Seriously!

Go Back   Seriously! Forums > Serious Sam Series > Serious Sam 2

Serious Sam 2 Discuss anything and everything about Serious Sam 2, the official sequel to SS:FE and SS:SE.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-22-2005, 01:53 AM   #1   Add To Ignore List  
Gnaar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
 
SpaceCadet1 is offline
Default Graphics glitches in demo

Don't know the proper term for the problem, but it's something like this: all healthpacks and a few enemies (e.g. scorpions) shoot out massive rays of model colouring, which shortly said bugs the crap outta me. Nothing particularly wrong with the models themselves, just the rays that come along with it. Another thing is the flickering of certain surfaces, such as glass walls. I've tried fiddling around with the configurations for a while now, without any suceess. Apart from that the game runs completely smoothly on high settings. Any fix suggestions or at least reasons for the problem? Thanks already.

Here's a screen of the most persistent glitch, with the scorpion model:
http://img399.imageshack.us/img399/2672/untitled0qx.jpg
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 02:11 AM   #2   Add To Ignore List  
Spy Killah
 
Rodzilla's Avatar
 
Seriously! Reaper
Joined: May 2001
 
Rodzilla is offline
Default

Woo! You found the Serious Disco powerup!
__________________
Rodzilla
-Seriously! Administrator Emeritus
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 02:19 AM   #3   Add To Ignore List  
Saruman the Pimp
 
NoMercy Rider's Avatar
 
Seriously! Beardmaster
Joined: Jun 2001
Location: Oregon, USA
 
NoMercy Rider is offline
Default

You need to post your video card and/or system specs to get full support. IMO, it looks to be a video card issue. It's either a driver issue (fixed simply by updating your drivers). Could be that your video card is outdated. You need a vid card that supports DX8 or higher. Don't know what else it may be though. I've had similar problems in other games, usually due to video card troubles.
__________________
Requiescat en Pace.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 02:32 AM   #4   Add To Ignore List  
Forever Fancy
 
MasterEvilAce's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2001
 
MasterEvilAce is offline
Default

Holy CRAP.

Yes, post your system specs and drive versions
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 02:38 AM   #5   Add To Ignore List  
Kamikaze
 
Slashbunny's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
 
Slashbunny is offline Send a message via AIM to Slashbunny
Default

Looks like an ATI card overheating. Take off the side of your case and put a fan on it before it blows up
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 04:44 AM   #6   Add To Ignore List  
Razardous
 
The Serious Spoon's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: The Netherlands
 
The Serious Spoon is offline Send a message via ICQ to The Serious Spoon
Default

It looks like that for me when I use my new 6800 LE... I don't have a new PSU yet. So maybe you PSU is to weak.. post your system specs.
__________________
Facebook | Last.fm | Twitter | DeviantArt

"And yet be reminded by the Gods that though cooperation is a friendly pursuit, friendly fire is righteous in its purging of the vile and corrupt. Let ye not be deserving of its wrath for the hoarding of power-ups."
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 08:34 AM   #7   Add To Ignore List  
blahblahblah
 
--Fragman--'s Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: In an inexistant City
 
--Fragman-- is offline Send a message via ICQ to --Fragman-- Send a message via AIM to --Fragman-- Send a message via MSN to --Fragman--
Default

I had something like that happen with Gothic2 once, but I could fix that with an ini setting, was a somewhat common bug there.
__________________
City War City War 2 Rats Rats BTBA
--------------------------
Bomberman SS:XBOX

--------------------------
My Page!
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 09:46 AM   #8   Add To Ignore List  
Gnaar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
 
Newman81 is offline
Default

My glitch is better

http://img264.imageshack.us/img264/3578/ss25jx.jpg

I have 5900XT and FW 78.01.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 04:05 PM   #9   Add To Ignore List  
Gnaar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
 
SpaceCadet1 is offline
Default

Oh yeah forgot to mention my specs:

Intel 3.00 GHZ P4
1.00 GB RAM
ATI Radeon 9800
Windows XP Home

I gotta admit that having HL2 which runs smoothly on maximum settings, I wasn't expecting any problems on the visuals for this demo. I tried doing some basic updating for the Radeon, as well as reinstall DirectX 9.0c, but they didn't seem to do the trick.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 04:20 PM   #10   Add To Ignore List  
Do the Mario!
 
SuperMang!'s Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2001
Location: Oaksterdam, CA
 
SuperMang! is offline Send a message via AIM to SuperMang!
Default

Well that made me ROFL.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Newman81
My glitch is better

http://img264.imageshack.us/img264/3578/ss25jx.jpg

I have 5900XT and FW 78.01.
What the hell is a giant bone doing there? Looks like Salvador Dali's interpretation of the game.
__________________
Hauauauauu~
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 04:26 PM   #11   Add To Ignore List  
Forever Fancy
 
MasterEvilAce's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2001
 
MasterEvilAce is offline
Default

I have a similar setup and i don't get any visual glitches like that

Athlon 2500+M (1.8 ghz overclocked to 2.3)
1 GB ram
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro
Windows XP Pro

DX 9.0c
Radeon Cataylst version (dunno, but downloading newest (5.9) at the moment)
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 04:28 PM   #12   Add To Ignore List  
Werebull
 
Aarian's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: St Paul, MN
 
Aarian is offline Send a message via AIM to Aarian
Default

I got a strange cinematic anomaly that doesn't necessarily appear to be a glitch in the demo but rather potential hardware incompatibility.

http://www.flare576.com/aarian/ss2-dv.jpg

Video card is an All In Wonder Radeon 8500 with drivers 6.14.10.6525
Anybody else experience this? I would imagine it's just envoked by the archaic card.
The rest of my specs are in my profile.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 04:30 PM   #13   Add To Ignore List  
The Sparrow
 
Flux Capacitor's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2002
 
Flux Capacitor is offline
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by --Fragman--
I had something like that happen with Gothic2 once, but I could fix that with an ini setting, was a somewhat common bug there.
LOL, now dude you know damn well that was because you were hitting the swampweed so hard!
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 04:31 PM   #14   Add To Ignore List  
Werebull
 
Firejuno's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2002
Location: Germany, NRW
 
Firejuno is offline Send a message via ICQ to Firejuno Send a message via MSN to Firejuno
Default

rofl looks nice oO
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 04:33 PM   #15   Add To Ignore List  
blahblahblah
 
--Fragman--'s Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: In an inexistant City
 
--Fragman-- is offline Send a message via ICQ to --Fragman-- Send a message via AIM to --Fragman-- Send a message via MSN to --Fragman--
Default

Nah, that doesn't last that long
__________________
City War City War 2 Rats Rats BTBA
--------------------------
Bomberman SS:XBOX

--------------------------
My Page!
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2005, 12:52 AM   #16   Add To Ignore List  
Werebull
 
Joined: Aug 2001
 
RichmanRush is offline Send a message via ICQ to RichmanRush
Default

xp2200+ at stock speed, 512M ram, 9800 pro 128M, cat 5.6 and no graphical issues at all. Granted I've set everything to minimum or off to get a consistent smooth frame rate, but I've toyed around with certain settings at medium and higher.

I would definitely check your drivers, or perhaps run through the advanced video options and see if a particular setting is causing it.
__________________
helparena.dot.com
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2005, 06:14 AM   #17   Add To Ignore List  
Gnaar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
 
Newman81 is offline
Default

After changing renderer from D3D to OpenGL I no longer see any glitches and game run little faster
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2005, 10:30 AM   #18   Add To Ignore List  
λ
 
Shrinker's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2001
Location: Germany
 
Shrinker is offline Send a message via ICQ to Shrinker Send a message via AIM to Shrinker Send a message via MSN to Shrinker
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aarian
I got a strange cinematic anomaly that doesn't necessarily appear to be a glitch in the demo but rather potential hardware incompatibility.

http://www.flare576.com/aarian/ss2-dv.jpg

Video card is an All In Wonder Radeon 8500 with drivers 6.14.10.6525
Anybody else experience this? I would imagine it's just envoked by the archaic card.
The rest of my specs are in my profile.
This might help:
Do a rightclick on your desktop, go to properties, go to video card specific stuff and choose the overlay color correction. If it isn't a straight line graph, make it a straight line graph.
__________________
Homepage | Twitter
 The Beautiful Nature
  Lights | Echoes
   Arrival Mix | Tree of Life

  Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2005, 10:36 AM   #19   Add To Ignore List  
T-Mech
 
Emka's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
 
Emka is offline Send a message via ICQ to Emka Send a message via MSN to Emka
Default

he found the secret splitscreen option!
__________________
Evil is what I am;
Death is what I bring...
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2005, 10:40 AM   #20   Add To Ignore List  
Gnaar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
 
SpaceCadet1 is offline
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Newman81
After changing renderer from D3D to OpenGL I no longer see any glitches and game run little faster
*Bows deeply* Problem is history, and now I can play the thing on near maximum settings Thanks to everyone else for suggestions; looks like Serious Sam 2 is going to have one more purchaser after all!
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Great Serious Sam II (Demo) FAQ The Serious Spoon Serious Sam 2 30 11-04-2005 07:38 AM
SS2 Demo and Pixelated Video Graphics maxmtu Serious Sam 2 7 10-05-2005 10:05 AM
watch see view play record make demo HighMaintenance Serious Editor 8 07-12-2002 02:55 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:52 PM.