Seriously!

Go Back   Seriously! Forums > Serious Sam Series > Serious Sam 3

Serious Sam 3 Everything you want to know or say about Serious Sam 3!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-26-2011, 05:37 PM   #1   Add To Ignore List  
Finzy Corp. CEO
 
Finzy's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Whatshisoffice
 
Finzy is offline
Default Game using wrong GPU on a dual graphics system?

So I bought myself an Acer Aspire 7560G laptop (full specs in profile), and the first thing to test was obviously SS3:BFE. Running in high performance mode with Crossfire enabled, I got about 27 FPS with large drops now and then on Medium/Medium (3 customized - 1600x900 rendering res, 8x AF, No fast scene AA)/Ultra. The game detected Lowest/Medium/Ultra, but I figured I could raise the CPU setting as it did not have any effect on ingame fps (and I think the AMD A8 3500M 1.5 Ghz - 2.4 Ghz should be faster than my previous C2D T6600 2.2 Ghz).

Anyway, it seems that the game is using the wrong GPU, or at least that's what the console reports. Whether I'm running the game in high performance (dedicated GPU) mode or power saving (integrated 6620G) or CrossFire mode or not, the console says I'm using the 6620G card:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam3.log

-------- START OF LOG --------

22:52:54 LOG: Core version: $Version: distro_Sam3_PC; SeriousSam3-Windows-Final; 147754 2011-11-25 11:06:58 @builder05; Win32-Static-Final-Default$
22:52:54 LOG: Command: $
22:52:54 LOG: Initializing timer.
22:52:54 LOG: Timestamp: 2011/11/26 22:52:54
22:52:54 LOG: Binary name: Sam3.exe
22:52:54 LOG: Binary soft path: Bin/
22:52:54 LOG: Binary hard path: d:\steam\steamapps\common\serious sam 3\Bin\
22:52:54 LOG: Application directory: d:\steam\steamapps\common\serious sam 3\
22:52:54 LOG: * OS...
22:52:54 LOG: Name: Windows 7 (Home)
22:52:54 LOG: Kernel: WinNT (64-bit)
22:52:54 LOG: Version: 6.1, build 7601
22:52:54 LOG: Misc: Service Pack 1
22:52:54 LOG:
22:52:54 LOG: * CPU...
22:52:54 LOG: Vendor: AuthenticAMD
22:52:54 LOG: Type: 0, Family: 15, Model: 1, Stepping: 0
22:52:54 LOG: Clock: 1.50 GHz
22:52:54 LOG: Cores: 4
22:52:54 LOG: CMOV: Yes
22:52:54 LOG: SSE: Yes
22:52:54 LOG:
22:52:54 LOG: * Memory...
22:52:54 LOG: Total physical memory: 7658 MB
22:52:54 LOG: Free physical memory: 5804 MB
22:52:54 LOG:
22:52:54 LOG: Loaded "d:\steam\steamapps\common\serious sam 3\Bin\ScriptLua.dll".
22:52:54 LOG: Loaded "d:\steam\steamapps\common\serious sam 3\Bin\GameEnv_Steam.dll".
22:52:54 INF: GameEnv API: Steam
22:52:54 LOG: Error getting mixer source line info for microphone. Will not be able to control microphone.
22:52:54 LOG: Created thread 5188(ResourceLoader).
22:52:54 LOG: Loading cvars from "$D:/Steam/userdata/16980812/41070/local/SeriousSam3.ini".
22:52:54 TRC: Cannot assign value to cvar dbg_strMarkedDataTypes. The variable is not declared.
22:52:54 LOG: Skipped assigning to prf_strShowFPSTicker because the saved version (0) is different than the current version (1).
22:52:55 LOG: Trying to set display mode 1600x900(fullscreen)...
22:52:55 INF:
22:52:55 INF: * Desktop settings...
22:52:55 INF: Color depth: 32-bit
22:52:55 INF: Desktop resolution: 1600 x 900
22:52:55 INF: Virtual screen: 1600 x 900
22:52:55 INF: Monitors attached: 1
22:52:55 LOG: Loaded "d:\steam\steamapps\common\serious sam 3\Bin\GfxD3D.dll".
22:52:55 LOG: Loaded "D3D9.dll".
22:52:55 LOG: Loaded "D3DCompiler_43.dll".
22:52:55 LOG: Loaded "D3DX9_43.dll".
22:52:55 LOG: Loaded "ATIADLXY.DLL".
22:52:55 LOG: Loaded "DXGI.DLL".
22:52:56 INF:
22:52:58 INF: Gfx API: Direct3D
22:52:58 INF: Resolution: 1600 x 900
22:52:58 INF: Vendor: ATI (0x1002)
22:52:58 INF: Driver: aticfx32.dll (0x9641)
22:52:58 INF: Renderer: AMD Radeon(TM) HD 6620G
22:52:58 INF: Version: 8.17.10.1071
22:52:58 INF: Video memory size: 1504 MB
22:52:58 INF: Available for textures: 957 MB
22:52:58 INF: Active GPU(s): 1
22:52:58 LOG: Processing file Content/SeriousSam3/Config/CheckDriver.lua
22:52:58 INF: Driver version: 1071 (required: 1091)
22:52:58 WRN: Display driver is too old, please update it ASAP!
22:52:58 LOG: Loaded "d:\steam\steamapps\common\serious sam 3\Bin\SfxXAD.dll".
22:52:58 LOG: Loaded "X3DAudio1_7.dll".
22:52:58 INF:
22:52:58 INF: Sfx API: XAudio2
22:52:58 INF: Device: Speakers (Realtek High Definition Audio)
22:52:58 INF: Mixer frequency: 48000 Hz
22:52:58 INF: Mixer voices: 2
22:52:58 INF: Max sound sources: 25
22:52:58 INF: Max total volume: 3
22:52:58 INF: Speaker config: stereo
22:52:58 INF: Environment FX: enabled
22:52:58 INF: Current environment: Padded cell
22:52:58 INF:
22:52:58 LOG: Loaded "d:\steam\steamapps\common\serious sam 3\Bin\SeriousSam3_Project.dll".
22:52:58 LOG: Content/SeriousSam3/All_01.gro: 6414 files, signature: OFFICIAL
22:52:58 LOG: Content/SeriousSam3/All_02.gro: 5133 files, signature: OFFICIAL
22:52:58 LOG: Content/SeriousSam3/All_145562.gro: 2565 files, signature: OFFICIAL
22:52:58 LOG: Content/SeriousSam3/All_147686.gro: 835 files, signature: OFFICIAL
22:52:58 LOG: Content/SeriousSam3/All_147754.gro: 43 files, signature: OFFICIAL
22:52:58 LOG: Content/SeriousSam3/CachedShaders_PC.gro: 4524 files, signature: OFFICIAL
22:52:58 LOG: Loading translation tables from Content/SeriousSam3/Locales/enu/.
22:52:58 LOG: Content/SeriousSam3/Locales/enu/translation.tbl
22:52:58 LOG: Loaded "d:\steam\steamapps\common\serious sam 3\Bin\CodecAudio_Vorbis.dll".
22:52:58 LOG: Module 'Bin/CodecAudio_Vorbis.module' loaded in '0.00' seconds.
22:52:58 LOG: Loaded "d:\steam\steamapps\common\serious sam 3\Bin\CodecVideo_Null.dll".
22:52:58 LOG: Module 'Bin/CodecVideo_Null.module' loaded in '0.00' seconds.
22:52:58 LOG: Loaded "d:\steam\steamapps\common\serious sam 3\Bin\Input.dll".
22:52:58 LOG: Loaded "xinput1_3.dll".
22:52:58 LOG: Module 'Bin/Input.module' loaded in '0.01' seconds.
22:52:58 LOG: Loaded "d:\steam\steamapps\common\serious sam 3\Bin\Game.dll".
22:52:58 LOG: Module 'Bin/Game.module' loaded in '0.00' seconds.
22:52:58 LOG: Loaded "d:\steam\steamapps\common\serious sam 3\Bin\ProcRender.dll".
22:52:58 LOG: Loaded "d:\steam\steamapps\common\serious sam 3\Bin\Shaders.dll".
22:52:58 LOG: Module 'Bin/Shaders.module' loaded in '0.01' seconds.
22:52:58 LOG: Module 'Bin/ProcRender.module' loaded in '0.03' seconds.
22:52:58 LOG: Module 'Bin/Shaders.module' loaded in '0.00' seconds.
22:52:59 LOG: Skipped assigning to prj_strMultiplayerSessionName because the saved version (0) is different than the current version (2).
22:52:59 LOG: Module 'Bin/SeriousSam3_Project.module' loaded in '0.87' seconds.
22:52:59 LOG: Processing file Content/SeriousSam3/Config/autoexec.cfg
22:52:59 LOG: Created thread 5392(GameDataJobs).
22:52:59 LOG: cvarShowDiffs()
22:52:59 LOG: cli_iMaxBPS = 50000 (12000)
22:52:59 LOG: cmp_pixMaxSize = 4096 (2048)
22:52:59 LOG: crm_iRenderDepthPrepass = 1 (2)
22:52:59 LOG: efx_fOcclusionBufferScale = 0.8 (0.5)
22:52:59 LOG: efx_iOcclusionBlur = 1 (2)
22:52:59 LOG: efx_iOcclusionQuality = 0 (1)
22:52:59 LOG: gam_bAllowArmorItems = 1 (-1)
22:52:59 LOG: gam_bAllowHealthItems = 1 (-1)
22:52:59 LOG: gam_bAllowJoinInProgress = 0 (-1)
22:52:59 LOG: gam_bAllowPowerupItems = 1 (-1)
22:52:59 LOG: gam_bAllowSeriousBombItems = 1 (-1)
22:52:59 LOG: gam_bAmmoStays = 1 (-1)
22:52:59 LOG: gam_bArmorStays = 1 (-1)
22:52:59 LOG: gam_bAutoCycleMaps = 0 (-1)
22:52:59 LOG: gam_bCustomizedDifficulty = 0 (-1)
22:52:59 LOG: gam_bExtraMPEnemies = 1 (-1)
22:52:59 LOG: gam_bFriendlyFire = 0 (-1)
22:52:59 LOG: gam_bHealthStays = 1 (-1)
22:52:59 LOG: gam_bInfiniteAmmo = 0 (-1)
22:52:59 LOG: gam_bPowerupsStay = 1 (-1)
22:52:59 LOG: gam_bRankedMatch = 0 (-1)
22:52:59 LOG: gam_bRespawnInPlace = 1 (-1)
22:52:59 LOG: gam_bWeaponsStay = 1 (-1)
22:52:59 LOG: gam_ctFragsLimit = 20 (-1)
22:52:59 LOG: gam_ctGoalsLimit = 10 (-1)
22:52:59 LOG: gam_ctMaxPlayers = 1 (-1)
22:52:59 LOG: gam_ctMinPlayers = 1 (-1)
22:52:59 LOG: gam_ctPrivateSlots = 0 (-1)
22:52:59 LOG: gam_ctRoundLimit = 10 (-1)
22:52:59 LOG: gam_ctTimeLimit = 10 (-1)
22:52:59 LOG: gam_gdDifficulty = 3 (0)
22:52:59 LOG: gam_iExtraEnemyDamagePerPlayer = 0 (-1)
22:52:59 LOG: gam_iExtraEnemyStrength = 0 (-1)
22:52:59 LOG: gam_iExtraEnemyStrengthPerPlayer = 0 (-1)
22:52:59 LOG: gam_iInvulnerableAfterSpawning = 0 (-1)
22:52:59 LOG: gfx_bLastGoodFullScreen = 1 (0)
22:52:59 LOG: gfx_fSaturation = 0.34313728 (0)
22:52:59 LOG: gfx_iAntiAliasingSamples = 1 (4)
22:52:59 LOG: gfx_pixLastGoodResHeight = 900 (480)
22:52:59 LOG: gfx_pixLastGoodResWidth = 1600 (640)
22:52:59 LOG: gfx_pixLastGoodWinHeight = 900 (480)
22:52:59 LOG: gfx_pixLastGoodWinWidth = 1600 (640)
22:52:59 LOG: gfx_pixResHeight = 900 (0)
22:52:59 LOG: gfx_pixResWidth = 1600 (0)
22:52:59 LOG: gfx_pixWinHeight = 900 (480)
22:52:59 LOG: gfx_pixWinWidth = 1600 (640)
22:52:59 LOG: nmp_pixMaxSize = 4096 (2048)
22:52:59 LOG: prf_bShowFPS = 1 (0)
22:52:59 LOG: prj_bSkippableIntroScene = 1 (0)
22:52:59 LOG: prj_ctMaxCorpses = 30 (20)
22:52:59 LOG: prj_ctMaxCorpsesCoop = 10 (8)
22:52:59 LOG: prj_ctMaxDebris = 100 (50)
22:52:59 LOG: prj_ctMaxDebrisCoop = 60 (20)
22:52:59 LOG: prj_ctMaxMovingCorpses = 6 (4)
22:52:59 LOG: prj_ctMaxMovingCorpsesCoop = 3 (2)
22:52:59 LOG: prj_ctMaxMovingDebris = 60 (50)
22:52:59 LOG: prj_fDebrisScreenSizeRatioCull = 0.005 (0.01)
22:52:59 LOG: prj_fDebrisScreenSizeRatioCullCoop = 0.01 (0.015)
22:52:59 LOG: prj_iGPUMemory = 4 (2)
22:52:59 LOG: prj_smSubtitleMode_copy = 1 (2)
22:52:59 LOG: prj_strGfxUserInfoDate = "26.11.2011" ("")
22:52:59 LOG: prj_strLastAutoDetectSetup = "gfx_iPixelProgramVersion=40,gfx_ctConcurrentGPUs= 1,sys_iGPUVendorID=4098,sys_iCPUFamily=15,sys_iCPU MHz=1497,sys_iGPUDeviceID=38465,sys_strCPUVendor=A uthenticAMD,gfx_ulVideoMemoryMB=1496," ("")
22:52:59 LOG: ren_bMirrorFastLights = 0 (1)
22:52:59 LOG: ren_fMax3DRenderingMPix = 1.5 (0)
22:52:59 LOG: sha_iMaxShockwaves = 10 (8)
22:52:59 LOG: sha_iParallaxMappingMethod = 1 (2)
22:52:59 LOG: shb_pixShadowDensity = 48 (16)
22:52:59 LOG: snd_fVoiceCommVolume = 0.7 (1)
22:52:59 LOG: tex_iAnisotropy = 8 (4)
22:52:59 LOG: tex_pixMaxSize = 4096 (2048)
22:52:59 LOG: Processing file Content/SeriousSam3/Config/AutoDetect.lua
22:52:59 INF: AutoDetect: Hardware values unchanged, nothing to do.
22:53:35 LOG: Started loading world "Content/SeriousSam3/Levels/Menu/Intro.wld"
22:53:36 LOG: Finished loading world. (process memory: 1471 MB)
22:53:36 LOG: Timestamp: 2011/11/26 22:53:36
22:53:36 INF: Started simulation on 'Content/SeriousSam3/Levels/Menu/Intro.wld' in 0.62 seconds.
22:53:36 LOG: Created thread 5464(WorkerThreadPool).
22:53:36 LOG: Created thread 5652(WorkerThreadPool).
22:53:36 LOG: Created thread 5736(WorkerThreadPool).
22:53:36 TRC: 2 sound channels reinitialized.
22:53:38 LOG: Started loading world "Content/SeriousSam3/Levels/Menu/MenuLevel.wld"
22:53:38 LOG: Finished loading world. (process memory: 1486 MB)
22:53:38 LOG: Timestamp: 2011/11/26 22:53:38
22:53:38 INF: Started simulation on 'Content/SeriousSam3/Levels/Menu/MenuLevel.wld' in 0.06 seconds.
22:53:51 INF: Current quality: CPU speed=Medium, GPU speed=Medium (3 customized), GPU memory=Ultra
22:53:51 INF: Customized GPU speed cvars:
22:53:51 INF: tex_iAnisotropy = 8 (was 4)
22:53:51 INF: gfx_iFXAA = 0 (was 2)
22:53:51 INF: ren_fMax3DRenderingMPix = 1.5 (was 1.1)
22:53:51 INF:
22:54:06 LOG: Timestamp: 2011/11/26 22:54:06
22:54:06 LOG: Loading '$D:/Steam/userdata/16980812/41070/local/SeriousSam3/SavedGames/0000000010_Save.sav'.
22:54:06 LOG: resFreeUnusedProxies() released '56' and reverted 0 proxy objects in 0.00 seconds.
22:54:06 LOG: resFreeUnusedStock() released 1277 files in 0.22 seconds.
22:54:06 LOG: Started loading world "$D:/Steam/userdata/16980812/41070/local/SeriousSam3/SavedGames/0000000010_Save.sav"
22:54:52 LOG: Finished loading world. (process memory: 2154 MB)
22:54:57 LOG: resFreeUnusedProxies() released '18' and reverted 0 proxy objects in 0.00 seconds.
22:54:58 LOG: resFreeUnusedStock() released 64 files in 0.25 seconds.
22:54:58 TRC: 18 sound channels reinitialized.

*snip*
I got the game to run more smoothly by disabling CrossFire. When I had it enabled I got mouse lag and the fps was more uneven.

And here's the weird thing: since I can switch which card to run the game with, I notice a small fps difference between power saving (running on 6620G) and high performance (6650M) modes, high performance seems smoother overall with fps around 30, while power saving gives around 20 fps with bigger drops, so it would seem that the game DOES switch cards somehow. But the game detects the 6620G card in all cases in console.

In addition, if I enable CrossFire, there's no mention of it either, just the 6620G.

The game automatically re-detects the settings if Crossfire is enabled to Lowest/Medium/Ultra.

If Crossfire is disabled it detects Lowest/Low/Ultra in both modes (power saving & high performance).

So any idea what's going on, and should I expect better performance than this, and are Quad Core CPUs/CrossFire even supported anyhow?
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 06:28 PM   #2   Add To Ignore List  
Lava Golem
 
Joined: Apr 2003
 
jasser is offline
Default Re: Game using wrong GPU on a dual graphics system?

Damn Finzy, that's a lot of questions. Anyway...

First off all, keep the laptop in high performance mode. CPU should be fine.

Now for the graphics card situation, things get a bit more messy. First of all, Crossfire seems to disagree with the game at the time of writing, so several people have found it better to run with a single card instead.

Second, i'm not sure of the exact specs for the 6620, so i won't comment on it. The 6650M however is a lower clocked version of the desktop 6650 and as such, 30 fps on medium sounds ok.

Edit: As for the game always detecting the 6620, i'm not sure about that one. But generally these hybrid solutions with integrated GPU and dedicated GPU tend to always detect the integrated GPU inside windows, so i guess the game is just taking its info straight from what windows reports to it.

Edit2: Also, how much dedicated memory does the 6650M have? GPU Memory set to Ultra might see it start using system memory, if it doesn't have enough dedicated memory to cover the game's needs, which could impact your performance negatively.

Last edited by jasser; 11-26-2011 at 06:34 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 06:49 PM   #3   Add To Ignore List  
Finzy Corp. CEO
 
Finzy's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Whatshisoffice
 
Finzy is offline
Default Re: Game using wrong GPU on a dual graphics system?

Ok, to see if this was a Sam 3 problem, I tested Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim just now. It ran very smoothly at near 60 fps at medium-high settings at 1600x900 (which is definitely better than my previous PC that just managed medium-low with average fps). I could keep Crossfire enabled in it with no problems also.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasser View Post
Damn Finzy, that's a lot of questions. Anyway...
Yeah sorry, keeping track of all that gives me a headache too.

Quote:
First off all, keep the laptop in high performance mode. CPU should be fine.
Ok good, tbh I was worried about the CPU when settings didn't affect the fps...

Quote:
Now for the graphics card situation, things get a bit more messy. First of all, Crossfire seems to disagree with the game at the time of writing, so several people have found it better to run with a single card instead.
Ok.

Quote:
Second, i'm not sure of the exact specs for the 6620, so i won't comment on it. The 6650M however is a lower clocked version of the desktop 6650 and as such, 30 fps on medium sounds ok.
It should manage more than that imo. I ran the game on medium settings with a 4670M before (although then I didn't raise the max rendering resolution), with way more fps. It's two generations newer and in almost the exact same class.

(Specs for 6620G, 6650M and the whole thing which is 6740G2)

Quote:
Edit: As for the game always detecting the 6620, i'm not sure about that one. But generally these hybrid solutions with integrated GPU and dedicated GPU tend to always detect the integrated GPU inside windows, so i guess the game is just taking its info straight from what windows reports to it.
Dunno, could be a bug though.

Quote:
Edit2: Also, how much dedicated memory does the 6650M have? GPU Memory set to Ultra might see it start using system memory, if it doesn't have enough dedicated memory to cover the game's needs, which could impact your performance negatively.
1 GB DDR3. But I'll try high memory settings also next time I play, and lower the rendering res back to default.

I could also try updating the graphics drivers as the ones on the Acer homepage seem to be a couple of months newer.

Last edited by Finzy; 11-26-2011 at 06:53 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 08:05 AM   #4   Add To Ignore List  
Finzy Corp. CEO
 
Finzy's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Whatshisoffice
 
Finzy is offline
Default Re: Game using wrong GPU on a dual graphics system?

Well, I've updated my audio & video drivers to the latest available, but there's still no difference. I can run the game at around 20-40 fps on Medium/Medium/Ultra. For the most part my fps stays at a static 25-30 fps (which is smooth, but still low). There is no fps difference between having Crossfire enabled or not, and using an AMD System Monitor tool, I can see that SS3 only uses the 6650M GPU anyway, while using only 25% max. load of the CPU.

I think my system SHOULD be able to push more fps than that, because my previous laptop managed more on Low/Medium/High. Every benchmark shows that my current PC is faster, the CPU performs at least 10%-25% better, there is more RAM and faster RAM (4 GB 1033 Mhz vs 8 GB 1333 Mhz), and the videocard is two generations newer and has faster clock speeds, more shaders, and DX11 support.

The only thing I can still think of is updating the BIOS as I noticed it's gotten a lot of updates on the Acer site (up to v.2.1), but I've never done that before and I'm unsure if that's totally safe on a new system...how do I backup my existing BIOS for instance in case something goes wrong?

Last edited by Finzy; 12-03-2011 at 08:07 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 11:19 PM   #5   Add To Ignore List  
Footballer Orc
 
Joined: Mar 2001
 
Hektor is offline
Default Re: Game using wrong GPU on a dual graphics system?

The primary GPU in your computer (the 6650M) has the following specs:
Gpixels/second - 4.8
Gtextures/second - 14.4
Memory bandwidth - 28.8

The secondary GPU (the 6620G) has these specs:
Gpixels/second - 3.55
Gtextures/second - 8.88
Memory bandwidth - 25.6

While these are not simply added in a way where 1+1=2, let's say they do for the sake of argument:
Gpixels/second - 4.8 + 3.55 = 8.35
Gtextures/second - 14.4 + 8.88 = 23.28
Memory bandwidth - 28.8 + 25.6 = 54.4

By comparison, I'm using a 6870 desktop model with these specs:
Gpixels/second - 28.8 (3.44x faster)
Gtextures/second - 50.4 (2.16x faster)
Memory bandwidth - 134.4 (2.47x faster)

Actually my card is factory overclocked, so it's slightly higher, but let's ignore that for now. Let's pretend for a moment that the only thing that makes a difference is Gtextures/second, and say that my computer will only be twice as fast as yours.

If I set the screen resolution to 1600x900 and use auto detect, it's sets my settings to:
CPU speed: Ultra
GPU speed: High
GPU Memory: High

This is the result I just got for Broken Wings:
Code:
- benchmark results -

 Duration: 924.2 seconds (51451 frames)
  Average: 55.7 FPS (57.8 w/o peaks)
   Spikes: 2236.0 max, 2.3 min
 Sections: AI=3%, physics=5%, sound=1%, scene=52%, shadows=36%, misc=3%
    Highs: 4340 in 46.8 seconds (92.8 FPS)
     Lows: 5758 in 161.4 seconds (35.7 FPS)
20-30 FPS:  1%
30-60 FPS: 53%
 > 60 FPS: 46%
If we assume the 2.16x figure is the correct one, and you ran through the exact same benchmarks (can't, as we cannot record demos at the moment), you'd get an average of about 26 FPS, with lows around 17 and highs about 43.

If the 3.44 figure is correct, you'd get 16, 27 and 10 respectively


If I use the settings you use:
CPU speed: Medium
GPU speed: Medium(1600x900 rendering res, 8x AF, No fast scene AA)
GPU Memory: Ultra

Code:
- benchmark results -

Duration: 641.4 seconds (43989 frames)
 Average: 68.6 FPS (71.3 w/o peaks)
  Spikes: 2141.2 max, 1.4 min
Sections: AI=8%, physics=6%, sound=1%, scene=53%, shadows=28%, misc=3%
   Highs: 2695 in 21.6 seconds (125.0 FPS)
    Lows: 4315 in 101.2 seconds (42.6 FPS)
30-60 FPS: 28%
> 60 FPS: 71%
With 2.16 we get: 32, 58, 20
With 3.44 we get: 20, 36, 12

Now, as I mentioned earlier, the combined totals of your GPUs are not their actual in-game values, so I wouldn't be entirely surprised if you were facing something closer to 3.44 than 2.16

This doesn't mean you have a bad computer in any way, shape or form. It just means that you have a laptop, and even laptops with the best of the best available laptop parts, is still going to lose out to a midrage desktop PC.

Honestly I wouldn't worry.

In fact, doing this makes me think I should be running the game in 1600x900 instead of 1920x1080. But I do like me the pretty pretty graphics
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 02:23 PM   #6   Add To Ignore List  
Finzy Corp. CEO
 
Finzy's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Whatshisoffice
 
Finzy is offline
Default Re: Game using wrong GPU on a dual graphics system?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hektor View Post
This doesn't mean you have a bad computer in any way, shape or form. It just means that you have a laptop, and even laptops with the best of the best available laptop parts, is still going to lose out to a midrage desktop PC.
That's not the issue, the issue is that I'm seeing no real performance gain from having a more powerful PC than before. My old 4670 would likely get the same fps on those settings, since it got much more on Low/Med/High. In fact, once I get it back from warranty, I'm going to test it.

Also, I think the best available laptops would slaughter an average desktop pc. Laptops only have slower clocks, otherwise their performance is becoming more and more identical to desktops nowadays. The thinking that laptops aren't worth anything for gaming is outdated, you only have to pay more since you can't build them yourself.

Last edited by Finzy; 12-04-2011 at 02:27 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 04:16 PM   #7   Add To Ignore List  
Footballer Orc
 
Joined: Mar 2001
 
Hektor is offline
Default Re: Game using wrong GPU on a dual graphics system?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Finzy View Post
My old 4670 would likely get the same fps on those settings, since it got much more on Low/Med/High.
Is that an actual 4670 or a Mobility 4670? I ask because it makes a difference in performance.

The 4670 (desktop) has these specs:
Gpixels/second: 6
Gtextures/second: 24
Memory bandwidth: 28.8 - 35.2 GB/second(depending on the model).

This is better than the 6650M you have currently.

The Mobility 4670 has these specs:
Gpixels/second: 5.4
Gtextures/second: 21.6
Memory bandwidth: 12.8/25.6 GB/second (depending on the model).

And if you compare to the 6650M, you'll notice that these are actually better specs, apart from memory bandwidth, and you might not be hitting that bottleneck.

If the 6650+6620 combo isn't activated via Crossfire (and I seem to remember that CCC 11.11 disabled Crossfire for Serious Sam 3), the specs alone would suggest that you'd get similar performance, either slightly better or worse.

As to desktop vs laptop parts here's something worth considering:
AMD's fastest mobile GPU is the Radeon 6990M:
Gpixels/second: 22.88 (80% compared to my midrange desktop 6870)
Gtextures/second: 40.04 (80%)
Memory bandwidth: 115.2 GB/second (86%)

While I wouldn't be entirely surprised if you could get a dual 6990M Crossfire in a portable computer, it's barely batting an eye adding another 6870 or even using two 6950s to the desktop model.

The portable computer, however, will remain a lot easier to move from place to place.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 06:59 AM   #8   Add To Ignore List  
Finzy Corp. CEO
 
Finzy's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Whatshisoffice
 
Finzy is offline
Default Re: Game using wrong GPU on a dual graphics system?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hektor View Post
Is that an actual 4670 or a Mobility 4670? I ask because it makes a difference in performance.
Mobility obviously, I had a laptop before...

Quote:
midrange desktop 6870
I consider a 66xx to be midrange, 8xx and higher is high end. (That's how it goes in pricing also; 2xx-4xx low, 5xx-7xx med, 8xx-9xx high)

Quote:
And if you compare to the 6650M, you'll notice that these are actually better specs, apart from memory bandwidth, and you might not be hitting that bottleneck.
Notebookcheck comparisons:

http://www.notebookcheck.net/AMD-Rad...M.43962.0.html

http://www.notebookcheck.net/AMD-ATI...0.13881.0.html

The 6650M gets better scores in every benchmark, so it can't do worse at least. For instance in the probably most recent benchmark 3DMark Vantage, 6650M nets 4087 and 3619 pts (depending on physics) while the 4670M gets only 3062 and 2560. Although you'll notice similar scores across the board. You can't just directly compare clock speeds and fill rates and judge cards based on that. The 6650M also has way more stream processors if you want to get nitpicky (480 vs 320).

Plus you don't state your sources so I win.

Last edited by Finzy; 12-05-2011 at 07:21 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Student finds world's largest prime number GamerGoth Off Topic Forum 99 12-18-2003 08:09 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:02 PM.