Seriously!

Go Back   Seriously! Forums > Serious Sam Series > Serious Sam Classic

Serious Sam Classic Discuss anything and everything relating to Serious Sam Classic and its 2 parts; The First Encounter and The Second Encounter.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-13-2002, 02:05 PM   #1   Add To Ignore List  
Werebull
 
mpb2's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: On my sofa
 
mpb2 is offline Send a message via ICQ to mpb2
Default Sierra De Chiapas quality

What is the best quality you have had on Sierra De Chiapas (I will now refer to it as SDC)?

I managed about 30 frames per second at 1280*1024 with everything at max, but I have two graphics cards...
__________________
Command Prompt Easter Egg:

type "Format C:" without the quotes.

:D
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2002, 04:10 PM   #2   Add To Ignore List  
@serioussam.org ;)
 
Serious Worm's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2001
Location: Croatia (Primorje)
 
Serious Worm is offline Send a message via ICQ to Serious Worm Send a message via MSN to Serious Worm
Default

Uh?
__________________
Serious Worm, Level designer - Web site
SS maps: FE: 6 SE: 1 In progress: 0
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2002, 04:33 PM   #3   Add To Ignore List  
Werebull
 
mpb2's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: On my sofa
 
mpb2 is offline Send a message via ICQ to mpb2
Default

well, resolution and approximate framerate unless you know how to get a reading of it. also include what rendering preferences. i know, i should have done it as a poll but there would have probably been too many categories...
__________________
Command Prompt Easter Egg:

type "Format C:" without the quotes.

:D
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2002, 02:48 PM   #4   Add To Ignore List  
Mental
 
Joben's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2001
Location: USA
 
Joben is offline Send a message via ICQ to Joben Send a message via AIM to Joben
Default

There are standardized ways of measureing this stuff and a forum for discusing it.

Tweaking Forum The "Slight Upgrade" thread among others has system specs graphics settings and benchmarks from quite a number of people.

FAQ: Showing framerate, benchmarking, profiling, etc. contains instructions on how to get all the info if you dont know.
__________________
My Youtube Channel - My Website
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2002, 10:33 AM   #5   Add To Ignore List  
Lava Golem
 
Margolis's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2001
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
 
Margolis is offline
Default

you have two graphics cards. Which one was the game running on? Where and how were you judging the framerate? And you should just choose something like normal, quality, etc.. for testing. It is easier. or just select the extreme quality addon.
__________________
Margolis

"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
- Benjamin Franklin

It is better to die than to lose one's freedom - Leonardo di Vinci
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2002, 12:19 PM   #6   Add To Ignore List  
Werebull
 
mpb2's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: On my sofa
 
mpb2 is offline Send a message via ICQ to mpb2
Default

extreme quality?

i will try it.

and, i was using a Radeon 9000 64Mb.

i judged on the framerate due to the extreme lack of flicker and about as smooth as my camcorder when i set it to Shutter 1/500Th of a second. but my monitor goes to 85Hz max.
__________________
Command Prompt Easter Egg:

type "Format C:" without the quotes.

:D
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2002, 07:18 PM   #7   Add To Ignore List  
@serioussam.org ;)
 
Serious Worm's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2001
Location: Croatia (Primorje)
 
Serious Worm is offline Send a message via ICQ to Serious Worm Send a message via MSN to Serious Worm
Default

BTW - ALWAYS try the Default or the Extreme quality SCRIPTS because they have preset gfx options. Speed/Normal/Quality options autoconfigure the options based on your graphics card.
__________________
Serious Worm, Level designer - Web site
SS maps: FE: 6 SE: 1 In progress: 0
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2002, 09:40 AM   #8   Add To Ignore List  
Lava Golem
 
Margolis's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2001
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
 
Margolis is offline
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mpb2
.

i judged on the framerate due to the extreme lack of flicker and about as smooth as my camcorder when i set it to Shutter

so in other words, you don't have a clue what the real framerate was

you can type in hud_istats=1 in the console to display framerate while playing. Or use dem_bprofile=1 to benchmark demo's.
__________________
Margolis

"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
- Benjamin Franklin

It is better to die than to lose one's freedom - Leonardo di Vinci
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2002, 07:43 AM   #9   Add To Ignore List  
Werebull
 
mpb2's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: On my sofa
 
mpb2 is offline Send a message via ICQ to mpb2
Default

no, it was just smooth.
__________________
Command Prompt Easter Egg:

type "Format C:" without the quotes.

:D
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2002, 11:46 AM   #10   Add To Ignore List  
Kleer
 
Wesisapie's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2001
 
Wesisapie is offline Send a message via ICQ to Wesisapie
Default

30 fps isn't really that smooth...
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2002, 07:20 AM   #11   Add To Ignore List  
Werebull
 
mpb2's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: On my sofa
 
mpb2 is offline Send a message via ICQ to mpb2
Default

no, but 70fps is.

i should have said it was at 1024*768 that it was smooth (70fps)

it would be on my telly...

ill try that today, my graphics card's ViVo.
__________________
Command Prompt Easter Egg:

type "Format C:" without the quotes.

:D
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2002, 07:24 AM   #12   Add To Ignore List  
Kleer
 
ratphour's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2002
Location: Milwaukee, WI, USA
 
ratphour is offline
Default

I got mine @ 1024x768, and I avg around 120.. Give or take a few here and there.. Check my sig for system specs.

That is with the graphics in extreme, using DirectX w/9.0
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sierra Utilities booger Game Talk 29 07-18-2003 03:29 AM
Secret Fan in Sierra de Chiapas SERIOUS JAY Serious Sam Classic 9 02-20-2003 02:43 PM
Sierra de Chiapas secrets Margolis Serious Sam Classic 7 02-18-2002 04:53 PM
Challenge: Find all 12 secrets in Sierra de Chiapas Margolis Contests 3 02-18-2002 12:05 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:18 AM.