Seriously!

Go Back   Seriously! Forums > Serious Sam Series > Serious Sam Classic > Serious Sam Classic Workshop > Serious Editor

Serious Editor Discuss mapping ideas & problems or show tutorials and maps.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-14-2002, 01:53 AM   #1   Add To Ignore List  
Khnum
 
Joined: Mar 2001
 
Michael Harris is offline
Default Tutorial/FAQ: How To Make A World Playable In Serious

(the following is the text from a forthcoming tutorial that discusses how to make a custom world playable from within Serious......)



Hello Serious WLD
(making a minimal Serious world that can be selected and played from within the Serious game itself)



Intro

When teaching or learning a programming language, the creation of a minimal "Hello world" program (which simply runs, displays or prints a "Hello world" message and quits) is often employed, as a means of demonstrating and providing familiarity with the basic steps and tools needed to get a program created and working. This provides the foundation upon which subsequent lessons and exercises in programming can build.

This tutorial is intended to do the same for someone wishing to learn to create worlds (.WLD files, commonly referred to as maps or levels) in Serious Sam. It discusses how to prepare Serious for editing, create a minimal world and make that world available for play in the game itself. Creation of more than minimal worlds is left as an exercise for the student (see references to tutorials on this, at the end of this document).

NOTE:
Serious Sam: First Encounter is normally located in
C:\Program Files\Croteam\Serious Sam
Serious Sam: Second Encounter is normally located in
C:\Program Files\Croteam\Serious Sam - The Second Encounter

First Encounter's location will be employed in this document. Substitute Second Encounter's location if you are working with it.



Preparing Serious For Editing (first time only)


First, we need the tools (editor and modeler).
If installing Serious from scratch, when the installation autostarts (or when you manually run setup.exe from the Serious CD-ROM), select "Install"…. then a bit later in the process, select "4 - Full installation" (rather than "3 - Typical).
If Serious is already installed, but you did only a "3 - Typical" install, manually run setup.exe from the Serious CD-ROM, select "Install", then "Modify", then make sure the "Serious Tools" box is checked and proceed.


Second, we need the entities, textures, sounds, etc., which are normally left in compressed .GRO files, available in uncompressed form for use in the editor. .GRO files are .ZIP files, that have been renamed to .GRO, that contain virtual directories of materials used by the game. Those materials are equally useable by the game whether located within the .GRO files (which the game knows how to read) or uncompressed and distributed throughout the C:\Program Files\Croteam\Serious Sam subdirectories (as they must be in order to be useable in the editor).

Locate the .GRO files in the C:\Program Files\Croteam\Serious Sam directory and rename (or copy) them (change their file types) to .ZIP. (1_00.GRO becomes 1_00.ZIP, 1_00_ExtraTools.GRO becomes 1_00_ExtraTools.ZIP, 1_00_music.GRO becomes 1_00_music.ZIP.) Do this also for any patch related .GRO files that are present.

Note: If disk space is tight, you might consider not doing this to the 1_00_music.GRO file, as you won't immediately have a need for its contents while learning some of the basics of editing.

Using WinZip (or your favorite robust Zip utility (WinRAR comes highly recommended)), with the "use folder names" option selected, extract the contents of each of those .ZIP files to the C:\Program Files\Croteam\Serious Sam directory and subdirectories. (Using WinZip, I accomplish this by double clicking on a .ZIP file to open it up, doing Action | Select All to select all of the contents, then doing Action | Extract, making sure that "use folder names" option is selected (checked), making sure that C:\Program Files\Croteam\Serious Sam is specified as the "extract to" directory and then clicking Extract.)

Note: The "use folder names" option (or equivalent in your favorite robust Zip utility) assures that the contents of the .GRO/.ZIP file get extracted into the appropriate subdirectories.

If disk space is tight, you may wish to delete these .ZIP files, now that you have their contents extracted and available for use in the editor.



Creating A Minimal Serious World

Start the Serious Editor, from the Windows Start menu, by selecting Start | Programs | Serious Sam | Extras | Serious Editor. Depending on the speed of your PC, it may take a while to load.

When Serious Editor is loaded, it will appear much as any other Windows application appears when first loaded……. a menu, toolbars, empty views, status bar, etc.

Start a new world, by doing File | New. You will be presented with four views: perspective (upper right hand corner), right (lower right hand corner), front (lower left hand corner), top (upper left hand corner).

Establish the new world's file name, via File | Save As …… and save it as HelloSeriousWorld.wld in the C:\Program Files\Croteam\Serious Sam\Worlds subdirectory.

At this point, the new world is potentially either all solid or all empty, depending upon the first primitive you apply to it. Generally, that first primitive should be a very large cube (conus) "room" that carves out sufficient outdoor space to hold the entire world that you will be creating. The room's floor will serve as the ground. The room's walls and ceiling will eventually be assigned a polygon property of "portal" and used with a background (skybox) to display the sky.

Carve this very large "room" by clicking the Create Conus Primitive button , clicking the Primitives tab in the Tools info window, setting width length and height (W L H) all to 1024 and checking (clicking) the "Room" box, then clicking the Position tab in the Tools info window and setting X Y and Z all to 0, then clicking the Add button .

Add a temporary work light to the world by clicking on the Virtual Tree, double clicking on Basic Entities, dragging and dropping a Light into the world, hitting "Q" to bring up its Tools info, clicking the Position tab, settings X to 0, Y to 512 and Z to 0, closing the Tools info window, then clicking the Light's drop down property list (upper left hand corner or screen), selecting and setting Fall-off to 1024, selecting and setting Hot-spot to 1024, selecting and setting Type to Ambient and selecting and setting Name to "Temporary work light". Note that this light's range and ambient type will result in it lighting everything in the world, whether outdoors or indoors……which is useful for early stages of construction…..but which you will eventually need to remove or change, once you start working on properly lighting your level.

Drag and drop a PlayerMarker from the Virtual Tree into the world. Hit "Q" to bring up its Tools info, click the Position tab, set X Y and Z all to 0.

To try out the world that you have just created, hit "T" and the world will load and run in the perspective view. Not a lot to see, but you can move around and fire. Hit the Esc key to exit testing and return to editing.



Let's prepare the world so that it can be played from within the Serious game itself.

Click the World Settings (globe) button. Type "Hello Serious World" into the Level name field, click the E N H X S C D spawn flag check boxes and click OK. Those letters stand for Easy, Normal, Hard, extreme (Serious), SinglePlayer, Coop, Deathmatch.

Create/save the thumbnail image file (.tbn) via File | Save Thumbnail.

Save the world file (.wld), via File | Save.

Exit the editor.

Using My Computer or Windows Explorer, go to the C:\Program Files\Croteam\Serious Sam\Worlds subdirectory.

Create an identically named "visited" file (.vis), named HelloSeriousWorld.vis

(This is the mechanism that Serious uses to determine what levels can be seen This can be done by copying some other small file to that name or by creating a file of that name as an empty text file. The .vis file's presence is important, its contents are not.

Select the three HelloSeriousWorld files (.wld, .tbn, .vis). Copy them. Move to the C:\Program Files\Croteam\Serious Sam\Levels subdirectory (or better yet, to some existing or new subdirectory within the Levels subdirectory) and paste the files there.



Play The World In The Game

Start Serious Sam.

Start the custom world that we have just created via Single Player | Custom Level and selecting HelloSeriousWorld.




Yeah, But I Need To Know A Lot More About Editing Serious Worlds!

Remember, this tutorial's purpose was just to provide you the minimum necessary for you to be able to create and save a Serious world that can be played from within the Serious game itself.

Check out the Basic Mapping Tutorial tutorial on Serious Editing (www.massassi.net/serious) and the room building tutorial in the Serious Editor's own help. Mapping forums and additional tutorials are available on Seriously! (www.planetserious.com) and Serious Editing (www.massassi.net/serious).
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2005, 10:07 PM   #2   Add To Ignore List  
Kleer
 
leedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: heartland s.e. MO.
 
leedee is offline
Question where to find the gro files

Hello. I'm new to the forums. I play ss gold everyday for about 3 yrs. now finally decided to try to make a fe sp map. When I doulble click on the ss folder do i use the gro files that are present there or do i have to go thru all the folders like bin, controls, data etc. my next question is i am using windows (me) which has a compression utility which say's it will provide a folder that i can drag files into and then use another tool called an extraction wizard to extract them where i want will this work or will i still have to rename the files? Thanks leedee
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2005, 06:37 AM   #3   Add To Ignore List  
Razardous
 
The Serious Spoon's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: The Netherlands
 
The Serious Spoon is offline Send a message via ICQ to The Serious Spoon
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by leedee
Hello. I'm new to the forums. I play ss gold everyday for about 3 yrs. now finally decided to try to make a fe sp map. When I doulble click on the ss folder do i use the gro files that are present there or do i have to go thru all the folders like bin, controls, data etc. my next question is i am using windows (me) which has a compression utility which say's it will provide a folder that i can drag files into and then use another tool called an extraction wizard to extract them where i want will this work or will i still have to rename the files? Thanks leedee
Welcome to the forums! The answer to your first question is: No. All the GRO's you need are in your main ss folder. About your second question, I don't entirely understand what your saying but I think you want to know if it's necessary to rename the files to a .zip extension. Again, no. You can just tell Windows to open .gro files with your favourite zip program.
__________________
Facebook | Last.fm | Twitter | DeviantArt

"And yet be reminded by the Gods that though cooperation is a friendly pursuit, friendly fire is righteous in its purging of the vile and corrupt. Let ye not be deserving of its wrath for the hoarding of power-ups."
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2005, 10:16 AM   #4   Add To Ignore List  
λ
 
Shrinker's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2001
Location: Germany
 
Shrinker is offline Send a message via ICQ to Shrinker Send a message via AIM to Shrinker Send a message via MSN to Shrinker
Default

And please do not bump 3year old threads in future, thanks.
__________________
Homepage | Twitter
 The Beautiful Nature
  Lights | Echoes
   Arrival Mix | Tree of Life

  Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2005, 01:49 PM   #5   Add To Ignore List  
T-Mech
 
Kakaroto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Lithuania
 
Kakaroto is offline
Lightbulb

But where is the button add, virtual tree?
Write it clear, visible
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2005, 02:22 PM   #6   Add To Ignore List  
blahblahblah
 
--Fragman--'s Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: In an inexistant City
 
--Fragman-- is offline Send a message via ICQ to --Fragman-- Send a message via AIM to --Fragman-- Send a message via MSN to --Fragman--
Default

right click in virtual tree.
__________________
City War City War 2 Rats Rats BTBA
--------------------------
Bomberman SS:XBOX

--------------------------
My Page!
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2005, 12:25 PM   #7   Add To Ignore List  
T-Mech
 
Kakaroto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Lithuania
 
Kakaroto is offline
Default

But you write:
1.Carve this very large "room" by clicking the Create Conus Primitive button , clicking the Primitives tab in the Tools info window, setting width length and height (W L H) all to 1024 and checking (clicking) the "Room" box, then clicking the Position tab in the Tools info window and setting X Y and Z all to 0, then clicking the Add button . (Where is the add button???)
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2005, 12:44 PM   #8   Add To Ignore List  
PETN
 
Grimmjaw's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Finland
 
Grimmjaw is offline
Default

There is the "Add" button!
Attached Images
 
__________________
"You are all my prisoners" - Louva-Deus
Follow the leader, let the blind lead the blind
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2005, 06:07 AM   #9   Add To Ignore List  
T-Mech
 
Kakaroto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Lithuania
 
Kakaroto is offline
Default

Thanks!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2005, 11:51 AM   #10   Add To Ignore List  
Hey ladies
 
Fiendian's Avatar
 
Glowing Red Stove Top
Joined: Nov 2002
Location: Iceland
 
Fiendian is offline Send a message via ICQ to Fiendian Send a message via MSN to Fiendian
Default

Are you telling me this thread had 0 replies for 3 years? Was it locked or something?
But next time you should make a new thread for your questions Leedee and Kakaroto.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2005, 09:33 PM   #11   Add To Ignore List  
Kleer
 
leedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: heartland s.e. MO.
 
leedee is offline
Talking mapping mishap

I hope I'm posting in the right place because to a beginner it's as confusing as the editor itself I did get my editor up and running so I decided to go ahead with the make a world playable tutorial I dont know what went wrong but I now have 3 gravity tutorials showing up in custom levels one of which is playable so my question is when I start over with the editor is there a way to delete hello serious world Thanks from leedee
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2005, 05:17 AM   #12   Add To Ignore List  
λ
 
Shrinker's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2001
Location: Germany
 
Shrinker is offline Send a message via ICQ to Shrinker Send a message via AIM to Shrinker Send a message via MSN to Shrinker
Default

Delete the .vis files with the respective level names to make them not show up in the single player level selection menu.
Also, you can disable all level flags using the world button (with a world icon) in SEd so they don't show up anywhere.
__________________
Homepage | Twitter
 The Beautiful Nature
  Lights | Echoes
   Arrival Mix | Tree of Life

  Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2005, 12:48 PM   #13   Add To Ignore List  
Kleer
 
leedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: heartland s.e. MO.
 
leedee is offline
Thumbs up

Hey. thanks alot shrinker now i'm back to square one when i did my hello serious world is was all dark . in the make worlds playable article it says to drop down the property list and select and set how do i set? and which ambient light selection am i to use. I think i will try your video tutorial download and see if that helps me out. I visited your homepage & read the shark article thought it is really great again thanks for helping out beginners leedee
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2005, 02:40 PM   #14   Add To Ignore List  
λ
 
Shrinker's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2001
Location: Germany
 
Shrinker is offline Send a message via ICQ to Shrinker Send a message via AIM to Shrinker Send a message via MSN to Shrinker
Default

Ambient? Are you speaking of sky lighting?
__________________
Homepage | Twitter
 The Beautiful Nature
  Lights | Echoes
   Arrival Mix | Tree of Life

  Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2005, 02:59 PM   #15   Add To Ignore List  
Mental
 
Deepblue's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
 
Deepblue is offline
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shrinker
Ambient? Are you speaking of sky lighting?
I think he's talking about regular lights that you just drag into the map from the VT
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2005, 10:09 AM   #16   Add To Ignore List  
Mental
 
Deepblue's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
 
Deepblue is offline
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by leedee
setting type to ambient there are two selections for ambient which one do i use? and how do you set it?
Use regualr ambient not strong ambient. Ambient is set in the 'type' option and the default type is 'point'

Use point lights for torches and lights then use ambient lights with low falloff and hotspot to touch up areas of shadow and corners to make it look better. Never use only ambient lights in maps because it doesn't look as good
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2005, 09:40 AM   #17   Add To Ignore List  
Kleer
 
leedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: heartland s.e. MO.
 
leedee is offline
Default

Thanks. I'll give that a try
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Candid Serious Sam 2 Review Leggir Serious Sam 2 1 11-25-2005 04:10 AM
How To Make A World Playable In Serious Michael Harris Serious Editor 0 02-14-2002 01:53 AM
Black Hawk Down weezR Off Topic Forum 9 01-27-2002 10:06 PM
Serious Reference Redshirt Serious Editor 14 11-16-2001 06:18 PM
if i was to make a SERIOUS RALLY mod... Distro Stu Serious Sam Classic Mods 11 03-28-2001 07:16 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:39 PM.