Seriously!

Go Back   Seriously! Forums > Serious Sam Series > Serious Sam 3

Serious Sam 3 Everything you want to know or say about Serious Sam 3!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-15-2012, 07:16 PM   #1   Add To Ignore List  
Gnaar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
 
lbp32 is offline
Default Crashes to desktop on new campaign. Please Help!

Hi everyone. I apologize if this has been answered somewhere, but I couldn't find any thread with this problem specifically.

I have the game minimum requirements exactly.
Athlon dual core X2 @ 2.0 ghz
ATI HD 4300/4500
4gb RAM

The game loads to the menu, I have all "lowest" performance options set. Then when I go to start anything (campaign, either of the first two deathmatch levels) the whole thing just quits to the desktop. Then the desktop blips like it's trying to load, but then just stays on the desktop. I can reload the game back to the menu as if nothing ever happened.

I'm sure you guys are going to want more info, but I'll wait to hear what you want. I want to thank yo in advance for any help you can give me. I just bought the game today and it's driving me crazy.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 11:40 AM   #2   Add To Ignore List  
Lava Golem
 
Joined: Apr 2003
 
jasser is offline
Default Re: Crashes to desktop on new campaign. Please Help!

Well, we can take it from the top, i guess.

First, verify your game cache in Steam (right click the game in the library --> properties --> local files --> verify integrity of game cache). Then try launching the game again.

If that doesn't do it, attach log file and rpt file (if it produces an rpt file).

Tell us what sort of anti-virus/firewall software you're running. And if you have anything out of the ordinary running in the background.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 09:44 PM   #3   Add To Ignore List  
Gnaar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
 
lbp32 is offline
Default Re: Crashes to desktop on new campaign. Please Help!

Thanks for the reply.

When I verify game cache, the same thing happens over and over. It says one file failed validation and it will be reacquired. It dowloads it, says it is ready to play, then the game does as before--loads to menu, menu works fine in every way, then when I go to play a level it all just closes out.

I just use the standard windows fare for AV and firewall. serious sam 3 is excluded though.

The log is below. It all seems fine right up to the very end where it says "Content/SeriousSam3/Levels/Z5_Other/SV_Deserted.wld"
Perhaps the problem is that the folder "levels" doesn't seem to exist on my hard drive. I can navigate to the serious sam 3 folder, but it is mostly full of .gro files. No .wld files to be found. Let me know if you can make anything of this. Thanks again.

-------- START OF LOG --------

21:31:22 LOG: Core version: $Version: distro_Sam3_PC; SeriousSam3-Windows-Final; 151466 2012-02-22 09:34:17 @builder05; Win32-Static-Final-Default$
21:31:22 LOG: Command: $
21:31:22 LOG: Initializing timer.
21:31:22 LOG: Timestamp: 2012/04/17 21:31:22
21:31:22 LOG: Binary name: Sam3.exe
21:31:22 LOG: Binary soft path: Bin/
21:31:22 LOG: Binary hard path: c:\program files\steam\steamapps\common\serious sam 3\Bin\
21:31:22 LOG: Application directory: c:\program files\steam\steamapps\common\serious sam 3\
21:31:22 LOG: * OS...
21:31:22 LOG: Name: Windows Vista (Home)
21:31:22 LOG: Kernel: WinNT (32-bit)
21:31:22 LOG: Version: 6.0, build 6002
21:31:22 LOG: Misc: Service Pack 2
21:31:22 LOG:
21:31:22 LOG: * CPU...
21:31:22 LOG: Vendor: AuthenticAMD
21:31:22 LOG: Type: 0, Family: 15, Model: 11, Stepping: 2
21:31:22 LOG: Clock: 2.00 GHz
21:31:22 LOG: Cores: 2
21:31:22 LOG: CMOV: Yes
21:31:22 LOG: SSE: Yes
21:31:22 LOG:
21:31:22 LOG: * Memory...
21:31:22 LOG: Total physical memory: 3325 MB
21:31:22 LOG: Free physical memory: 2013 MB
21:31:22 LOG:
21:31:22 LOG: Loaded "c:\program files\steam\steamapps\common\serious sam 3\Bin\ScriptLua.dll".
21:31:22 LOG: Loaded "c:\program files\steam\steamapps\common\serious sam 3\Bin\GameEnv_Steam.dll".
21:31:22 INF: GameEnv API: Steam
21:31:22 LOG: Error getting mixer source line info for microphone. Will not be able to control microphone.
21:31:22 LOG: Created thread 10128(ResourceLoader).
21:31:22 LOG: "$C:/Program Files/Steam/userdata/101793812/41070/local/SeriousSam3.ini" does not exist, skipping cvar loading.
21:31:22 LOG: Trying to set display mode 1440x900(fullscreen)...
21:31:23 INF:
21:31:23 INF: * Desktop settings...
21:31:23 INF: Color depth: 32-bit
21:31:23 INF: Desktop resolution: 1440 x 900
21:31:23 INF: Virtual screen: 1440 x 900
21:31:23 INF: Monitors attached: 1
21:31:23 LOG: Loaded "c:\program files\steam\steamapps\common\serious sam 3\Bin\GfxD3D.dll".
21:31:23 LOG: Loaded "D3D9.dll".
21:31:23 LOG: Loaded "D3DCompiler_43.dll".
21:31:23 LOG: Loaded "D3DX9_43.dll".
21:31:23 LOG: Loaded "ATIADLXX.DLL".
21:31:25 INF:
21:31:25 INF: Gfx API: Direct3D
21:31:25 INF: Resolution: 1440 x 900
21:31:25 INF: Vendor: ATI (0x1002)
21:31:25 INF: Driver: aticfx32.dll (0x954F)
21:31:25 INF: Renderer: ATI Radeon HD 4300/4500 Series
21:31:25 INF: Version: 8.17.10.1119
21:31:25 INF: Video memory size: 512 MB
21:31:25 INF: Available for textures: 1898 MB
21:31:25 INF: Active GPU(s): 1
21:31:25 LOG: Processing file Content/SeriousSam3/Config/CheckDriver.lua
21:31:25 INF: Driver version: 1119 (required: 1091)
21:31:25 LOG: Loaded "c:\program files\steam\steamapps\common\serious sam 3\Bin\SfxXAD.dll".
21:31:25 LOG: Loaded "X3DAudio1_7.dll".
21:31:25 INF:
21:31:25 INF: Sfx API: XAudio2
21:31:25 INF: Device: Speakers (High Definition Audio Device)
21:31:25 INF: Mixer frequency: 44100 Hz
21:31:25 INF: Mixer voices: 2
21:31:25 INF: Max sound sources: 25
21:31:25 INF: Max total volume: 3
21:31:25 INF: Speaker config: stereo
21:31:25 INF: Environment FX: enabled
21:31:25 INF: Current environment: Padded cell
21:31:25 INF:
21:31:25 LOG: Loaded "c:\program files\steam\steamapps\common\serious sam 3\Bin\SeriousSam3_Project.dll".
21:31:25 LOG: Content/SeriousSam3/All_01.gro: 6414 files, signature: OFFICIAL
21:31:25 LOG: Content/SeriousSam3/All_02.gro: 5133 files, signature: OFFICIAL
21:31:25 LOG: Content/SeriousSam3/All_145562.gro: 2565 files, signature: OFFICIAL
21:31:25 LOG: Content/SeriousSam3/All_147686.gro: 835 files, signature: OFFICIAL
21:31:25 LOG: Content/SeriousSam3/All_150406.gro: 627 files, signature: OFFICIAL
21:31:25 LOG: Content/SeriousSam3/All_151466.gro: 34 files, signature: OFFICIAL
21:31:25 LOG: Content/SeriousSam3/CachedShaders_PC.gro: 4523 files, signature: OFFICIAL
21:31:25 LOG: Loading translation tables from Content/SeriousSam3/Locales/enu/.
21:31:25 LOG: Content/SeriousSam3/Locales/enu/translation.tbl
21:31:26 LOG: Loaded "c:\program files\steam\steamapps\common\serious sam 3\Bin\CodecAudio_Vorbis.dll".
21:31:26 LOG: Module 'Bin/CodecAudio_Vorbis.module' loaded in '0.00' seconds.
21:31:26 LOG: Loaded "c:\program files\steam\steamapps\common\serious sam 3\Bin\CodecVideo_Null.dll".
21:31:26 LOG: Module 'Bin/CodecVideo_Null.module' loaded in '0.00' seconds.
21:31:26 LOG: Loaded "c:\program files\steam\steamapps\common\serious sam 3\Bin\Input.dll".
21:31:26 LOG: Loaded "xinput1_3.dll".
21:31:26 LOG: Module 'Bin/Input.module' loaded in '0.01' seconds.
21:31:26 LOG: Loaded "c:\program files\steam\steamapps\common\serious sam 3\Bin\Game.dll".
21:31:26 LOG: Module 'Bin/Game.module' loaded in '0.00' seconds.
21:31:26 LOG: Loaded "c:\program files\steam\steamapps\common\serious sam 3\Bin\ProcRender.dll".
21:31:26 LOG: Loaded "c:\program files\steam\steamapps\common\serious sam 3\Bin\Shaders.dll".
21:31:26 LOG: Module 'Bin/Shaders.module' loaded in '0.02' seconds.
21:31:26 LOG: Module 'Bin/ProcRender.module' loaded in '0.03' seconds.
21:31:26 LOG: Module 'Bin/Shaders.module' loaded in '0.00' seconds.
21:31:26 LOG: Alienware LightFX is not installed.
21:31:26 LOG: Module 'Bin/SeriousSam3_Project.module' loaded in '1.01' seconds.
21:31:26 LOG: Processing file Content/SeriousSam3/Config/autoexec.cfg
21:31:26 LOG: Created thread 9540(GameDataJobs).
21:31:26 LOG: cvarShowDiffs()
21:31:26 LOG: gfx_bLastGoodFullScreen = 1 (0)
21:31:26 LOG: gfx_pixLastGoodResHeight = 900 (480)
21:31:26 LOG: gfx_pixLastGoodResWidth = 1440 (640)
21:31:26 LOG: gfx_pixResHeight = 900 (0)
21:31:26 LOG: gfx_pixResWidth = 1440 (0)
21:31:26 LOG: snd_fVoiceCommVolume = 0.7 (1)
21:31:26 LOG: Processing file Content/SeriousSam3/Config/AutoDetect.lua
21:31:26 INF: AutoDetect: No previous hardware values stored, adjusting settings automatically.
21:31:26 INF: CPU efficiency: 1803.6 MHz * 2 cores = 3246.48 Mhz
21:31:26 INF: ID: 0x954f; card: Radeon HD 43x0/4450/45x0 series; quality: 1
21:31:26 LOG: 0 textures reloaded in 0.6 seconds
21:31:28 LOG: 205 shaders reloaded in 2.0 seconds
21:31:28 INF: AutoDetect: storing new settings: gfx_iPixelProgramVersion=40,gfx_ctConcurrentGPUs=1 ,sys_iGPUVendorID=4098,sys_iCPUFamily=15,sys_iCPUM Hz=2004,sys_iGPUDeviceID=38223,sys_strCPUVendor=Au thenticAMD,gfx_ulVideoMemoryMB=512,
21:31:59 LOG: Started loading world "Content/SeriousSam3/Levels/Menu/Intro.wld"
21:31:59 LOG: Finished loading world. (process memory: 833 MB)
21:31:59 LOG: Timestamp: 2012/04/17 21:31:59
21:31:59 INF: Started simulation on 'Content/SeriousSam3/Levels/Menu/Intro.wld' in 0.59 seconds.
21:31:59 LOG: Created thread 9936(WorkerThreadPool).
21:31:59 TRC: 2 sound channels reinitialized.
21:32:34 LOG: Started loading world "Content/SeriousSam3/Levels/Menu/MenuLevel.wld"
21:32:34 LOG: Finished loading world. (process memory: 861 MB)
21:32:34 LOG: Timestamp: 2012/04/17 21:32:34
21:32:34 INF: Started simulation on 'Content/SeriousSam3/Levels/Menu/MenuLevel.wld' in 0.05 seconds.
21:32:41 INF: Current quality: CPU speed=Lowest, GPU speed=Lowest (1 customized), GPU memory=Medium
21:32:41 INF: Customized GPU speed cvars:
21:32:41 INF: ren_bPrebakedDynamicLights = 0 (was 1)
21:32:41 INF:
21:32:45 INF: Current quality: CPU speed=Lowest, GPU speed=Lowest (1 customized), GPU memory=Medium
21:32:45 INF: Customized GPU speed cvars:
21:32:45 INF: ren_bPrebakedDynamicLights = 0 (was 1)
21:32:45 INF:
21:33:00 LOG: Processing file Content/SeriousSam3/Config/AutoDetect.lua
21:33:00 INF: AutoDetect: Forced to adjust settings automatically.
21:33:00 INF: CPU efficiency: 1803.6 MHz * 2 cores = 3246.48 Mhz
21:33:00 INF: ID: 0x954f; card: Radeon HD 43x0/4450/45x0 series; quality: 1
21:33:20 LOG: 677 textures reloaded in 20.6 seconds
21:33:23 LOG: 557 shaders reloaded in 2.7 seconds
21:33:23 INF: AutoDetect: storing new settings: gfx_iPixelProgramVersion=40,gfx_ctConcurrentGPUs=1 ,sys_iGPUVendorID=4098,sys_iCPUFamily=15,sys_iCPUM Hz=2004,sys_iGPUDeviceID=38223,sys_strCPUVendor=Au thenticAMD,gfx_ulVideoMemoryMB=512,
21:33:23 INF: Auto detect quality: CPU speed=Lowest, GPU speed=Lowest (1 customized), GPU memory=Medium
21:33:23 INF: Customized GPU speed cvars:
21:33:23 INF: ren_bPrebakedDynamicLights = 0 (was 1)
21:33:23 INF:
21:33:49 LOG: Trying to set display mode 1440x900(window)...
21:33:49 LOG: Loaded "c:\program files\steam\steamapps\common\serious sam 3\Bin\GfxD3D.dll".
21:33:49 LOG: Loaded "D3D9.dll".
21:33:49 LOG: Loaded "D3DCompiler_43.dll".
21:33:49 LOG: Loaded "D3DX9_43.dll".
21:33:50 LOG: Loaded "ATIADLXX.DLL".
21:33:50 LOG: Alienware LightFX is not installed.
21:34:10 INF:
21:34:10 INF: Gfx API: Direct3D
21:34:10 INF: Window: 1440 x 884
21:34:10 INF: Vendor: ATI (0x1002)
21:34:10 INF: Driver: aticfx32.dll (0x954F)
21:34:10 INF: Renderer: ATI Radeon HD 4300/4500 Series
21:34:10 INF: Version: 8.17.10.1119
21:34:10 INF: Video memory size: 512 MB
21:34:10 INF: Available for textures: 1913 MB
21:34:10 INF: Active GPU(s): 1
21:34:24 LOG: Starting level: "Content/SeriousSam3/Levels/Z5_Other/SV_Deserted.wld"
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 12:34 AM   #4   Add To Ignore List  
Hey ladies
 
Fiendian's Avatar
 
Glowing Red Stove Top
Joined: Nov 2002
Location: Iceland
 
Fiendian is offline Send a message via ICQ to Fiendian Send a message via MSN to Fiendian
Default Re: Crashes to desktop on new campaign. Please Help!

That is very unusual, it does not even reach the crash logic to close the log file and print info about the problem. Do all other modern 3D games work on your system?
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 06:10 AM   #5   Add To Ignore List  
Gnaar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
 
lbp32 is offline
Default Re: Crashes to desktop on new campaign. Please Help!

Hi Fiendian,
I do not play any computer games any more, mostly because of problems just like this. So my assumption is that no, most modern 3d games would not play on my system (as you can see from my computer stats). But SS3 met the minimum requirements, so I decided to give it a shot.

The game just blinks out as soon as i click on a level to load. When the game loads normally, does the menu window close and then a game window opens?
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 11:41 AM   #6   Add To Ignore List  
Lava Golem
 
Joined: Apr 2003
 
jasser is offline
Default Re: Crashes to desktop on new campaign. Please Help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by lbp32 View Post
Thanks for the reply.

When I verify game cache, the same thing happens over and over. It says one file failed validation and it will be reacquired. It dowloads it, says it is ready to play, then the game does as before--loads to menu, menu works fine in every way, then when I go to play a level it all just closes out.
That's ok, it's supposed to do that (the one file it reacquires every time is the exe).

Quote:
Originally Posted by lbp32 View Post
The log is below. It all seems fine right up to the very end where it says "Content/SeriousSam3/Levels/Z5_Other/SV_Deserted.wld"
Perhaps the problem is that the folder "levels" doesn't seem to exist on my hard drive. I can navigate to the serious sam 3 folder, but it is mostly full of .gro files. No .wld files to be found. Let me know if you can make anything of this.
Maps and other stuff is inside the gro files, so you're not supposed to see a levels folder.

As Fiendian told you, there's nothing unusual in the log. It doesn't make it any better that it crashes before triggering the crash logic in the game, so we don't even know where it failed.


Quote:
Originally Posted by lbp32 View Post
When the game loads normally, does the menu window close and then a game window opens?
Nope, just continues in the same window.

This might seem odd, but since you're on Vista, could you try turning off UAC temporarily and launching the game with it off? Just to see if it's possibly messing with something. It shouldn't be, but it can't hurt to check.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 07:53 PM   #7   Add To Ignore List  
Gnaar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
 
lbp32 is offline
Default Re: Crashes to desktop on new campaign. Please Help!

UAC is already off. Seems I'm pretty much screwed. Purchased a copy of a game, can't refund it, Croteam has no support, Steam won't respond to my emails. I guess I just flushed those $ down the toilet.

Well, if you guys think of anything else, let me know. Otherwise thank you for trying to help me out.

No wonder people have moved to consoles.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 02:29 PM   #8   Add To Ignore List  
Lava Golem
 
Joined: Apr 2003
 
jasser is offline
Default Re: Crashes to desktop on new campaign. Please Help!

Are there any mdmp files in the Bin folder of the game corresponding to your crashes?
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 06:35 PM   #9   Add To Ignore List  
Gnaar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
 
lbp32 is offline
Default Re: Crashes to desktop on new campaign. Please Help!

I'm going to redownload and reinstall one more time. I'll let you know jasser.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 06:36 PM   #10   Add To Ignore List  
Gnaar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
 
lbp32 is offline
Default Re: Crashes to desktop on new campaign. Please Help!

I bought/downloaded from amazon.com. any known problems with that?
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 01:05 PM   #11   Add To Ignore List  
Lava Golem
 
Joined: Apr 2003
 
jasser is offline
Default Re: Crashes to desktop on new campaign. Please Help!

Not from what i've heard.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 01:07 AM   #12   Add To Ignore List  
Gnaar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
 
lbp32 is offline
Default Re: Crashes to desktop on new campaign. Please Help!

Just reinstalled and tried again. that file wasn't in the folder.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 11:19 AM   #13   Add To Ignore List  
Hey ladies
 
Fiendian's Avatar
 
Glowing Red Stove Top
Joined: Nov 2002
Location: Iceland
 
Fiendian is offline Send a message via ICQ to Fiendian Send a message via MSN to Fiendian
Default Re: Crashes to desktop on new campaign. Please Help!

I'm sorry that we couldn't be of more help. If it is of any consolation the game will still be waiting for you when you upgrade your computer in the future, in my experience full upgrades and reinstalls are the two most effective problem-solvers.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:45 PM.