Seriously!

Go Back   Seriously! Forums > Serious Sam Series > Serious Sam HD > Serious Sam HD Workshop

Serious Sam HD Workshop The official forum for Serious Sam: HD projects, be it maps, mods, or something else.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 10-20-2014, 06:13 PM   #601   Add To Ignore List  
Developer Fairy
 
Solais's Avatar
 
Croteam Representative
Joined: Nov 2009
 
Solais is offline
Default Re: Random questions thread

I think that it's all about how the specific allegiances handle foe targeting. Since players are friendly with each other, their projectiles would never think of the other as an enemy.
__________________
Since Old Lost Age I Shine

My Serious Sam 3/HD Workshop


While I do work for Croteam, I'm first of all of this community, so my opinions are my own and do not represent Croteam's views.
Unless when I use this nice blue color I totally didn't steal from Blizzard.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 06:17 PM   #602   Add To Ignore List  
Pan
Silver Lined Boots
 
Pan's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Looking for Snake
 
Pan is offline
Default Re: Random questions thread

Damn it. Maybe I could try changing the players class puppet in DM... I wonder if that'd have weird effects.

WHO KNOWS~ TIME TO EXPERIMENT!
__________________
"Don't you have to be told to do things to be considered a slave?"
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2014, 06:15 AM   #603   Add To Ignore List  
Finzy Corp. CEO
 
Finzy's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Whatshisoffice
 
Finzy is offline
Default Re: Random questions thread

Maybe you can classify players as enemies with a script somehow?
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2014, 03:26 PM   #604   Add To Ignore List  
Pan
Silver Lined Boots
 
Pan's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Looking for Snake
 
Pan is offline
Default Re: Random questions thread

It doesn't seem possible to make this a reality. Depressing.
__________________
"Don't you have to be told to do things to be considered a slave?"
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2014, 01:15 AM   #605   Add To Ignore List  
Finzy Corp. CEO
 
Finzy's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Whatshisoffice
 
Finzy is offline
Default Re: Random questions thread

BEND REALITY
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2014, 02:20 AM   #606   Add To Ignore List  
Oh Long Johnson
 
noam2000's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2012
 
noam2000 is offline
Default Re: Random questions thread

YouTube Video: IVE TRIED SO HARD
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2014, 10:46 AM   #607   Add To Ignore List  
Black Star
 
Devostator's Avatar
 
Seriously! Creative Moderator
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: Germany
 
Devostator is offline
Default Re: Random questions thread

Seems like I gonna have to do something different with the custom crumbs, maybe there is a way around it for me, to me this is a big issue though so it would be good if it will be fixed
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2014, 09:21 PM   #608   Add To Ignore List  
Night Sparrow
 
Ryason55's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
 
Ryason55 is offline
Default Re: Random questions thread

Have you tried replacing the crumbs on official maps to make sure the problem is actually the model? I did some testing on Slumoner, and the models I tried showed up correctly. For reference, I tried the Sam, David statue, and Cannonball ammo models, and they all worked perfectly... besides being inexplicably semi-transparent.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2014, 04:23 PM   #609   Add To Ignore List  
Finzy Corp. CEO
 
Finzy's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Whatshisoffice
 
Finzy is offline
Default Re: Random questions thread

Well I wonder what the magic settings to make it work then are, if Croteam crumbs work for them. I tried fiddling for ages with my own crumbs and couldn't find any way to get them to show up (only Croteam grass models ever worked).
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2014, 05:25 PM   #610   Add To Ignore List  
Black Star
 
Devostator's Avatar
 
Seriously! Creative Moderator
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: Germany
 
Devostator is offline
Default Re: Random questions thread

Same for me
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2014, 09:21 AM   #611   Add To Ignore List  
Black Star
 
Devostator's Avatar
 
Seriously! Creative Moderator
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: Germany
 
Devostator is offline
Default Re: Random questions thread

So well, atleast I got something decent with what I did.

@Ryason nah, it didn't even work for a custom map I did once where you could even add trees as crumbs before, now even that doesn't work
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2014, 03:59 PM   #612   Add To Ignore List  
Black Star
 
Devostator's Avatar
 
Seriously! Creative Moderator
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: Germany
 
Devostator is offline
Default Re: Random questions thread

How to make a projectile fall straight down? I mean just down without going into your direction or getting thrown a bit, it should just fall down straight from the attachment
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2014, 04:43 PM   #613   Add To Ignore List  
Oh Long Johnson
 
noam2000's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2012
 
noam2000 is offline
Default Re: Random questions thread

TRIPLE POST

Also im not sure what do you mean. why would you want a projectile to just fall down? you mean like the moment its fired it falls straight down,or at some point it reaches?
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2014, 06:53 PM   #614   Add To Ignore List  
Black Star
 
Devostator's Avatar
 
Seriously! Creative Moderator
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: Germany
 
Devostator is offline
Default Re: Random questions thread

The moment it is fired
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2014, 05:47 AM   #615   Add To Ignore List  
Pan
Silver Lined Boots
 
Pan's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Looking for Snake
 
Pan is offline
Default Re: Random questions thread

Kinda like the dropshot from Metal Slug.
__________________
"Don't you have to be told to do things to be considered a slave?"
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2014, 06:17 AM   #616   Add To Ignore List  
Black Star
 
Devostator's Avatar
 
Seriously! Creative Moderator
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: Germany
 
Devostator is offline
Default Re: Random questions thread

Yeah, kinda similiar
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2014, 05:35 PM   #617   Add To Ignore List  
Black Star
 
Devostator's Avatar
 
Seriously! Creative Moderator
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: Germany
 
Devostator is offline
Default Re: Random questions thread

So I think I might have found out why custom crumbs don't work from time to time, I just tested on a map that I baked first, after I added trees, khnums etc and they worked, hope the actual fix for this is to bake it, might also be just random
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2014, 05:41 PM   #618   Add To Ignore List  
Pan
Silver Lined Boots
 
Pan's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Looking for Snake
 
Pan is offline
Default Re: Random questions thread

Wait, you didn't bake it? I thought that was a vital step every time. XD
__________________
"Don't you have to be told to do things to be considered a slave?"
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2014, 06:05 PM   #619   Add To Ignore List  
Black Star
 
Devostator's Avatar
 
Seriously! Creative Moderator
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: Germany
 
Devostator is offline
Default Re: Random questions thread

Well, it depends on what you wanna do
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2014, 06:08 PM   #620   Add To Ignore List  
Developer Fairy
 
Solais's Avatar
 
Croteam Representative
Joined: Nov 2009
 
Solais is offline
Default Re: Random questions thread

Actually, when it comes to crumbs you MUST always bake it, it shouldn't work without that.
__________________
Since Old Lost Age I Shine

My Serious Sam 3/HD Workshop


While I do work for Croteam, I'm first of all of this community, so my opinions are my own and do not represent Croteam's views.
Unless when I use this nice blue color I totally didn't steal from Blizzard.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2014, 06:24 PM   #621   Add To Ignore List  
Black Star
 
Devostator's Avatar
 
Seriously! Creative Moderator
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: Germany
 
Devostator is offline
Default Re: Random questions thread

Wait, I guess you guys mean the Shift+B baking? Ofc I know about that one

What I meant is baking the whole map, they seemed to always work on a map I baked and today it worked again after I baked the map

Last edited by Devostator; 11-02-2014 at 06:26 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2014, 07:12 PM   #622   Add To Ignore List  
Developer Fairy
 
Solais's Avatar
 
Croteam Representative
Joined: Nov 2009
 
Solais is offline
Default Re: Random questions thread

As in, baking the crumbs. If you look at the baking menu on the right, there's "Bake Crumbs". You have to use that.
__________________
Since Old Lost Age I Shine

My Serious Sam 3/HD Workshop


While I do work for Croteam, I'm first of all of this community, so my opinions are my own and do not represent Croteam's views.
Unless when I use this nice blue color I totally didn't steal from Blizzard.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2014, 04:20 AM   #623   Add To Ignore List  
Finzy Corp. CEO
 
Finzy's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Whatshisoffice
 
Finzy is offline
Default Re: Random questions thread

It bakes ss3 crumbs but not custom ones for me. Unless shift + b baking is somehow different than bake crumbs. Thought it would do the same thing
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2014, 02:49 AM   #624   Add To Ignore List  
Lurker
 
Dankzaii's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2011
Location: Isengard
 
Dankzaii is offline
Default Re: Random questions thread

Its quite complicated what I'm going to ask but I want to know if its possible.

Here's what I want to do, after a certain time, I want my map to change between backgrounds (eg it changes from backgroundX to backgroundY) after a certain amount of time, note that one of the background will be sunny and the other will be stormy, so I also want to disable the distant light and probably also disable the probe light.

But what I want is that, lets say, 5 seconds before BackgroundX changes to BackgroundY, the screen gets covered in a white light that slowly starts covering the screen, and when it fades away, BackgroundX has changed to BackgroundY (just like it happens in Hatshepsut or The Grand Cathedral).

How can I do this in SS3?
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2014, 02:53 AM   #625   Add To Ignore List  
Oh Long Johnson
 
noam2000's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2012
 
noam2000 is offline
Default Re: Random questions thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dankzaii View Post
Its quite complicated what I'm going to ask but I want to know if its possible.

Here's what I want to do, after a certain time, I want my map to change between backgrounds (eg it changes from backgroundX to backgroundY) after a certain amount of time, note that one of the background will be sunny and the other will be stormy, so I also want to disable the distant light and probably also disable the probe light.

But what I want is that, lets say, 5 seconds before BackgroundX changes to BackgroundY, the screen gets covered in a white light that slowly starts covering the screen, and when it fades away, BackgroundX has changed to BackgroundY (just like it happens in Hatshepsut or The Grand Cathedral).

How can I do this in SS3?
Hmm,background changing im not sure if possible. check if maybe you can move backgrounds using animated movers? i dont really know.

Disabling distant light im pretty sure is impossible in any way,so my best thing to tell you is just duplicate the area away from the first distant light,make a new distant light and probe light there,and teleport the player there.

The white light screen cover is defintely possible,i remember Csaba made it in his "Fatum's World" map. check it out.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2014, 03:33 AM   #626   Add To Ignore List  
Black Star
 
Devostator's Avatar
 
Seriously! Creative Moderator
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: Germany
 
Devostator is offline
Default Re: Random questions thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dankzaii View Post
Its quite complicated what I'm going to ask but I want to know if its possible.

Here's what I want to do, after a certain time, I want my map to change between backgrounds (eg it changes from backgroundX to backgroundY) after a certain amount of time, note that one of the background will be sunny and the other will be stormy, so I also want to disable the distant light and probably also disable the probe light.

But what I want is that, lets say, 5 seconds before BackgroundX changes to BackgroundY, the screen gets covered in a white light that slowly starts covering the screen, and when it fades away, BackgroundX has changed to BackgroundY (just like it happens in Hatshepsut or The Grand Cathedral).

How can I do this in SS3?
I did something similiar in my map "Bhava-Agra", maybe check that out if possible. (It's the official way as far as I know, Copied it from "The Dark Bride")
About that white fading, Csaba definitely knows how to do that, I just used a white fog for that with an animated mover and I definitely know this is not the true way to do that.

Last edited by Devostator; 11-11-2014 at 03:35 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2014, 08:01 AM   #627   Add To Ignore List  
Pan
Silver Lined Boots
 
Pan's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Looking for Snake
 
Pan is offline
Default Re: Random questions thread

Why not try this?
- Create a cube/sphere model
- Make its textures a sky texture
- Put it in a cube background entity
- Make another model but use the other sky
- Change the cubes around in the cube background with an animated mover when you want to change
__________________
"Don't you have to be told to do things to be considered a slave?"
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2014, 09:20 AM   #628   Add To Ignore List  
Developer Fairy
 
Solais's Avatar
 
Croteam Representative
Joined: Nov 2009
 
Solais is offline
Default Re: Random questions thread

Background:Activate()

(Yes, that's it. )


Besides that, you'll need AnimatedMovers. You have to set up an animation in them using the Animation Editor, then parent the Probe Light and the Distant Light to the AnimatedMover. With that, you can move them away.

Alternatively, you can also use an Ambient Light Modulator, which also needs a so-called "Animator" entity, to make the level darker or brighter. Look at SSHD Hatshepsut how it works, for example.

You can also use the animator to animate a PostProcessingEffect entity. With the "Lightness adjust" and "RGB" setting of that entity, you can make the whole screen turn into white and back, using an animator.
__________________
Since Old Lost Age I Shine

My Serious Sam 3/HD Workshop


While I do work for Croteam, I'm first of all of this community, so my opinions are my own and do not represent Croteam's views.
Unless when I use this nice blue color I totally didn't steal from Blizzard.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2014, 02:47 AM   #629   Add To Ignore List  
Lurker
 
Dankzaii's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2011
Location: Isengard
 
Dankzaii is offline
Default Re: Random questions thread

That is neat

Thanks guys!

I'm like totally not trying to remake Lake Bresha or something with a super hardcore mode that requires a background, no siree bob
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2014, 04:23 AM   #630   Add To Ignore List  
Pan
Silver Lined Boots
 
Pan's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Looking for Snake
 
Pan is offline
Default Re: Random questions thread

Oh okay then what ARE you working on?
__________________
"Don't you have to be told to do things to be considered a slave?"
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Random game talk AntonioR Game Talk 3974 10-20-2017 09:27 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:25 AM.