Seriously!

Go Back   Seriously! Forums > Serious Sam Series > Serious Sam HD > Serious Sam HD Workshop

Serious Sam HD Workshop The official forum for Serious Sam: HD projects, be it maps, mods, or something else.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 01-17-2012, 11:32 AM   #31   Add To Ignore List  
Poops!
 
Pooper's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: Siriusopolis downtown, 13SS Beheaded St. 4th Floor
 
Pooper is offline Send a message via AIM to Pooper
Default Re: Random questions thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solais View Post
Yes, as Mischy just told me like a day ago.
My mind-reading apparatus is down at the shop for monthly maintenance. What did he tell you?
__________________
Castle of Doom........//////////
The Apollyon Cannon.//////////
Showcase || Maps Info || Castle Of Doom Music
Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something. - Plato
For when my days have come to an end, you shall be king. - King Terenas Menethil II
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 11:51 AM   #32   Add To Ignore List  
Developer Fairy
 
Solais's Avatar
 
Croteam Representative
Joined: Nov 2009
 
Solais is offline
Default Re: Random questions thread

Yes.
__________________
Since Old Lost Age I Shine

My Serious Sam 3/HD Workshop


While I do work for Croteam, I'm first of all of this community, so my opinions are my own and do not represent Croteam's views.
Unless when I use this nice blue color I totally didn't steal from Blizzard.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 12:48 PM   #33   Add To Ignore List  
Khnum
 
Mischievous's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: I'm a gamer, so in a metaphysical way,no where.
 
Mischievous is offline
Default Re: Random questions thread

Finzy: See if LUA can set the position of entities, then just move your zone controllers out of the way with a script to prevent them from overwriting the music.

Pooper: I'll let Solais have a bit more fun before telling you Also you can derive the answer from previous posts in this thread.
__________________
Secretly Blue
Mass Effect 3, It's kind of as if you had to pay extra to see Golum in the LOTR series.
Louva-Deus:"You were born with a longer tail that the rest of us"
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 01:19 PM   #34   Add To Ignore List  
Developer Fairy
 
Solais's Avatar
 
Croteam Representative
Joined: Nov 2009
 
Solais is offline
Default Re: Random questions thread

Pooper: as in, that was what he said, that yes, you can do that which you were asking for and that's why I replied to your question of "can it do that?" as "yes (it can), Mischy just told me (it can) a day ago".
__________________
Since Old Lost Age I Shine

My Serious Sam 3/HD Workshop


While I do work for Croteam, I'm first of all of this community, so my opinions are my own and do not represent Croteam's views.
Unless when I use this nice blue color I totally didn't steal from Blizzard.

Last edited by Solais; 01-17-2012 at 05:08 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 02:47 PM   #35   Add To Ignore List  
Witch Bride
 
ChrisW's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
 
ChrisW is offline
Default Re: Random questions thread

Can't you just force the music in the script and set all other music to none so there is no conflict?
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 05:02 PM   #36   Add To Ignore List  
Khnum
 
Mischievous's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: I'm a gamer, so in a metaphysical way,no where.
 
Mischievous is offline
Default Re: Random questions thread

I don't know if you can control Zone Controller's music. Can be easily checked though, but the ed takes a while to load for me.

Also Solais, isn't it " ...can do that which you were asking for... " instead of what ?
__________________
Secretly Blue
Mass Effect 3, It's kind of as if you had to pay extra to see Golum in the LOTR series.
Louva-Deus:"You were born with a longer tail that the rest of us"
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 05:08 PM   #37   Add To Ignore List  
Developer Fairy
 
Solais's Avatar
 
Croteam Representative
Joined: Nov 2009
 
Solais is offline
Default Re: Random questions thread

What are you talking about?
__________________
Since Old Lost Age I Shine

My Serious Sam 3/HD Workshop


While I do work for Croteam, I'm first of all of this community, so my opinions are my own and do not represent Croteam's views.
Unless when I use this nice blue color I totally didn't steal from Blizzard.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 06:04 PM   #38   Add To Ignore List  
Witch Bride
 
ChrisW's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
 
ChrisW is offline
Default Re: Random questions thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mischievous View Post
I don't know if you can control Zone Controller's music. Can be easily checked though, but the ed takes a while to load for me.
I don't mean changing the zone controller sound. I mean can't you just set all the sounds in the world info and zone controllers to nothing and only force the music in the script (worldInfo:ForceMusic)? For instance, I can change the war music manually in the kamikaze over the hill script like this:
Code:
      -- sound : CBaseSound
      local sound
      sound=worldInfo:LoadResource("Content/SeriousSam3/Music/War02.ogg")
      worldInfo:ForceMusic("War",sound)
EDIT: I actually think you found a bug. If you have both ambient and exploration sounds set and you force the exploration sounds, both are played at the same time. You don't need a zone controller either. I also noticed you can't seem to be able to force fight music.

Last edited by ChrisW; 01-17-2012 at 06:49 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 06:53 PM   #39   Add To Ignore List  
Khnum
 
Mischievous's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: I'm a gamer, so in a metaphysical way,no where.
 
Mischievous is offline
Default Re: Random questions thread

Ah, another cool usage for the LoadResource function I usually set my musics manually via the script vars. I don't know which way is better. Though loaded resources don't get detected by the auto gro function.

Anyhow, I don't get it, you say that you don't want to change the zone controller's sound, rather every sound? That would still require changing the zone controller's sound and setting it to nothing, and for that I don't know if there are functions implemented yet.

Edit: Just checked. There are no LUA functions to change the zone controller's music in any way.

Edit to ChrisW's Edit: You can force Fight music, I did it all the time for my last map. For the other bugs I'll check too.

Edit: You are correct. You can get both Ambient and Exploration musics to play at the same time if you force one.
__________________
Secretly Blue
Mass Effect 3, It's kind of as if you had to pay extra to see Golum in the LOTR series.
Louva-Deus:"You were born with a longer tail that the rest of us"

Last edited by Mischievous; 01-17-2012 at 07:04 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 07:36 PM   #40   Add To Ignore List  
Poops!
 
Pooper's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: Siriusopolis downtown, 13SS Beheaded St. 4th Floor
 
Pooper is offline Send a message via AIM to Pooper
Default Re: Random questions thread

Is there anything special I need to do to load custom music into the level?

I get this error message:

Code:
 'Content/XXXX.mp3' isn't signed with sufficient credentials (EDITOR)
 Stream is signed with insufficient credentials. (Content/XXXX.mp3)
Where XXXX is the path and filename (not in /Serious Sam 3/, but in a custom folder)
__________________
Castle of Doom........//////////
The Apollyon Cannon.//////////
Showcase || Maps Info || Castle Of Doom Music
Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something. - Plato
For when my days have come to an end, you shall be king. - King Terenas Menethil II
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 07:44 PM   #41   Add To Ignore List  
Developer Fairy
 
Solais's Avatar
 
Croteam Representative
Joined: Nov 2009
 
Solais is offline
Default Re: Random questions thread

The game only accepts .OGG sound files as music.
__________________
Since Old Lost Age I Shine

My Serious Sam 3/HD Workshop


While I do work for Croteam, I'm first of all of this community, so my opinions are my own and do not represent Croteam's views.
Unless when I use this nice blue color I totally didn't steal from Blizzard.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 07:46 PM   #42   Add To Ignore List  
Kleer
 
kamakaze 10's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2012
 
kamakaze 10 is offline
Talking Re: Random questions thread

alright thanks!! this will be very good for my levels thank u for the help
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 12:31 PM   #43   Add To Ignore List  
Finzy Corp. CEO
 
Finzy's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Whatshisoffice
 
Finzy is offline
Default Re: Random questions thread

I just want to force the game to play the music I want for a specific fight, overriding anything else that may be set (e.g zone controller / world info music).

But I guess I'll scrap the idea as there's no way to do it for now if I also want to use zone controllers...
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 12:49 PM   #44   Add To Ignore List  
Developer Fairy
 
Solais's Avatar
 
Croteam Representative
Joined: Nov 2009
 
Solais is offline
Default Re: Random questions thread

Well, if Croteam did it with the Kamikaze fight on the first level, it must be possible to be done.
__________________
Since Old Lost Age I Shine

My Serious Sam 3/HD Workshop


While I do work for Croteam, I'm first of all of this community, so my opinions are my own and do not represent Croteam's views.
Unless when I use this nice blue color I totally didn't steal from Blizzard.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 01:42 PM   #45   Add To Ignore List  
Finzy Corp. CEO
 
Finzy's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Whatshisoffice
 
Finzy is offline
Default Re: Random questions thread

I don't think it had a zone controller in place in that area. Of course it works without a zone controller and I know how to do it, but I have to use zone controllers because otherwise zone controllers override worldinfo music, as in play over it. (Man typing that gives a headache )
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 02:20 PM   #46   Add To Ignore List  
Developer Fairy
 
Solais's Avatar
 
Croteam Representative
Joined: Nov 2009
 
Solais is offline
Default Re: Random questions thread

I guess the level uses zone controllers and script forced music, but not worldinfo music.
__________________
Since Old Lost Age I Shine

My Serious Sam 3/HD Workshop


While I do work for Croteam, I'm first of all of this community, so my opinions are my own and do not represent Croteam's views.
Unless when I use this nice blue color I totally didn't steal from Blizzard.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 09:52 PM   #47   Add To Ignore List  
Kleer
 
kamakaze 10's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2012
 
kamakaze 10 is offline
Question Re: Random questions thread

how do you download the serious sam hd enemy variation pack and were do u save it to??
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 10:39 AM   #48   Add To Ignore List  
Khnum
 
Mischievous's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: I'm a gamer, so in a metaphysical way,no where.
 
Mischievous is offline
Default Re: Random questions thread

Didn't I answer that question already ?

Edit: I did answer.
__________________
Secretly Blue
Mass Effect 3, It's kind of as if you had to pay extra to see Golum in the LOTR series.
Louva-Deus:"You were born with a longer tail that the rest of us"
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 10:52 PM   #49   Add To Ignore List  
Kleer
 
kamakaze 10's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2012
 
kamakaze 10 is offline
Question Re: Random questions thread

yes, for serious sam 3 is it the same for hd?
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 11:17 PM   #50   Add To Ignore List  
Kleer
 
kamakaze 10's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2012
 
kamakaze 10 is offline
Exclamation Re: Random questions thread

i tried downloading it like u said ( for hd) but it wont let me select the params and behavior even though it shows up im feeling frustrated really want those enemies
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 11:29 PM   #51   Add To Ignore List  
Khnum
 
Mischievous's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: I'm a gamer, so in a metaphysical way,no where.
 
Mischievous is offline
Default Re: Random questions thread

Did you download the correct one ? Are you using the proper puppet entity ?
__________________
Secretly Blue
Mass Effect 3, It's kind of as if you had to pay extra to see Golum in the LOTR series.
Louva-Deus:"You were born with a longer tail that the rest of us"
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 07:30 PM   #52   Add To Ignore List  
Kleer
 
kamakaze 10's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2012
 
kamakaze 10 is offline
Question Re: Random questions thread

i downloaded it how u said but i have to go to user data / content/ seriousam hd editor/ databases but it doesnt let it go on screen im confused
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 07:21 AM   #53   Add To Ignore List  
Finzy Corp. CEO
 
Finzy's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Whatshisoffice
 
Finzy is offline
Default Re: Random questions thread

I tried the "zone controllers only" solution. And it sucks. Everytime a fight ends, it restarts the exploration music track instead of continuing where it left off (as worldinfo exploration music would). Probably because of the lack of ambient music. But if I add ambient music it plays two tracks over one. (Wtf is ambient music meant for anyway?)

So I think once again I'll use an unorthodox solution and use detector areas and Lua to change the music. Hope that works at least...
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 07:29 AM   #54   Add To Ignore List  
Khnum
 
Mischievous's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: I'm a gamer, so in a metaphysical way,no where.
 
Mischievous is offline
Default Re: Random questions thread

That's not unorthodox, CT does it all the time in the last level
__________________
Secretly Blue
Mass Effect 3, It's kind of as if you had to pay extra to see Golum in the LOTR series.
Louva-Deus:"You were born with a longer tail that the rest of us"
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 07:31 AM   #55   Add To Ignore List  
Finzy Corp. CEO
 
Finzy's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Whatshisoffice
 
Finzy is offline
Default Re: Random questions thread

Yeah but the obvious solutions should work, there should be no need to spend hours figuring such simple stuff out and reinvent the wheel so to speak.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 10:27 AM   #56   Add To Ignore List  
Finzy Corp. CEO
 
Finzy's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Whatshisoffice
 
Finzy is offline
Default Re: Random questions thread

Ok, how do I get the last spawned puppet via Lua and make it despawn? I tried the obvious script and it didn't work: ()

Code:
CloudSpawnee=CloudStrife:GetLastSpawned()
CloudSpawnee:Despawn()
Gives an error that I need to use a local variable or some global variable CloudSpawnee instead, but wtf does that mean?
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 01:51 PM   #57   Add To Ignore List  
Kleer
 
xanaThaR's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
 
xanaThaR is offline
Default Re: Random questions thread

Always put a 'local' where you define new variables in your script:

Code:
local CloudSpawnee=CloudStrife:GetLastSpawned()
CloudSpawnee:Despawn()
This should work, but will give a warning message in the console telling you that GetLastSpawned() is deprecated.
The right way would be to do is like this:

Code:
local CloudSpawneeEvent = Wait(Event(Cloudstrife.SpawneeAvailible))
local CloudSpawnee = CloudSpawnee:GetSpawnedEntity()
CloudSpawnee:Despawn()
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 06:01 PM   #58   Add To Ignore List  
Finzy Corp. CEO
 
Finzy's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Whatshisoffice
 
Finzy is offline
Default Re: Random questions thread

Okay, thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 04:16 PM   #59   Add To Ignore List  
Kleer
 
kamakaze 10's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2012
 
kamakaze 10 is offline
Default Re: Random questions thread

how do you save levels that you have made to the actual game or moddable version?
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 05:19 PM   #60   Add To Ignore List  
Khnum
 
Mischievous's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: I'm a gamer, so in a metaphysical way,no where.
 
Mischievous is offline
Default Re: Random questions thread

You mean to make the game show them up in it's levels selection menu?
You need to make some info files for it.
Save your level in the "~Content\SeriousSam3\Levels\'your episode name can be anything'\ "
Then you need to add a .nfo file in the same directory and the exact same name as your level, I.E if your level is called "MySpawn.wld" the info file should be called "MySpawn.nfo"
You can simply make a new file from Notepad, and then rename it from ".txt" to ".nfo"
Here are the contents of a basic .nfo file.
Code:
LEVEL
GAME_MODES="SinglePlayer; CooperativeStandard; Cooperative; CooperativeCoinOp; BeastHunt; TeamBeastHunt;"
LOCKED="No"
LOADING_SCREEN="Content/SeriousSam3/Textures/LoadingScreens/Default.tex"
NAME="TTRS:0_02_CairoMuseum.Name=Into the Spider's Nest"
THUMBNAIL="Content/SeriousSam3/Levels/Egypt/02_CairoMuseum/02_CairoMuseum_thumbnail.tex"
ETA="00:05:00"
TIMEBONUSMUL="1"
DLCID="SeriousSam3";


This is the .nfo file for the Museum level.
"GAME_MODES" defines for what game modes your level will be displayed. The available modes are;
SinglePlayer; CooperativeStandard; Cooperative; CooperativeCoinOp; BeastHunt; TeamBeastHunt; Deathmatch; LastManStanding; LastTeamStanding; MyBurden; TeamDeathmatch; InstantKill; Survival; TeamSurvival;
"LOADING_SCREEN" seems to be obsolete as of Serious Sam 3
"NAME" , "0_02_CairoMuseum" is the real .wld level name, "=Into the Spider's Nest" Is the level name displayed in the SS3 game menu.
"THUMBNAIL" This is the icon displayed at the SS3 game menu.
"ETA" the level time bonus

The second .nfo file you need to make is for your episode.
Save that info file in the
"~Content\SeriousSam3\Levels\" folder, and name it like you named your episode folder.

It should contain;
Code:
EPISODE
NAME="TTRS:Episode.Name.BFE=BFE"
THUMBNAIL="Content/SeriousSam3/Levels/01_BFE_thumbnail.tex"
It's pretty much the same thing as above.

Hope that helps.
__________________
Secretly Blue
Mass Effect 3, It's kind of as if you had to pay extra to see Golum in the LOTR series.
Louva-Deus:"You were born with a longer tail that the rest of us"

Last edited by Mischievous; 01-30-2012 at 05:22 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Random game talk AntonioR Game Talk 3988 11-07-2017 08:16 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:58 PM.