Seriously!

Go Back   Seriously! Forums > Serious Sam Series > Serious Sam Classic

Serious Sam Classic Discuss anything and everything relating to Serious Sam Classic and its 2 parts; The First Encounter and The Second Encounter.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-13-2002, 06:38 PM   #1   Add To Ignore List  
Gnaar
 
Myrmecophagavir's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2002
Location: Oxford, UK
 
Myrmecophagavir is offline
Question New Patch - CD Check?

Hi, I was wondering if the new patch will mean the CD isn't required to be in the drive every time you play since the game's been out for ages, as with Unreal, UT, Q3A, Half-Life etc.

It's a pet peeve of mine to have to hunt around for the disc each time if I've been using the drive for something else, plus you can't listen to music CDs at the same time as playing.

Myrmy
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2002, 06:59 PM   #2   Add To Ignore List  
Lava Golem
 
Grand Master Shinobi's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2001
Location: NC USA ( GO CANES! )
 
Grand Master Shinobi is offline Send a message via ICQ to Grand Master Shinobi Send a message via AIM to Grand Master Shinobi Send a message via MSN to Grand Master Shinobi Send a message via Yahoo to Grand Master Shinobi
Default

so far as i know it should still require the cd .. croteam doesnt like the idea (last i heard) of no cd patches
__________________
Hell is other people.
Jean-Paul Sartre, Closed Doors (1944)
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2002, 07:07 PM   #3   Add To Ignore List  
Spy Killah
 
Rodzilla's Avatar
 
Seriously! Reaper
Joined: May 2001
 
Rodzilla is offline
Default

The CD Check is the *only* copy protection in the game.
__________________
Rodzilla
-Seriously! Administrator Emeritus
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2002, 07:20 PM   #4   Add To Ignore List  
Proconsul
 
Meathead's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2001
Location: Bat Country
 
Meathead is offline
Default

I'd hardly call it a cd check... Time for Croteam to remove it.
__________________
There comes a point in your life when you realize who really matters, who never did, and who always will.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2002, 07:28 PM   #5   Add To Ignore List  
Gnaar
 
Myrmecophagavir's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2002
Location: Oxford, UK
 
Myrmecophagavir is offline
Thumbs up

I think it's a good idea to remove them after the game's out of its reasonable sales period - how many copies are being bought these days? There's the budget re-release of course though, has that happened for SE yet? The recent interview here said there might even be another FE patch, I'd certainly appreciate that removing the CD check too.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2002, 08:14 PM   #6   Add To Ignore List  
@serioussam.org ;)
 
Serious Worm's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2001
Location: Croatia (Primorje)
 
Serious Worm is offline Send a message via ICQ to Serious Worm Send a message via MSN to Serious Worm
Default

Me too, errors on my SE cd (scratches,...) caused my computer to freeze 2-3 times since I bought the game.

Though I mostly spend my time in the Editor which thankfully doesn't need the CD
__________________
Serious Worm, Level designer - Web site
SS maps: FE: 6 SE: 1 In progress: 0
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2002, 02:05 PM   #7   Add To Ignore List  
Werebull
 
mpb2's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: On my sofa
 
mpb2 is offline Send a message via ICQ to mpb2
Default

they could make the CD copy-protected, NovaLogic did that with Delta Force: Task Force Dagger, I know cos someone asked me if I could copy it for him and he has a big fancy CDRW and he couldn't.

I said I'd try and find a solution for him to copy it, but I couldn't. I couldn't even copy it to hard drive.

although it is annoying, the amount of times I get the "Please insert CD-ROM and restart application" message cos my BIOS is set to boot from my DVD-ROM and summat goes wrong if I leave a disc in.

but, even if they made it copy-protected, someone could just let people borrow it and download them a crack.
__________________
Command Prompt Easter Egg:

type "Format C:" without the quotes.

:D
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2002, 07:47 PM   #8   Add To Ignore List  
@serioussam.org ;)
 
Serious Worm's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2001
Location: Croatia (Primorje)
 
Serious Worm is offline Send a message via ICQ to Serious Worm Send a message via MSN to Serious Worm
Default

Why don't you change your BIOS setting?

BTW - my BIOS is also set to boot from cd first but it doesn't complain if it finds a non bootable cd.
__________________
Serious Worm, Level designer - Web site
SS maps: FE: 6 SE: 1 In progress: 0
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2002, 09:58 PM   #9   Add To Ignore List  
Did you see?
 
Louva-Deus's Avatar
 
魂クラッシャー
Joined: Oct 2001
 
Louva-Deus is offline
Default

short answer: it stays. and rod se has 2 anti-copy protections on the cd besides the cd-check.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2002, 10:13 PM   #10   Add To Ignore List  
Spy Killah
 
Rodzilla's Avatar
 
Seriously! Reaper
Joined: May 2001
 
Rodzilla is offline
Default

I was referring to the game itself, not the CD. Cracking the game and copying the CD are two different things.
__________________
Rodzilla
-Seriously! Administrator Emeritus
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2002, 07:42 AM   #11   Add To Ignore List  
Forever Fancy
 
Joined: Jun 2001
 
MasterEvilAce is offline
Default

I'd like to have it removed too... CDChecks do NOTHING. It just keeps people from installing it on multiple computers...

but that's not a problem since almost everybody has/knows somebody with a CD burner.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2002, 08:34 AM   #12   Add To Ignore List  
λ
 
Shrinker's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2001
Location: Germany
 
Shrinker is offline Send a message via ICQ to Shrinker Send a message via AIM to Shrinker Send a message via MSN to Shrinker
Default

CD-Checks suck a lot!
What a luck there are some sites that have no-cd patches...
__________________
Homepage | Twitter
 The Beautiful Nature
  Lights | Echoes
   Arrival Mix | Tree of Life

  Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2002, 08:55 AM   #13   Add To Ignore List  
@serioussam.org ;)
 
Serious Worm's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2001
Location: Croatia (Primorje)
 
Serious Worm is offline Send a message via ICQ to Serious Worm Send a message via MSN to Serious Worm
Default

__________________
Serious Worm, Level designer - Web site
SS maps: FE: 6 SE: 1 In progress: 0
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2002, 01:09 PM   #14   Add To Ignore List  
Gnaar
 
Myrmecophagavir's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2002
Location: Oxford, UK
 
Myrmecophagavir is offline
Lightbulb

I'm not saying CD checks shouldn't be placed on new games - when they're still selling it's important people pay for what they want to play.

But after a while the sales will dwindle and there's no longer any point - everyone who would buy a copy has already got one, so it just irritates those who already have it legally. There's plenty of precedent from games that disabled the CD check after a while with a patch.

SE hasn't been out that long perhaps, but FE has. Perhaps the problem lies with the Gold pack? People aren't going to want to buy that if they can get the games free by installing someone else's copy. On the other hand, plenty of games release "game of the year" editions long after the initial release, by which time the CD-in-drive prerequisite has been disabled, eg. HL, Deus Ex, UT, Q3A.

The whole copy protection thing is still not well thought out by the industry. I remember some games that gave you a 2nd multiplayer-only disc, so you could play with a friend but they couldn't get a copy of the full game. Seems reasonable to me, if they aren't interested in the single player element but you want to have a bit of fun one day. After all, when you buy a video you expect to be able to get some friends round to watch it.

I think the solution is to simply have CD writers that won't copy discs with a protection bit set, then require the CD in the drive and after the sales are gone disable that with a patch.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2002, 01:25 PM   #15   Add To Ignore List  
Proconsul
 
Meathead's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2001
Location: Bat Country
 
Meathead is offline
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Louva-Deus
short answer: it stays. and rod se has 2 anti-copy protections on the cd besides the cd-check.
Whatever they are, they don't work...
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2002, 09:41 PM   #16   Add To Ignore List  
is a loser.
 
McFuggin's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2002
Location: Central Maine
 
McFuggin is offline Send a message via AIM to McFuggin Send a message via MSN to McFuggin
Default

Keys are the best way to go, to prevent piracy, I know from expirience. SS:FE is one of the easiest games I know of to copy, though. I don't know about SE.
__________________
Apathy or ignorance?
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2002, 12:23 AM   #17   Add To Ignore List  
Direwolf Founder
 
BurnHavoc's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: Newmarket, Ontario
 
BurnHavoc is offline Send a message via ICQ to BurnHavoc Send a message via AIM to BurnHavoc Send a message via MSN to BurnHavoc Send a message via Yahoo to BurnHavoc
Default

I agree with Maynard.

One petpeve I have is with companies doing "protection" things that are useless. Copying the SS CD is simple and quick which kinda makes the protection null.

Kinda like DAoC. They have it so if you minimize for any reason it just shuts the game off. This didn't stop hacks at all. You just start it up right after the file check screen/at the login screen and your good to go in anycase.

The CD-Key system has always worked best. people have to either buy coppies or wait for some german hax0r to make a keygen, in which case thoes rarly get on the net because people like to keep it private.
__________________
If I were not an atheist, I would believe in a God who would choose to save people on the basis of the totality of their lives and not the pattern of their words. I think he would prefer an honest and righteous atheist to a TV preacher whose every word is God, God, God, and whose every deed is foul, foul, foul.
- Issac Asimov


Wii Number [2504 6833 4090 9541]
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2002, 01:43 AM   #18   Add To Ignore List  
Witch Bride
 
chavo's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2002
Location: Kentucky, USA
 
chavo is offline Send a message via ICQ to chavo Send a message via AIM to chavo Send a message via Yahoo to chavo
Default

key gen... rarely work... just make a cd-image and run it off the cd-image drive software.. that will run faster than your cd drive..
__________________
/*Chavo
Programmer, Team Propaganda*/
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2002, 08:05 AM   #19   Add To Ignore List  
Werebull
 
mpb2's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: On my sofa
 
mpb2 is offline Send a message via ICQ to mpb2
Default

i had some virtual-CD software before and i had 15 CD drives

but it takes up hard drive space especially if you did a full install
__________________
Command Prompt Easter Egg:

type "Format C:" without the quotes.

:D
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2002, 09:28 AM   #20   Add To Ignore List  
Kleer
 
ratphour's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2002
Location: Milwaukee, WI, USA
 
ratphour is offline
Default

Daemon Tools is a great virtual-cd .. Also a great program for making image files of copy protected CD's is Alcohol 120%. If you have the hard drive space, just use virtual cd drive's, it sure beat's swapping the damn CD's everytime you want to play a game.

http://www.daemon-tools.com for d-tools
http://www.alcohol-soft.com for Alcohol 120%

Use the newest SecureRom for making image's with Alcohol.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2002, 11:38 AM   #21   Add To Ignore List  
is a loser.
 
McFuggin's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2002
Location: Central Maine
 
McFuggin is offline Send a message via AIM to McFuggin Send a message via MSN to McFuggin
Default

ow's that system workin for ya, ratphor? J/W, because I have that board.
The reason keys work so well is because it's easy for them to ban a key from multi-player, which means that people won't give their keys out, in fear of that. You can still play the game in SP no problem, but that isn't very much fun.
I use Nero image drive for all of my CD's, a few of them, anyway.
__________________
Apathy or ignorance?
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2002, 12:20 PM   #22   Add To Ignore List  
Kleer
 
ratphour's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2002
Location: Milwaukee, WI, USA
 
ratphour is offline
Default

Maynard,

System works great, just kicking myself in the rear end for not picking up a Athlon XP 2600+ instead of the 2200+ I got, but other then that, I have no complaints. Only problems I have is with the sound card (Audigy) while in EAX mode, I get interference every once and a while, but I think that is a driver issue, and if I reinstall XP from a clean HD it should clear itself up. But I am too lazy right now to do that..

I use to use nero's imagedrive, but when I upgraded my mo/bo, cpu, I had a choice, either reinstall XP or attempt to repair it. I did the repair route because I didn't have anything backed up, but it broke nero's imagedrive, no matter if I uninstall it, and reinstall it, it states that there is no image driver installed. (Another reason I want to reinstall XP )
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2002, 12:32 PM   #23   Add To Ignore List  
Kleer
 
Joined: Jan 2002
 
Embattle is offline
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Rodzilla
The CD Check is the *only* copy protection in the game.
And by far the most annoying
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2002, 05:24 PM   #24   Add To Ignore List  
is a loser.
 
McFuggin's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2002
Location: Central Maine
 
McFuggin is offline Send a message via AIM to McFuggin Send a message via MSN to McFuggin
Default

Ratphour, it's pretty easy to fix imagedrive. Uninstall Nero completley, then reboot. Go into regedit, and everywhere you see ahead, (there's only one or two entries) delete them. Reboot once more, then re-install.
My friend has the same problem with his audigy, it'll skip around while playng MP3's. It's a pretty touchy card, I guess. Have you tried the onboard audio out at all?
__________________
Apathy or ignorance?
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2002, 06:21 PM   #25   Add To Ignore List  
Kleer
 
ratphour's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2002
Location: Milwaukee, WI, USA
 
ratphour is offline
Default

Onboard audio works ok, but not as clear as the audigy.. The audigy get's those weird high pitched tones every once in a while, like a buffer channel for the audio wasn't read right, or cleared correctly. It only does it on a few games, UT2K3, BF 1942, Mafia, and a few others. It works perfect for both the serious sam games. There is a hack on another web site allow people with Audigy1 and Live! cards to install Audigy2 drivers, and it actually works, frame rate increases with H/W Audio, more channels (from 31 to 64), and some other stuff. (Just relaying what I heard, I didn't try the hack out yet..) It is tempting, but for some reason, I never trust hacks and crack's .. Again, my background as a Security Admin get's me paranoid..
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2002, 08:19 PM   #26   Add To Ignore List  
Kleer
 
Joined: Jan 2002
 
Embattle is offline
Default

Those hacked drivers work, I had them on my system. Although the Audigy isn't all that and has some problems of its own which are replicated when using the hacked drivers.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2002, 01:59 AM   #27   Add To Ignore List  
Spy Killah
 
Rodzilla's Avatar
 
Seriously! Reaper
Joined: May 2001
 
Rodzilla is offline
Default

I myself would have liked to see a CD key for both games, but afaik that was Take 2's decision and nobody is willing to say why they didn't put them on. My guess is it would've taken time out of their day they spend with other games....but hey, that's just a guess.
__________________
Rodzilla
-Seriously! Administrator Emeritus
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UT2K4 patch 3204 - hasta la vista CD check Sledge Game Talk 10 02-12-2005 05:09 PM
1.07 patch sux!!! richycream Serious Sam Classic 39 05-18-2002 12:36 PM
My latest rant: CBDTPA, just another acronym? Or something more nefarious? Lupo Off Topic Forum 11 03-27-2002 03:53 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:47 PM.