Seriously!

Go Back   Seriously! Forums > Serious Sam Series > Serious Sam Revolution

Serious Sam Revolution An updated and streamlined version of Serious Sam Classic featuring a combined campaign, new multiplayer features, Steamworks, VAC, and a lot more.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-22-2016, 04:11 AM   #1   Add To Ignore List  
Khnum
 
Serious Sam(BG)'s Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Bulgaria
 
Serious Sam(BG) is offline
Default Few questions

I was looking at the Revolution workshop and try some of the weapon model packs and then this idea came to me:

Why not include extra model packs (xbox weapons, SS2 weapons) in future updates and make them unlock-able via playing. I just spend a night, playing Revolution in Single player, whit SS2 weapons and xbox HUD and it's just amazing and catchy. Now I'm continuing.

Also what's wrong with the net code? Why can't be fixed?

And Bright Island? Will it ever appear?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2016, 07:06 AM   #2   Add To Ignore List  
🐱 Kitty 💘💙💚💛💜
 
Scratch's Avatar
 
Crackshell Developer
Joined: May 2007
Location: Heiloo, Netherlands
 
Scratch is offline
Default Re: Few questions

The netcode will be fixed actually, there's some overhead there that I still have to patch out.

Bright Island, yes. Progress is being made.

As for including Xbox weapons in updates, I think this idea came up a long time ago, but we didn't do it at the time for some reasons? I have forgotten why. Maybe we can try it again.
__________________
I'm a cat by the way. I'm also everyone's most hated critic.
(Opinions expressed are my own)

Nimble Writer - now available on Steam, Itch.io.
CodeCat, my blog that I need to update - I also have a showcase, which I barely update.
(I do not respond to PM's about Serious Sam Revolution or Bogus Detour. Please use the appropriate community hubs for that.)
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2016, 07:51 AM   #3   Add To Ignore List  
Khnum
 
Serious Sam(BG)'s Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Bulgaria
 
Serious Sam(BG) is offline
Default Re: Few questions

Thanks, Angelo, that's great news! So, is the release of Bright Island the point, from which Revolution quits the Early Access and became a finished game?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2016, 08:30 AM   #4   Add To Ignore List  
🐱 Kitty 💘💙💚💛💜
 
Scratch's Avatar
 
Crackshell Developer
Joined: May 2007
Location: Heiloo, Netherlands
 
Scratch is offline
Default Re: Few questions

I would say so, yes. I consider the game to be mostly stable (the current development version even more so), so I've been focusing on getting all content in.
__________________
I'm a cat by the way. I'm also everyone's most hated critic.
(Opinions expressed are my own)

Nimble Writer - now available on Steam, Itch.io.
CodeCat, my blog that I need to update - I also have a showcase, which I barely update.
(I do not respond to PM's about Serious Sam Revolution or Bogus Detour. Please use the appropriate community hubs for that.)
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2016, 05:56 PM   #5   Add To Ignore List  
Khnum
 
Serious Sam(BG)'s Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Bulgaria
 
Serious Sam(BG) is offline
Default Re: Few questions

I just finished Sacred Yards level. When I was working on the "Full Encounter" I met the same bugs in the right sphinx yard:
- You will fall into nowhere;
- Or you will die like jumping on very powerful bouncer, but with no reason.

So I didn't figure it out why is this happening. Have an idea? Maybe some incompatibility in FE entities or conections between entities running under SE? As far as I can see this is the only place in the whole game where we have a moving water (moving sector), maybe something like this causes it?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2016, 06:42 PM   #6   Add To Ignore List  
Khnum
 
God Of Gaming's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2011
Location: Bulgaria
 
God Of Gaming is offline
Default Re: Few questions

It shouldn't be about incompatibility of FE entities in the SE engine, it has happened to me in FE itself a couple of times.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2016, 10:41 PM   #7   Add To Ignore List  
Master of Kalamzoo
 
Captain_Russia's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Tropico
 
Captain_Russia is offline
Default Re: Few questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scratch View Post
Bright Island, yes. Progress is being made.
You said that years ago, I bet it's not gonna be worth it anymore :/

Also why do Kleers always break into bones? Why did you scrap the death animation?
__________________
It's been an honor to be have been part of this site for so long
captainrussiacptnrss07@gmail.com
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2016, 07:37 AM   #8   Add To Ignore List  
Khnum
 
Serious Sam(BG)'s Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Bulgaria
 
Serious Sam(BG) is offline
Default Re: Few questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by God Of Gaming View Post
It shouldn't be about incompatibility of FE entities in the SE engine, it has happened to me in FE itself a couple of times.
Never met such a problem within non-steam classic FE. Never played thislevel in Steam version of FE, I have no idea is there something changed compared to the non-steam version.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2016, 09:56 AM   #9   Add To Ignore List  
Albino Cyclops
 
Sacorguy79's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Location: Canada
 
Sacorguy79 is offline
Default Re: Few questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain_Russia View Post
Also why do Kleers always break into bones? Why did you scrap the death animation?
Actually, I was mildly curious about this, too. I'll give you the benefit of the doubt and say that it was probably unintentionally removed, though.
__________________
I am the Eggman.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2016, 05:05 AM   #10   Add To Ignore List  
Khnum
 
Serious Sam(BG)'s Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Bulgaria
 
Serious Sam(BG) is offline
Default Re: Few questions

I've noticed a bug when you finish FE part in singleplayer, the game loads the two main maps, instead of the book loading screen. Also after this the map loading screen on SE is with all levels revealed.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2016, 05:31 AM   #11   Add To Ignore List  
Developer Fairy
 
Solais's Avatar
 
Croteam Representative
Joined: Nov 2009
 
Solais is offline
Default Re: Few questions

Originally, we planned to have a "short version" of the TSE intro level to be played after Great Pyramid, that would only play if you start from TFE levels, but it was never made. So for a placeholder, the intro level is skipped, because it wouldn't really work in Coop. At least, that's how it worked when I was still working on Rev.
__________________
Since Old Lost Age I Shine

My Serious Sam 3/HD Workshop


While I do work for Croteam, I'm first of all of this community, so my opinions are my own and do not represent Croteam's views.
Unless when I use this nice blue color I totally didn't steal from Blizzard.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2016, 05:52 AM   #12   Add To Ignore List  
Khnum
 
Serious Sam(BG)'s Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Bulgaria
 
Serious Sam(BG) is offline
Default Re: Few questions

I was solved this in Full En... Just make two end game entities chains - one for singleplayer, leading to loading the intro scene and one - for coop. It worked.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2016, 06:01 AM   #13   Add To Ignore List  
Developer Fairy
 
Solais's Avatar
 
Croteam Representative
Joined: Nov 2009
 
Solais is offline
Default Re: Few questions

Yeah, I think something like that was also planned. Or maybe even executed. I really don't remember.
__________________
Since Old Lost Age I Shine

My Serious Sam 3/HD Workshop


While I do work for Croteam, I'm first of all of this community, so my opinions are my own and do not represent Croteam's views.
Unless when I use this nice blue color I totally didn't steal from Blizzard.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2016, 07:04 AM   #14   Add To Ignore List  
Khnum
 
Serious Sam(BG)'s Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Bulgaria
 
Serious Sam(BG) is offline
Default Re: Few questions

In ome of the versions I used different decision - put a touchfield in the Hatshepsut temple, which redirected the players in co-op to Sierra de Chiapas.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2016, 07:13 AM   #15   Add To Ignore List  
Khnum
 
God Of Gaming's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2011
Location: Bulgaria
 
God Of Gaming is offline
Default Re: Few questions

Will this work though, 10 years ago I made a stupid mod where I connected TFE, TSE and all cool fanmade maps into a 70-level long campaign, and I tried also connecting SLAwww's Mapper Dreams with single player flags only, with another link for coop that skips them, and I remember it didn't work for some reason....
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2016, 12:01 AM   #16   Add To Ignore List  
Master of Kalamzoo
 
Captain_Russia's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Tropico
 
Captain_Russia is offline
Default Re: Few questions

Also I can't open the Bright Island intro level for some reason, it just closes out as it's loading
__________________
It's been an honor to be have been part of this site for so long
captainrussiacptnrss07@gmail.com
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2016, 04:38 AM   #17   Add To Ignore List  
Not a real doctor
 
DrTr1gger's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Location: Poland
 
DrTr1gger is online now
Default Re: Few questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain_Russia View Post
Also I can't open the Bright Island intro level for some reason, it just closes out as it's loading
I'm pretty sure that it's intentional.

They either have way to lock .wld files so editor don't open them or this map was made in different editor version than we have as players.
__________________
I've got a PhD in kicking ass

MY SHOWCASE THREAD
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2016, 05:14 AM   #18   Add To Ignore List  
Master of Kalamzoo
 
Captain_Russia's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Tropico
 
Captain_Russia is offline
Default Re: Few questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrTr1gger View Post
I'm pretty sure that it's intentional.

They either have way to lock .wld files so editor don't open them or this map was made in different editor version than we have as players.
I'm sure it's encrypted, thing is, this would be a great feature for all mappers to protect this files, so why lock it to one level?
__________________
It's been an honor to be have been part of this site for so long
captainrussiacptnrss07@gmail.com
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2016, 05:32 AM   #19   Add To Ignore List  
Khnum
 
Serious Sam(BG)'s Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Bulgaria
 
Serious Sam(BG) is offline
Default Re: Few questions

I've noticed more problems.
First - when working with the editor each test game generates save. So it's good to separate the saves as "Quick save", where quick saves and autosaves are kept, and manual "Save", as it was in Classic games. Because now, as we have all in one place, the saves from the editor just deleted my save games and i've lost my progress.

Talking about progress, I've noticed and the other problem. After beating TFE the game just continued with TSE, which is good BUT, now with savedata erased I go to custom levels and here is the surpriese - there are no score records for the first level (I have finished it).
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2016, 05:48 AM   #20   Add To Ignore List  
Goodbye Moonmen
 
Discy's Avatar
 
Seriously! Khnum
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: The Netherlands
 
Discy is offline
Default Re: Few questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Serious Sam(BG) View Post
I've noticed more problems.
First - when working with the editor each test game generates save. So it's good to separate the saves as "Quick save", where quick saves and autosaves are kept, and manual "Save", as it was in Classic games. Because now, as we have all in one place, the saves from the editor just deleted my save games and i've lost my progress.
It has always been that way. Autosave = quick save. There's a finite amount of quicksave slots and the engine loops back to the first one and starts overwriting after a while. The game won't overwrite manual saves as far as I know.

To prevent the editor from quicksaving every time you test, place a BackgroundViewer and a WorldSettingsController, set the WorldSettingsController property of the BackgroundViewer to the WSC you put in there and check the "no quick save on level start" flag on the WSC. Boom.
__________________
"Is there any better Gerüstbaufirmenvorarbeiterschlüsselanhängerfarbenwasserlöslichkeitskontrollchemiker than discy? No!" -Shrinker
[22:30] Fiendian: Discy, Finzy and Louva shall merge into a superentity known as the Lickyfonz.
"Can we just move Discy's posts to the HOF automatically already? :P" -Jetty


Ir-Kalla: Serious Sam Classic map pack in development (Ir-Kalla: Egypt Demo)
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2016, 02:53 PM   #21   Add To Ignore List  
Khnum
 
Serious Sam(BG)'s Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Bulgaria
 
Serious Sam(BG) is offline
Default Re: Few questions

Yeah, but now Quicksaves and normal saves are merged in one option, and now after this with the editor test happened, my saves are erased. All - quick, auto and 2 manual saves. So, why not speparate manual saves from quick and autosaves as it was before? Or like in HD - give an option for unlimited count of saves.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2016, 03:16 PM   #22   Add To Ignore List  
Not a real doctor
 
DrTr1gger's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Location: Poland
 
DrTr1gger is online now
Default Re: Few questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Serious Sam(BG) View Post
Yeah, but now Quicksaves and normal saves are merged in one option, and now after this with the editor test happened, my saves are erased. All - quick, auto and 2 manual saves. So, why not speparate manual saves from quick and autosaves as it was before? Or like in HD - give an option for unlimited count of saves.
You can open console and use
Quote:
/gam_bQuickSaveSlots = x
By default it's set to 8 I think but you can change it to 99 for example.

And watch out when decreasing slots because it will erase your saves.
__________________
I've got a PhD in kicking ass

MY SHOWCASE THREAD
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 03:52 AM   #23   Add To Ignore List  
🐱 Kitty 💘💙💚💛💜
 
Scratch's Avatar
 
Crackshell Developer
Joined: May 2007
Location: Heiloo, Netherlands
 
Scratch is offline
Default Re: Few questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Serious Sam(BG) View Post
Yeah, but now Quicksaves and normal saves are merged in one option, and now after this with the editor test happened, my saves are erased. All - quick, auto and 2 manual saves. So, why not speparate manual saves from quick and autosaves as it was before? Or like in HD - give an option for unlimited count of saves.
Good suggestion, will put it on the todo list.
__________________
I'm a cat by the way. I'm also everyone's most hated critic.
(Opinions expressed are my own)

Nimble Writer - now available on Steam, Itch.io.
CodeCat, my blog that I need to update - I also have a showcase, which I barely update.
(I do not respond to PM's about Serious Sam Revolution or Bogus Detour. Please use the appropriate community hubs for that.)
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 04:44 AM   #24   Add To Ignore List  
</3
 
Mkbewe's Avatar
 
King of the Cathedral
Joined: Dec 2011
Location: Poland
 
Mkbewe is offline
Default Re: Few questions

I told years ago about one problem and it is not solved. Last time when i played COOP First Encounter after die i got another weapons. Especially, in suburbs i got Cannon instead Lasergun. In Karnak, Luxor, Sacred Yards and Great Piramide i got Plasmagun instead Laser.
__________________
Serious Sam The Next Encounter Classic for PC - WIP
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2016, 03:45 AM   #25   Add To Ignore List  
Khnum
 
Serious Sam(BG)'s Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Bulgaria
 
Serious Sam(BG) is offline
Default Re: Few questions

I turned this thread in sort-of "Bugs report", so if you want merge it with the official bug reports thread. I was wrong about the manually created saves - they are not erased. But the SE levels still does not record statistics:
http://i.imgur.com/JnLbJjb.jpg

And also this error began to happens:
http://i.imgur.com/nkimbAI.jpg

And leads to game crash.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2016, 02:32 PM   #26   Add To Ignore List  
Khnum
 
Serious Sam(BG)'s Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Bulgaria
 
Serious Sam(BG) is offline
Default Re: Few questions

Is just me, or the game can't support 16:10 resolution?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2016, 02:37 PM   #27   Add To Ignore List  
Not a real doctor
 
DrTr1gger's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Location: Poland
 
DrTr1gger is online now
Default Re: Few questions

Hmm you can always enter custom resolution by editing startup.ini
__________________
I've got a PhD in kicking ass

MY SHOWCASE THREAD
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2016, 02:48 PM   #28   Add To Ignore List  
Khnum
 
Serious Sam(BG)'s Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Bulgaria
 
Serious Sam(BG) is offline
Default Re: Few questions

Thanks, dude, I have a lot to things to learn...
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2016, 02:56 PM   #29   Add To Ignore List  
Not a real doctor
 
DrTr1gger's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Location: Poland
 
DrTr1gger is online now
Default Re: Few questions

If resolution that interests you doesn't appear in menu locate "Game_Startup.ini" file in Serious Sam Revolution\Scripts

Add "sam_iScreenSizeI" and "sam_iScreenSizeJ" to the file.

SizeI defines width and SizeJ height.
For example to play in 4K add
sam_iScreenSizeI = 3840;
and
sam_iScreenSizeJ = 2160;
__________________
I've got a PhD in kicking ass

MY SHOWCASE THREAD
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2016, 04:31 PM   #30   Add To Ignore List  
🐱 Kitty 💘💙💚💛💜
 
Scratch's Avatar
 
Crackshell Developer
Joined: May 2007
Location: Heiloo, Netherlands
 
Scratch is offline
Default Re: Few questions

We have some 16:10 resolutions, but if it's not detected you should try that method yeah ^
__________________
I'm a cat by the way. I'm also everyone's most hated critic.
(Opinions expressed are my own)

Nimble Writer - now available on Steam, Itch.io.
CodeCat, my blog that I need to update - I also have a showcase, which I barely update.
(I do not respond to PM's about Serious Sam Revolution or Bogus Detour. Please use the appropriate community hubs for that.)
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
a few questions blast69 Serious Editor 4 05-19-2002 04:21 PM
Questions Unwary_Thief Serious Editor 12 05-15-2002 05:34 PM
2 little questions... Cable Serious Editor 5 03-29-2002 05:27 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:20 PM.