Seriously!

Go Back   Seriously! Forums > Serious Sam Series > Serious Sam Classic

Serious Sam Classic Discuss anything and everything relating to Serious Sam Classic and its 2 parts; The First Encounter and The Second Encounter.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 08-26-2003, 03:47 AM   #1   Add To Ignore List  
Did you see?
 
Louva-Deus's Avatar
 
魂クラッシャー
Joined: Oct 2001
 
Louva-Deus is offline
Default Un-Official Network & Hardware Update

This is a project i have been working on for many years. It features added hardware support and better internet connection settings. Both these features enhance online gameplay as well as singleplayer gameplay. It is fully compatible with all versions of the original games and the Steam releases. Enjoy!

>> Download Here <<

Note: Backup your scripts folder if you want to undo this action!

For Steam versions extract to:

[Your Steam Folder]\steamapps\common\serious sam classic the first encounter\Scripts
[Your Steam Folder]\steamapps\common\serious sam classic the second encounter\Scripts

For Original versions extract to these default folders (or to wherever you installed them):

[Program Files]\Croteam\Serious Sam\Scripts
[Program Files]\Croteam\Serious Sam - The Second Encounter\Scripts


Changes 1.1 - 4/22/2014
- Fixed problems with starting levels
- Increased network resend/wait times (untested & only works on TSE)
- Respawn In Place and 2nd Mouse Port are now enabled by default

Changes 1.09d - 2/27/2012
- Restored original game intros
- Added auto-support for all newer video cards (since 2007)
- Removed support for unknown lower level video cards

Changes 1.09b - 9/18/2007
- Added new server-side value to improve hosting speeds
- Updated network prediction settings

Changes 1.09 - 7/18/2007
- Added support for Radeon series X video cards
- Added support for Geforce series 6xxx, 7xxx, & 8xxx video cards
- Revamped the internet connection settings system

Changes 1.0 - 8/26/2003
- Added support for Radeon series 8500-9900 video cards
- Added support for Geforce series 4 & FX video cards
- Added support for Quadro series 4, NVS, & FX video cards
- Added better support for oddly configured systems hardware
- Added debug messages
- Enhanced 'speed', 'normal', & 'quality' video settings
- Enhanced internet connection settings

Please let me know if this works for you and improves your gaming experience.

Last edited by Louva-Deus; 04-22-2014 at 03:14 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2003, 04:15 AM   #2   Add To Ignore List  
_Ms
Lost Days
 
_Ms's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: Maricopa, Arizona
 
_Ms is offline
Default

I tried out the network stuff (I like to set my own vid options) and the receve data was about 10-12x slower but once in game it was FAR better then the old scripts (used DSLx or Cable modem script)
__________________
GAHH!!!
You can't spray cheese whiz on the body of Christ!!!

What? Why not?
Jesus tastes too dry and stale
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2003, 12:10 PM   #3   Add To Ignore List  
Nyuk!
 
DiEgo's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2001
Location: (unknown)
 
DiEgo is offline
Default

Good job louva, now people can't complain about bitchy netcode! If they do, just point to this.
__________________
Children are like TV sets. When they start acting weird, whack them across the eyes with a big rubber basketball shoe.
-HST

Lo Rez
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2003, 03:18 PM   #4   Add To Ignore List  
Universal Remonster
 
LeChuck's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2001
 
LeChuck is offline
Default

Heh, sorta like the unofficial patch made for Red Faction. Good job
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2003, 03:52 PM   #5   Add To Ignore List  
Did you see?
 
Louva-Deus's Avatar
 
魂クラッシャー
Joined: Oct 2001
 
Louva-Deus is offline
Default

can those who have tried it let me know aproximately how much better online play is and if their fps goes up or not? fps wont go up much unless you have any of the video cards mentioned in the first post.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2003, 04:39 PM   #6   Add To Ignore List  
Man from 2525
 
Shuriken's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: The Valley of Death
 
Shuriken is offline Send a message via AIM to Shuriken
Default

Is this legal? If so, why haven't we fixed the netcode before? Or is it just switching the settings?


Client:Timeout recieving UDP port or something similar
__________________
CLICK THIS

Last edited by Shuriken; 08-26-2003 at 04:42 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2003, 05:47 PM   #7   Add To Ignore List  
...is dreaming.
 
Oswald's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2001
Location: Erotic City, mn
 
Oswald is offline Send a message via ICQ to Oswald Send a message via AIM to Oswald
Default

...
damn. i'm giving this thing a run now.

added: great, great stuff louva. i was dorkin' about on pointless' server and it ran beauitfully. this is quite possibly, the best thing evar for sam.
__________________
"You're serious? Here, I can be stupid too." - M. Shake

Shameless self-promotion - click here to see my portfolio.
Shamelessly ripping films apart with the Popcorn Nazis.

Last edited by Oswald; 08-26-2003 at 06:19 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2003, 06:14 PM   #8   Add To Ignore List  
Universal Remonster
 
LeChuck's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2001
 
LeChuck is offline
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shuriken
Is this legal? If so, why haven't we fixed the netcode before? Or is it just switching the settings?


Client:Timeout recieving UDP port or something similar

It's legal, you still need the original game. People have done unofficial patches before.

Last edited by LeChuck; 08-26-2003 at 06:17 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2003, 06:47 PM   #9   Add To Ignore List  
Did you see?
 
Louva-Deus's Avatar
 
魂クラッシャー
Joined: Oct 2001
 
Louva-Deus is offline
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Ms
I tried out the network stuff (I like to set my own vid options)
im curious what you mean by that. have you modified the glsettings?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2003, 09:36 PM   #10   Add To Ignore List  
_Ms
Lost Days
 
_Ms's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: Maricopa, Arizona
 
_Ms is offline
Default

I was thinking it was someting else

Well in a small area in a map that I tested with croteams I had a FPS of 240-90 with an avg of 120 and with yours I had FPS around 220-78 with an avg about 98
__________________
GAHH!!!
You can't spray cheese whiz on the body of Christ!!!

What? Why not?
Jesus tastes too dry and stale
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2003, 01:27 AM   #11   Add To Ignore List  
Gnaar
 
S.W.A.T.'s Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: California
 
S.W.A.T. is offline Send a message via AIM to S.W.A.T.
Default

Hi Louva-Deus,

I am swat73 from the mirc channel and I will help you test the new one if you tell me how to benchmark :-)

See ya
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2003, 02:33 AM   #12   Add To Ignore List  
Did you see?
 
Louva-Deus's Avatar
 
魂クラッシャー
Joined: Oct 2001
 
Louva-Deus is offline
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Ms
I was thinking it was someting else

Well in a small area in a map that I tested with croteams I had a FPS of 240-90 with an avg of 120 and with yours I had FPS around 220-78 with an avg about 98
the 'speed', 'normal', and 'quality' set how much video memory the game will optomize for. so if you are using a setting higher than your video card supports your performance will decrease. thats what the debug messages are for, it tells you what settings you are using. just look in console and compare to how much video ram is on your video card then adjust appropriately.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2003, 02:36 AM   #13   Add To Ignore List  
Did you see?
 
Louva-Deus's Avatar
 
魂クラッシャー
Joined: Oct 2001
 
Louva-Deus is offline
Default

i need 10 people to test this and a new version. you need to be able to benchmark so i will be able to tell if there is any improvement or not.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2003, 03:08 AM   #14   Add To Ignore List  
_Ms
Lost Days
 
_Ms's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: Maricopa, Arizona
 
_Ms is offline
Default

I would like to test it out.

Also I set it up for quality and it was MUCH better. Before it was custom so I guess I had some settings that conflicted
__________________
GAHH!!!
You can't spray cheese whiz on the body of Christ!!!

What? Why not?
Jesus tastes too dry and stale
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2003, 06:14 PM   #15   Add To Ignore List  
Man from 2525
 
Shuriken's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: The Valley of Death
 
Shuriken is offline Send a message via AIM to Shuriken
Default

I can't connect to servers now...
__________________
CLICK THIS
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2003, 08:18 PM   #16   Add To Ignore List  
Did you see?
 
Louva-Deus's Avatar
 
魂クラッシャー
Joined: Oct 2001
 
Louva-Deus is offline
Default

have you tried different connection settings?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2003, 08:26 PM   #17   Add To Ignore List  
Man from 2525
 
Shuriken's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: The Valley of Death
 
Shuriken is offline Send a message via AIM to Shuriken
Default

And what might those be? You mean the cable/dsl etc. selections or other ones?
__________________
CLICK THIS
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2003, 08:46 PM   #18   Add To Ignore List  
Did you see?
 
Louva-Deus's Avatar
 
魂クラッシャー
Joined: Oct 2001
 
Louva-Deus is offline
Default

yes cable/dsl lan isdn etc.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2003, 08:57 PM   #19   Add To Ignore List  
Man from 2525
 
Shuriken's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: The Valley of Death
 
Shuriken is offline Send a message via AIM to Shuriken
Default

56k seems to work, and very well.

But, when people join the srver I am hosting or on, the lag is RIDICULOUSLY bad for a while.
__________________
CLICK THIS
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2003, 05:31 PM   #20   Add To Ignore List  
Did you see?
 
Louva-Deus's Avatar
 
魂クラッシャー
Joined: Oct 2001
 
Louva-Deus is offline
Default

its like that on dialup. how was it any different before?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2003, 05:38 PM   #21   Add To Ignore List  
Man from 2525
 
Shuriken's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: The Valley of Death
 
Shuriken is offline Send a message via AIM to Shuriken
Default

it's worse.

BTW, I have Comcast Cable...
__________________
CLICK THIS
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2003, 05:57 PM   #22   Add To Ignore List  
Did you see?
 
Louva-Deus's Avatar
 
魂クラッシャー
Joined: Oct 2001
 
Louva-Deus is offline
Default

then use the cable setting...
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2003, 06:52 PM   #23   Add To Ignore List  
Man from 2525
 
Shuriken's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: The Valley of Death
 
Shuriken is offline Send a message via AIM to Shuriken
Default

I told you, it doesn't work on the cable setting, it has problems with the UDP port or somesuch...
__________________
CLICK THIS
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2003, 01:26 PM   #24   Add To Ignore List  
Did you see?
 
Louva-Deus's Avatar
 
魂クラッシャー
Joined: Oct 2001
 
Louva-Deus is offline
Default

have you tried pressing connect again when you get that error?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2003, 08:18 PM   #25   Add To Ignore List  
Paladin Level 7
 
MR. SLiK's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: Computer Room
 
MR. SLiK is offline
Default

the link is dead, is it still hosted?
__________________
To be, or not to be, now that's a SERIOUS question.

HAHAHA! You think this is the real Quiayd? It is.
The final swing is not a drill It's how many people I can kill

<<(:: + MERC + ::)>> MR. SLiK
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2003, 05:14 AM   #26   Add To Ignore List  
Gnaar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
 
OvermindDL1 is offline Send a message via MSN to OvermindDL1
Default

I have a Radeon 9700 Pro, and play multi often enough, I will give this a try and see if there is any performence increase/decrease in FPS at the least, if the link will work that is...

Last edited by OvermindDL1; 09-01-2003 at 05:39 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2003, 08:08 PM   #27   Add To Ignore List  
Did you see?
 
Louva-Deus's Avatar
 
魂クラッシャー
Joined: Oct 2001
 
Louva-Deus is offline
Default

fixed the link
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2003, 08:40 PM   #28   Add To Ignore List  
Gnaar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
 
OvermindDL1 is offline Send a message via MSN to OvermindDL1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Louva-Deus
fixed the link
Thanks, will download tonight if I get home early enough, by Thursday at the latest.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2003, 08:21 PM   #29   Add To Ignore List  
Did you see?
 
Louva-Deus's Avatar
 
魂クラッシャー
Joined: Oct 2001
 
Louva-Deus is offline
Default

Anymore volunteers? I will be starting the next version of this project with information I have from Croteam as well as some information I found elsewhere. Still looking for at least 10 volunteers. PM me if you are interested.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2003, 07:51 PM   #30   Add To Ignore List  
Did you see?
 
Louva-Deus's Avatar
 
魂クラッシャー
Joined: Oct 2001
 
Louva-Deus is offline
Default

Version 1.08 beta 1 is currently in testing. Out of curiousity should I actually change the version number to show as 1.08 with this update?
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:12 PM.