Seriously!

Go Back   Seriously! Forums > Serious Sam Series > Serious Sam HD > Serious Sam HD Workshop

Serious Sam HD Workshop The official forum for Serious Sam: HD projects, be it maps, mods, or something else.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-25-2015, 04:26 PM   #1   Add To Ignore List  
Werebull
 
gedamial's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2014
Location: Naples
 
gedamial is offline
Default [PROBLEM] Sun, Lightmaps and Shadows

Hello guys.

I've always had problems with lights in the Serious Editor. So, I have this map: http://prntscr.com/6lb9s1

As you can see there are a lots models on which the sun should make a shadow.
Following this tutorial -> http://serioussam.com/wiki/index.php...D3/Hello_World

Let's understand what I have to do:

Chapter "Lightmaps and GI Solver" ( http://prntscr.com/6lbb1n )

1st step -> I have to select EVERY model of the map?

FROM 2nd step TO 7th step -> Uhm... I've already done this step when I had to make an UV Map for my textures... Should I re-do the steps typing, this time, "Shadow" instead of "Texture"?

8th step -> Ok... let's do the same with the floor...

10th -> "Select both objects" .... AND WHAT ABOUT ME? Should I select EVERY object in my map? Oh My God...

13rd step -> Should I always type 256?


Here are the steps where I get blocked during this process.

I absolutely need your help =(

Thanks in advance!
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2015, 05:20 PM   #2   Add To Ignore List  
Developer Fairy
 
Solais's Avatar
 
Croteam Representative
Joined: Nov 2009
 
Solais is offline
Default Re: [PROBLEM] Sun, Lightmaps and Shadows

1st step: Only the most important ones. Trees and torches, those are not important. Larger structures or the floor, those are important.

2. Yes, you need to make a Shadow uvmap.

3. Actually, you don't need to type anything. Just add Lightmap Ovens to the models, and BEFORE baking the GI with Export Solution on the Bake tab, first click Adjust Lightmap Sizes. This will automatically set the sizes of the lightmaps to the correct one, and then bake the GI.
__________________
Since Old Lost Age I Shine

My Serious Sam 3/HD Workshop


While I do work for Croteam, I'm first of all of this community, so my opinions are my own and do not represent Croteam's views.
Unless when I use this nice blue color I totally didn't steal from Blizzard.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2015, 12:46 PM   #3   Add To Ignore List  
Werebull
 
gedamial's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2014
Location: Naples
 
gedamial is offline
Default Re: [PROBLEM] Sun, Lightmaps and Shadows

Ok. Now I need more info

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solais View Post
1st step: Only the most important ones. Trees and torches, those are not important. Larger structures or the floor, those are important.
So if you take a look at my screenshot of the map ( http://prntscr.com/6lmntt )
Which are the objects that I've to select? The biggest ones?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solais View Post
2. Yes, you need to make a Shadow uvmap.
So I should select EVERY object and then *create new vertex map* ecc...?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solais View Post
3. Actually, you don't need to type anything.
But... the tutorials says I have to type 256
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2015, 01:02 PM   #4   Add To Ignore List  
Developer Fairy
 
Solais's Avatar
 
Croteam Representative
Joined: Nov 2009
 
Solais is offline
Default Re: [PROBLEM] Sun, Lightmaps and Shadows

1. Most
2. Yes
3. The tutorial only shows an example
__________________
Since Old Lost Age I Shine

My Serious Sam 3/HD Workshop


While I do work for Croteam, I'm first of all of this community, so my opinions are my own and do not represent Croteam's views.
Unless when I use this nice blue color I totally didn't steal from Blizzard.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2015, 01:33 PM   #5   Add To Ignore List  
Werebull
 
gedamial's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2014
Location: Naples
 
gedamial is offline
Default Re: [PROBLEM] Sun, Lightmaps and Shadows

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solais View Post
1. Most
2. Yes
3. The tutorial only shows an example
Ok, now see how I did

1. I selected every object and gave them a Shadow UV Map ( http://prntscr.com/6ln7ny )
2. Keeping the objects selected, I add to them a LightmapOvenModifier
3. Now, where is the options that you told me ("Adjust Ligthmap Sizes") ? (screen: http://prntscr.com/6lnai5 )
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2015, 02:15 PM   #6   Add To Ignore List  
Developer Fairy
 
Solais's Avatar
 
Croteam Representative
Joined: Nov 2009
 
Solais is offline
Default Re: [PROBLEM] Sun, Lightmaps and Shadows

Not there. As I said earlier:

Quote:
BEFORE baking the GI with Export Solution on the Bake tab, first click Adjust Lightmap Sizes. This will automatically set the sizes of the lightmaps to the correct one, and then bake the GI.
__________________
Since Old Lost Age I Shine

My Serious Sam 3/HD Workshop


While I do work for Croteam, I'm first of all of this community, so my opinions are my own and do not represent Croteam's views.
Unless when I use this nice blue color I totally didn't steal from Blizzard.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2015, 02:25 PM   #7   Add To Ignore List  
Werebull
 
gedamial's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2014
Location: Naples
 
gedamial is offline
Default Re: [PROBLEM] Sun, Lightmaps and Shadows

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solais View Post
Not there. As I said earlier:
But where is this Bake tab? screen: http://prntscr.com/6lo28x

P.S: is there a way to select every object in the world without select everything manually?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2015, 02:43 PM   #8   Add To Ignore List  
Developer Fairy
 
Solais's Avatar
 
Croteam Representative
Joined: Nov 2009
 
Solais is offline
Default Re: [PROBLEM] Sun, Lightmaps and Shadows

In the World Editor. That's where you bake the GI, don't you? Think a little!
__________________
Since Old Lost Age I Shine

My Serious Sam 3/HD Workshop


While I do work for Croteam, I'm first of all of this community, so my opinions are my own and do not represent Croteam's views.
Unless when I use this nice blue color I totally didn't steal from Blizzard.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2015, 02:45 PM   #9   Add To Ignore List  
Werebull
 
gedamial's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2014
Location: Naples
 
gedamial is offline
Default Re: [PROBLEM] Sun, Lightmaps and Shadows

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solais View Post
In the World Editor. That's where you bake the GI, don't you? Think a little!
I've never baked the GI xd

Anyway, I did it all and I have this: http://prntscr.com/6lofmb

Last edited by gedamial; 03-26-2015 at 02:49 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2015, 02:59 PM   #10   Add To Ignore List  
Developer Fairy
 
Solais's Avatar
 
Croteam Representative
Joined: Nov 2009
 
Solais is offline
Default Re: [PROBLEM] Sun, Lightmaps and Shadows

You didn't bake the GI.
__________________
Since Old Lost Age I Shine

My Serious Sam 3/HD Workshop


While I do work for Croteam, I'm first of all of this community, so my opinions are my own and do not represent Croteam's views.
Unless when I use this nice blue color I totally didn't steal from Blizzard.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2015, 03:10 PM   #11   Add To Ignore List  
Werebull
 
gedamial's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2014
Location: Naples
 
gedamial is offline
Default Re: [PROBLEM] Sun, Lightmaps and Shadows

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solais View Post
You didn't bake the GI.
I DID!

I clicked this damn button before Alt+G -> http://prntscr.com/6lor0y
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2015, 05:19 PM   #12   Add To Ignore List  
Developer Fairy
 
Solais's Avatar
 
Croteam Representative
Joined: Nov 2009
 
Solais is offline
Default Re: [PROBLEM] Sun, Lightmaps and Shadows

Ah, I think I know what's missing, though it IS said in the tutorial: Do you have a Probe Light on the map?
__________________
Since Old Lost Age I Shine

My Serious Sam 3/HD Workshop


While I do work for Croteam, I'm first of all of this community, so my opinions are my own and do not represent Croteam's views.
Unless when I use this nice blue color I totally didn't steal from Blizzard.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2015, 05:42 PM   #13   Add To Ignore List  
Werebull
 
gedamial's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2014
Location: Naples
 
gedamial is offline
Default Re: [PROBLEM] Sun, Lightmaps and Shadows

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solais View Post
Ah, I think I know what's missing, though it IS said in the tutorial: Do you have a Probe Light on the map?
No. But the Probe Light comes after the LightMapping
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2015, 05:45 PM   #14   Add To Ignore List  
Developer Fairy
 
Solais's Avatar
 
Croteam Representative
Joined: Nov 2009
 
Solais is offline
Default Re: [PROBLEM] Sun, Lightmaps and Shadows

Actually no. Probe Light comes before, otherwise the level won't have proper shadows.
__________________
Since Old Lost Age I Shine

My Serious Sam 3/HD Workshop


While I do work for Croteam, I'm first of all of this community, so my opinions are my own and do not represent Croteam's views.
Unless when I use this nice blue color I totally didn't steal from Blizzard.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2015, 03:51 PM   #15   Add To Ignore List  
Werebull
 
gedamial's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2014
Location: Naples
 
gedamial is offline
Default Re: [PROBLEM] Sun, Lightmaps and Shadows

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solais View Post
Actually no. Probe Light comes before, otherwise the level won't have proper shadows.
I made a video that shows you me making the Lightmap process

Here is the YouTube-Private-Video -> https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HcB_...ature=youtu.be
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2015, 04:14 PM   #16   Add To Ignore List  
Developer Fairy
 
Solais's Avatar
 
Croteam Representative
Joined: Nov 2009
 
Solais is offline
Default Re: [PROBLEM] Sun, Lightmaps and Shadows

I can't watch private videos because they are private. I think you want to set it to "unlisted".
__________________
Since Old Lost Age I Shine

My Serious Sam 3/HD Workshop


While I do work for Croteam, I'm first of all of this community, so my opinions are my own and do not represent Croteam's views.
Unless when I use this nice blue color I totally didn't steal from Blizzard.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2015, 04:22 PM   #17   Add To Ignore List  
Werebull
 
gedamial's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2014
Location: Naples
 
gedamial is offline
Default Re: [PROBLEM] Sun, Lightmaps and Shadows

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solais View Post
I can't watch private videos because they are private. I think you want to set it to "unlisted".
You're right, sorry.

Here we are: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HcB_kl8VsUM
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2015, 04:56 PM   #18   Add To Ignore List  
Developer Fairy
 
Solais's Avatar
 
Croteam Representative
Joined: Nov 2009
 
Solais is offline
Default Re: [PROBLEM] Sun, Lightmaps and Shadows

Put a PostProcessingEffect entity on the map. Then browse the "Default" one (it should be automatically in the PostProcessing folder when you browse it). (Wasn't this in the tutorial? If not, man, it is incomplete.)

The blue tinge seems to come from the color of the sun.
__________________
Since Old Lost Age I Shine

My Serious Sam 3/HD Workshop


While I do work for Croteam, I'm first of all of this community, so my opinions are my own and do not represent Croteam's views.
Unless when I use this nice blue color I totally didn't steal from Blizzard.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2015, 05:04 PM   #19   Add To Ignore List  
Werebull
 
gedamial's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2014
Location: Naples
 
gedamial is offline
Default Re: [PROBLEM] Sun, Lightmaps and Shadows

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solais View Post
Put a PostProcessingEffect entity on the map. Then browse the "Default" one (it should be automatically in the PostProcessing folder when you browse it). (Wasn't this in the tutorial? If not, man, it is incomplete.)
When I browse, this happens: http://prntscr.com/6m5ar9
Gosh, there are a lot of directories; so, where is the PostProcessing folder?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solais View Post
The blue tinge seems to come from the color of the sun.
From the sun or from the Background (skybox)?

Last edited by gedamial; 03-27-2015 at 05:22 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2015, 05:15 PM   #20   Add To Ignore List  
Developer Fairy
 
Solais's Avatar
 
Croteam Representative
Joined: Nov 2009
 
Solais is offline
Default Re: [PROBLEM] Sun, Lightmaps and Shadows

Content/SeriousSamHD/Presets/PostProcessing/HDDefault.rsc

Can be both the sun and the background. If you followed that weird tutorial, that means you have a kind of background that's no longer used in the game. I suggest deleting it and just copy-pasting a background from an official map. Make sure that you also copy the tiny "flare" entity inside the background too.
__________________
Since Old Lost Age I Shine

My Serious Sam 3/HD Workshop


While I do work for Croteam, I'm first of all of this community, so my opinions are my own and do not represent Croteam's views.
Unless when I use this nice blue color I totally didn't steal from Blizzard.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2015, 05:28 PM   #21   Add To Ignore List  
Werebull
 
gedamial's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2014
Location: Naples
 
gedamial is offline
Default Re: [PROBLEM] Sun, Lightmaps and Shadows

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solais View Post
Content/SeriousSamHD/Presets/PostProcessing/HDDefault.rsc
Ok, I did everything and the result is this: http://prntscr.com/6m5ome

Finally, I have no more Light problems... but shadow problems.

As you can see, shadows are too black :S

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solais View Post
Can be both the sun and the background. If you followed that weird tutorial, that means you have a kind of background that's no longer used in the game. I suggest deleting it and just copy-pasting a background from an official map. Make sure that you also copy the tiny "flare" entity inside the background too.
Hmh, ok let's split this issue. At moment, let me focus on Light/Shadows
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2015, 07:15 PM   #22   Add To Ignore List  
Developer Fairy
 
Solais's Avatar
 
Croteam Representative
Joined: Nov 2009
 
Solais is offline
Default Re: [PROBLEM] Sun, Lightmaps and Shadows

Well, I noticed that you selected all your models and gave them a collective Shadow UVmap. I think that's the problem. You have to select each model one-by-one (as in, different models. If you have, for example, a lot of x.mdl, you only have to select one x.mdl), and give them Shadow uvmaps like that.

Now, if all your models are <local>, then that's a problem and they shouldn't be. They should be saved as separate models, because then instead of dozens of local models, the game would only have to load like 10.
__________________
Since Old Lost Age I Shine

My Serious Sam 3/HD Workshop


While I do work for Croteam, I'm first of all of this community, so my opinions are my own and do not represent Croteam's views.
Unless when I use this nice blue color I totally didn't steal from Blizzard.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2015, 08:02 AM   #23   Add To Ignore List  
Werebull
 
gedamial's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2014
Location: Naples
 
gedamial is offline
Default Re: [PROBLEM] Sun, Lightmaps and Shadows

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solais View Post
Well, I noticed that you selected all your models and gave them a collective Shadow UVmap. I think that's the problem. You have to select each model one-by-one (as in, different models. If you have, for example, a lot of x.mdl, you only have to select one x.mdl), and give them Shadow uvmaps like that.
Oh My GOD! Every single model?

Can you see this fence -> http://prntscr.com/6md1sw ?
It's made of many and little models and I should select them one-by-one????

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solais View Post
Now, if all your models are <local>, then that's a problem and they shouldn't be. They should be saved as separate models, because then instead of dozens of local models, the game would only have to load like 10.
What do u mean with "local models"? I have my models (and textures) in a folder in the Desktop. So, how to make them un-local (i don't know If it's correct anyway lol) ?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2015, 09:59 AM   #24   Add To Ignore List  
Developer Fairy
 
Solais's Avatar
 
Croteam Representative
Joined: Nov 2009
 
Solais is offline
Default Re: [PROBLEM] Sun, Lightmaps and Shadows

Well, that fence, they are made of copies of a single, saved model, right? If yes, you only have to create the Shadow UVmap for one of those, and all the copies will have them.
__________________
Since Old Lost Age I Shine

My Serious Sam 3/HD Workshop


While I do work for Croteam, I'm first of all of this community, so my opinions are my own and do not represent Croteam's views.
Unless when I use this nice blue color I totally didn't steal from Blizzard.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2015, 10:23 AM   #25   Add To Ignore List  
Werebull
 
gedamial's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2014
Location: Naples
 
gedamial is offline
Default Re: [PROBLEM] Sun, Lightmaps and Shadows

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solais View Post
Well, that fence, they are made of copies of a single, saved model, right? If yes, you only have to create the Shadow UVmap for one of those, and all the copies will have them.
Uh it's strange but ok, i trust you.

Anyway, when I have to add a LightMapOvenModifier (= http://prntscr.com/6mek9d) should I select EVERY object of the map or one-per-model (just like I'm doing with the shadow vertex map) ?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2015, 10:41 AM   #26   Add To Ignore List  
Developer Fairy
 
Solais's Avatar
 
Croteam Representative
Joined: Nov 2009
 
Solais is offline
Default Re: [PROBLEM] Sun, Lightmaps and Shadows

Every object, because it's something you apply by entity, not by model.
__________________
Since Old Lost Age I Shine

My Serious Sam 3/HD Workshop


While I do work for Croteam, I'm first of all of this community, so my opinions are my own and do not represent Croteam's views.
Unless when I use this nice blue color I totally didn't steal from Blizzard.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2015, 10:55 AM   #27   Add To Ignore List  
Werebull
 
gedamial's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2014
Location: Naples
 
gedamial is offline
Default Re: [PROBLEM] Sun, Lightmaps and Shadows

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solais View Post
Every object, because it's something you apply by entity, not by model.
Uff but what the ...

screen: http://prntscr.com/6meys7
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2015, 11:32 AM   #28   Add To Ignore List  
Developer Fairy
 
Solais's Avatar
 
Croteam Representative
Joined: Nov 2009
 
Solais is offline
Default Re: [PROBLEM] Sun, Lightmaps and Shadows

I don't know what are you doing. Did you add probelight? Did you add the postprocessing entity? Did you bake the gi? I dunno what are you doing.
__________________
Since Old Lost Age I Shine

My Serious Sam 3/HD Workshop


While I do work for Croteam, I'm first of all of this community, so my opinions are my own and do not represent Croteam's views.
Unless when I use this nice blue color I totally didn't steal from Blizzard.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2015, 11:37 AM   #29   Add To Ignore List  
Werebull
 
gedamial's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2014
Location: Naples
 
gedamial is offline
Default Re: [PROBLEM] Sun, Lightmaps and Shadows

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solais View Post
I don't know what are you doing. Did you add probelight? Did you add the postprocessing entity? Did you bake the gi? I dunno what are you doing.
Before invoking the GI Solver I put a postprocessing effect and adjusted lightmap sizes.

I've not already add a Probe Light, but now I'm gonna.

So, after putting it into the world, is the size 100x100 looking good?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2015, 12:06 PM   #30   Add To Ignore List  
Developer Fairy
 
Solais's Avatar
 
Croteam Representative
Joined: Nov 2009
 
Solais is offline
Default Re: [PROBLEM] Sun, Lightmaps and Shadows

When looking up, you should see "Selection, Selection Fill" at the top of the "screen". Click that and select "Selection ranges". With that, you'll see how big the Probe Light is.
__________________
Since Old Lost Age I Shine

My Serious Sam 3/HD Workshop


While I do work for Croteam, I'm first of all of this community, so my opinions are my own and do not represent Croteam's views.
Unless when I use this nice blue color I totally didn't steal from Blizzard.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:58 AM.