solais's Avatar
 
Croteam Representative
Joined: Nov 2009
 
Solais is offline
Default Re: Distant Light in Rooms Problem

Yeah, it must be visible and black colored.
__________________
Since Old Lost Age I Shine

My Serious Sam 3/HD Workshop


While I do work for Croteam, I'm first of all of this community, so my opinions are my own and do not represent Croteam's views.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 08:14 AM   #13   Add To Ignore List  
Werebull
 
serioustime's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
 
serioustime is offline
Default Re: Distant Light in Rooms Problem

For some reason, after saving the map and opening it again, those light blockers lose their effect.
__________________
Time is serious, don't waste it.
SeriousTime's Maps
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 09:20 AM   #14   Add To Ignore List  
Developer Fairy
 
Solais's Avatar
 
Croteam Representative
Joined: Nov 2009
 
Solais is offline
Default Re: Distant Light in Rooms Problem

Funny you mention that, because I have a similar problem with black crumbs that were fixed yet they return when I reload the map.
__________________
Since Old Lost Age I Shine

My Serious Sam 3/HD Workshop


While I do work for Croteam, I'm first of all of this community, so my opinions are my own and do not represent Croteam's views.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with sectors (distant light do not work!) Harrison Serious Sam HD 7 03-25-2013 06:51 AM
Problem with bake light. (GI error) Harrison Serious Sam HD 2 08-09-2012 02:44 PM
Problem with light Mental4 Serious Sam HD 5 08-28-2011 08:13 PM
Serious Reference Redshirt Serious Editor 14 11-16-2001 06:18 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:22 AM.