Seriously!

Go Back   Seriously! Forums > Serious Sam Series > Serious Sam 2

Serious Sam 2 Discuss anything and everything about Serious Sam 2, the official sequel to SS:FE and SS:SE.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-18-2006, 02:54 AM   #1   Add To Ignore List  
T-Mech
 
Galaxie's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: Dumb****istan
 
Galaxie is offline Send a message via MSN to Galaxie
Default Graphics problem - Horribly glitchy geometry.

Good day to you all here on the Seriously! forums. As you can see I am new here, and to be quite honest... I only joined to inquire about a problem I have when running Serious Sam 2.

I bought a new(er) video card a while ago because I wasn't getting the speed I wanted in Guild Wars. Well now that I had this fancy new video card and not that old 64 Megabyte deal, I decided it was time to play though Serious Sam 2. (Finally!) I drug (Droge? Druged?) out the "faster" computer, plugged the card in and did a reinstall of windows.

So I install the game after LOTS of head-banging-to-keyboarding and a few aspirins. (The fourth CD has a scratch or something on it and didn't copy Movies_PC_01.gro correctly. Do you know how frustrating it is to have your install get to 100% and then crash? DO YOU?!) So I am all set to play SS2.

Well that is when I ran into... this.

"Well." I say to myself. "Must be some kind of word-glitch or some such thing." So I start a new game (after installing the patch. Didn't let me start a game until I did so.) and much to my complete and utter horror...

I see this.

As you can tell I did mess with the resolution and graphics settings between the two shots.

Now I am one that is not easily defeated. I went online and scoured the web for geometry problems relating to Serious Sam 2. I found no solution to this. Now I know the first thing that will be suggested, even AFTER I say this will be "OMg pUt on teh latest vidor drivers noob1" but since I reformatted this computer earlier today, that means I downloaded the latest Nvidia drivers and installed them.

Twice.

Just to make sure this wasn't from a bad install I downloaded the 200 some megabyte demo... and I had the same problem.

This leads me to believe that I have a serious problem (no pun intended) with my hardware. I, for the life of me, can not figure it out and am about to beat my computer's innards with a wooden stick. (After removing my video card.)

I tried all I could think of... and I will try anything that is suggested.

This Guy also had a similar problem but no definite conclusion was reached on that thread. I DID try what was recommended though. I only have a hard drive, CD Rom, video card, and motherboard plugged in. And I am SURE I have at LEAST a 450 watt power supply so I think lack of power is NOT the issue.

Here are the specs for this PC. I know it is not a power house but I don't care. I just want to play SS2.

I don't have this problem on any other game by the way.

Windows XP (Duh)
1.5 GHZ pentium 4
512 MB ram
e-GeForce 6600 LE AGP with 256 MB video memory (I sure hope YOU know what that means. I don't.)
And if you REALLY need to know an 80 Gig hard drive.

Here is the latest log.
-------- start of log --------

LOG: Core version: $Version: Serious Sam 2; 2.070.00:65824; 2006-PATCH-2-070-inc$
LOG: Command: $
LOG: Initializing timer.
LOG: Timestamp: 2006/07/18 01:18:25
LOG: Binary name: Sam2.exe
LOG: Binary soft path: Bin/
LOG: Binary hard path: C:\Program Files\Serious Sam 2\Bin\
LOG: Application directory: C:\Program Files\Serious Sam 2\
LOG: Loading group files...
LOG: All_PC_01.gro: 1194 files
LOG: All_PC_02.gro: 5213 files
LOG: All_PC_03.gro: 3274 files
LOG: Movies_PC_02.gro: 44 files
LOG: Patch_02_068.gro: 360 files
ERR: There were group file errors:
ERR: Movies_PC_01.gro: Cannot find 'end of central directory'
LOG: --- Serious Engine Startup ---
LOG:
LOG: Examining underlying OS...
LOG: Type: WinNT
LOG: Version: 5.1, build 2600
LOG: Misc:
LOG:
LOG: Detecting CPU...
LOG: Vendor: AuthenticAMD
LOG: Type: 0, Family: 6, Model: 6, Stepping: 2
LOG: MMX: Yes
LOG: SSE: Yes
LOG: CMOV: Yes
LOG: Clock: 1665 MHz
LOG:
LOG: Error loading ImmWraper.dll: Dynamic module "C:\Program Files\Serious Sam 2\Bin\ImmWrapper.dll" not found!.
LOG: IFeel disabled
LOG: Config file 'Content/SeriousSam2/Config/boot.cfg' doesn't exist.
LOG: Processing config file 'Content/SeriousSam2/Config/autoexec.cfg'.
LOG: Processing config file 'Content/SeriousSam2/Config/user.cfg'.
ERR: <memory stream>(4) : error : invalid expression part.
ERR: Syntax error in command.
LOG: Loading cvars from "Content/SeriousSam2/Sam2.ini".
LOG:
LOG: Desktop settings:
LOG: Color depth: 32-bit
LOG: Desktop resolution: 1024 x 768
LOG: Virtual screen: 1024 x 768
LOG: Monitors attached: 1
LOG:
LOG: * Direct3D context created.
INF:
INF: Gfx API: Direct3D
INF: Resolution: 1024 x 768
INF: Vendor: MS DirectX
INF: Renderer: NVIDIA GeForce 6600 LE
INF: Version: 6.14.10.9131
TRC: EAX is not supported.
INF:
INF: Sfx API: DirectSound
INF: Device: Vinyl AC'97 Audio (WAVE)
INF: Mixer freq: 44100 Hz
INF: HW voices: 0
INF: Max sounds: 25 (5 same)
INF: Env FX: not supported
INF:
LOG: Winsock opened ok.
LOG: Module 'Bin/CodecOGG.module' loaded in '0.36' seconds.
LOG: Module 'Bin/Shaders.module' loaded in '0.70' seconds.
LOG: Module 'Bin/Shaders.module' loaded in '0.00' seconds.
LOG: Module 'Bin/ProcRender.module' loaded in '0.01' seconds.
LOG: Module 'Bin/Sam2Game.module' loaded in '3.23' seconds.
TRC: Boot stage completed.
LOG: resFreeUnusedProxies() released '6' proxy object.
LOG: resFreeUnusedStockTrivial() released 1 files in 0.00 seconds.
LOG: Timestamp: 2006/07/18 01:18:52
LOG: Stopping simulation.
LOG: Timestamp: 2006/07/18 01:18:52
LOG: Stopping world ''.
LOG: resFreeUnusedProxies() released '11' proxy object.
LOG: '0' resources were reverted to resource proxy objects.
LOG: resFreeUnusedStock() released 0 files in 0.02 seconds (0.000 freeing), after 1 passes
LOG: World stopped in 0.02sec.
LOG: resFreeUnusedProxies() released '0' proxy object.
LOG: resFreeUnusedStockTrivial() released 0 files in 0.00 seconds.
ERR: Can't play movie 'Content/SeriousSam2/Movies/Ntsc/1_1_INTRO.ogv' because file doesn't exist.
TRC: Found subtitles: Content/SeriousSam2/Movies/EPISODE_1.srt
LOG: resFreeUnusedProxies() released '33' proxy object.
LOG: resFreeUnusedStockTrivial() released 33 files in 0.00 seconds.
LOG: Started loading world "Content/SeriousSam2/Levels/01_Mdigbo/1_1_Jungle/1_1_Jungle.wld"
LOG: Navigation mesh consists of 2068 nodes and 8876 links.
TRC: Meta loader deleted 292 unused objects from 'Content/SeriousSam2/Levels/01_Mdigbo/1_1_Jungle/1_1_Jungle.wld' file.
LOG: resFreeUnusedProxies() released '1284' proxy object.
LOG: resFreeUnusedStockTrivial() released 4 files in 0.00 seconds.
LOG: Finished loading world.
LOG: Number of handles used: 10002
LOG: Timestamp: 2006/07/18 01:23:20
INF: Started simulation on 'Content/SeriousSam2/Levels/01_Mdigbo/1_1_Jungle/1_1_Jungle.wld' in 268.12 seconds.
TRC: Changing over to Content/SeriousSam2/Levels/01_Mdigbo/1_2_ApproachingVillage/1_2_ApproachingVillage.wld
LOG: Timestamp: 2006/07/18 01:27:45
LOG: Changing to 'Content/SeriousSam2/Levels/01_Mdigbo/1_2_ApproachingVillage/1_2_ApproachingVillage.wld'.
LOG: resFreeUnusedProxies() released '14' proxy object.
LOG: '0' resources were reverted to resource proxy objects.
LOG: resFreeUnusedStock() released 1106 files in 0.85 seconds (0.325 freeing), after 2 passes
LOG: World stopped in 0.92sec.
ERR: Can't play movie 'Content/SeriousSam2/Movies/Ntsc/1_1_OUTRO.ogv' because file doesn't exist.
LOG: resFreeUnusedProxies() released '1' proxy object.
LOG: resFreeUnusedStockTrivial() released 0 files in 0.00 seconds.
ERR: Can't play movie 'Content/SeriousSam2/Movies/Ntsc/1_2_INTRO.ogv' because file doesn't exist.
LOG: Started loading world "Content/SeriousSam2/Levels/01_Mdigbo/1_2_ApproachingVillage/1_2_ApproachingVillage.wld"
LOG: Navigation mesh consists of 1842 nodes and 7626 links.
TRC: Meta loader deleted 320 unused objects from 'Content/SeriousSam2/Levels/01_Mdigbo/1_2_ApproachingVillage/1_2_ApproachingVillage.wld' file.
LOG: resFreeUnusedProxies() released '897' proxy object.
LOG: resFreeUnusedStockTrivial() released 10 files in 0.00 seconds.
LOG: Finished loading world.
LOG: Timestamp: 2006/07/18 01:28:08
INF: Started simulation on 'Content/SeriousSam2/Levels/01_Mdigbo/1_2_ApproachingVillage/1_2_ApproachingVillage.wld' in 23.23 seconds.
TRC: (Direct3D) Device lost - waiting for reset.
TRC: (Direct3D) Device has been reset successfully.
TRC: (Direct3D) Device has been reset successfully.

(Think I got some gameplay data on there... huh.)

Hope someone can help me.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2006, 05:23 AM   #2   Add To Ignore List  
blahblahblah
 
--Fragman--'s Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: In an inexistant City
 
--Fragman-- is offline Send a message via ICQ to --Fragman-- Send a message via AIM to --Fragman-- Send a message via MSN to --Fragman--
Default

You checked this: http://forums.seriouszone.com/showthread.php?t=45824 ?

Might be that using another driver version (possibly one of the 7x series) might work out for you, but I don't know really.
__________________
City War City War 2 Rats Rats BTBA
--------------------------
Bomberman SS:XBOX

--------------------------
My Page!
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2006, 06:00 AM   #3   Add To Ignore List  
Razardous
 
The Serious Spoon's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: The Netherlands
 
The Serious Spoon is offline Send a message via ICQ to The Serious Spoon
Default

Did you overclock your graphics card? Probably not, as you put "(I sure hope YOU know what that means. I don't.)" in your first post, but that was the first thing that came to my mind when I saw those screenies.
__________________
Facebook | Last.fm | Twitter | DeviantArt

"And yet be reminded by the Gods that though cooperation is a friendly pursuit, friendly fire is righteous in its purging of the vile and corrupt. Let ye not be deserving of its wrath for the hoarding of power-ups."
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2006, 09:43 AM   #4   Add To Ignore List  
Mental
 
Deepblue's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
 
Deepblue is offline
Default

I've seen some graphical glitches because of computers before but....man! That's just nuts
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2006, 02:27 PM   #5   Add To Ignore List  
T-Mech
 
Galaxie's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: Dumb****istan
 
Galaxie is offline Send a message via MSN to Galaxie
Default

Yes I did find that thread but figured it didn't pertain to me as it was talking about dual core processors and whatnot. Which... I do not have. At least I know THAT much.

I have no idea how to overclock a GPU. (Or ANY processor for that matter.)

And indeed... I don't think I ever saw something quite like this.

I tried installing the older drivers. I think I installed 7.x like you said. (Any older install exe of the Nvidia drives didn't have drivers for my card in them.) And I even tried the 9.x beta drivers. Nothing worked.

So I swapped out the graphics card from my one machine and put it in my oldschool pentium 3.
For some reason I had absolutely no problem with this computer. The only problem being is that I have well... a crappy system running Serious Sam 2. Sure it runs at 640x480 at 15 frames a second... but it is still playable. I mean I am willing to play if that is what I have to do.

I think I will do another format and reinstall of windows on the other computer and see what happens. It HAS to be a problem other than the graphics card but I have NO idea what on earth could be causing that.

Hmm...

Do... Do you think that not installing Service Pack 2 could of caused this? I don't see why it would... but I just didn't feel like downloading the humongous install file which, of I remember correctly, is about 300 megs. I think I will go do that now though.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2006, 03:13 PM   #6   Add To Ignore List  
Mental
 
Deepblue's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
 
Deepblue is offline
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Galaxie
I have no idea how to overclock a GPU. (Or ANY processor for that matter.)
It doesn't hurt to ask you know (Though don't ask me cause I've no idea either)
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2006, 03:47 PM   #7   Add To Ignore List  
Hey ladies
 
Fiendian's Avatar
 
Glowing Red Stove Top
Joined: Nov 2002
Location: Iceland
 
Fiendian is offline Send a message via ICQ to Fiendian Send a message via MSN to Fiendian
Default

I don't recommend overclocking, at least not with big clock speed increases. You should make sure your cooling can handle the heat increase. But afaik you can configure the clockspeed in the nVidia console, in the BIOS or simply with a program.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2006, 06:22 PM   #8   Add To Ignore List  
( . Y . )
 
Monkeydee's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: wherever you aren't
 
Monkeydee is offline
Default

i'm thinking your directx version might be a little out of date if you're not running xp w/sp2.
__________________
Questioning everything a government does is the highest form of patriotism.

Coolest Site Ever
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2006, 11:41 AM   #9   Add To Ignore List  
Hey ladies
 
Fiendian's Avatar
 
Glowing Red Stove Top
Joined: Nov 2002
Location: Iceland
 
Fiendian is offline Send a message via ICQ to Fiendian Send a message via MSN to Fiendian
Default

Just to mention it, that is if it hasn't been mentioned before, that 91.31 have been reported to be very buggy. Try downgrade to 84.21, I'm using those and there are no graphical glitches.

Also make sure that you're using DX9.0c, you can go to Start > Run > dxdiag to check that out.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2006, 02:56 PM   #10   Add To Ignore List  
T-Mech
 
Galaxie's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: Dumb****istan
 
Galaxie is offline Send a message via MSN to Galaxie
Default

Allright. Thank you all for your help with this problem.

I have found the solution. Well not so much the solution but what is causing the problem.

As it turns out the GeForce 6600 cards have a history of problems. After installing other games I noticed the same problems occurred there. (Morrowind, DeusEx Invisible War.)

The problem is an incompatibility between my motherboard and the video card. (I think.)

Excuse me for posting this here, seeing as this is not a problem with Serious Sam 2 but with my hardware. (I only posted here because it first happened with Serious Sam 2.)
I thought I might as well just wrap this thread up.

Thank you for all your support. Seems that I got stuck with a crap card. Heh, silly me.

And in case anyone has the same problems may I point you to the Nvidia forums where they have a lot of suggestions on how to get this particular card working.

http://forums.nvidia.com/lofiversion...php?t1029.html

Toodles
-Gal.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2006, 03:04 PM   #11   Add To Ignore List  
Hey ladies
 
Fiendian's Avatar
 
Glowing Red Stove Top
Joined: Nov 2002
Location: Iceland
 
Fiendian is offline Send a message via ICQ to Fiendian Send a message via MSN to Fiendian
Default

Thanks for the information Galaxie.
Well keep that behind our ears if another 6600 owner reports a similar issue.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help I have a SERIOUS PROBLEM!!!!!!!!!!! Game wont start [HCI]Heihachi Serious Sam 2 3 10-17-2006 02:06 PM
SS2 Graphics Problem amcdermo Serious Sam 2 2 07-09-2006 11:00 AM
need serious help (weird graphics problem) longlonglong Serious Sam 2 16 06-15-2006 12:32 AM
Problem with graphics aff3 Serious Sam 2 6 03-19-2006 04:12 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:44 PM.