Seriously!
Go Back   Seriously! Forums > General > Off Topic Forum

Off Topic Forum Discuss anything and everything in this forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-14-2005, 07:27 PM   #1  
Werebull
 
Zerg-OverMind's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: USA, GA
 
Zerg-OverMind is offline Send a message via MSN to Zerg-OverMind
Default Quake 2 Uncompiler

Hi everyone! I'm modding this one mod for my friend to make it more fun for him and I need an uncompiler and I cant use the source code because it wont have that moded code in there that I'm modding... Was that a bit confusing? Well I'm modding this mod my friend downloaded...
__________________
"It's not what's through it's what's believed by your enemy!" - Mushroomhead, Destroy the World Around Me

"You sing along! You get the horn! This is your favourite song!" - INSTILL, Horn

Admin Plus 1.1
// If you find a bug with this let me know

SS Hacking
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2005, 07:28 PM   #2  
The Wwwyzzerdd
 
Divx's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2001
Location: Hipster Mecca
 
Divx is offline Send a message via AIM to Divx
Default

__________________
... tackling logic one gate at a time.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2005, 07:34 PM   #3  
Hey ladies
 
Fiendian's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2002
Location: Iceland
 
Fiendian is offline Steam ID: BjossiAlfreds Send a message via ICQ to Fiendian Send a message via MSN to Fiendian
Default

Zerg, you should have requests more detailed so people know exactly what you need.

You need an uncompiler that can uncompile DLLs that Quake 2 uses. I think these DLLs are made with C++ coding.

Last edited by Fiendian; 01-14-2005 at 07:41 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2005, 07:46 PM   #4  
Werebull
 
Zerg-OverMind's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: USA, GA
 
Zerg-OverMind is offline Send a message via MSN to Zerg-OverMind
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fiendan
Zerg, you should have requests more detailed so people know exactly what you need.

You need an uncompiler that can uncompile DLLs that Quake 2 uses. I think these DLLs are made with C++ coding.
Yes all DLLs are in C++
__________________
"It's not what's through it's what's believed by your enemy!" - Mushroomhead, Destroy the World Around Me

"You sing along! You get the horn! This is your favourite song!" - INSTILL, Horn

Admin Plus 1.1
// If you find a bug with this let me know

SS Hacking
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2005, 08:06 PM   #5  
Hey ladies
 
Fiendian's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2002
Location: Iceland
 
Fiendian is offline Steam ID: BjossiAlfreds Send a message via ICQ to Fiendian Send a message via MSN to Fiendian
Default

Shrinker told us they are Assembler language, do you know how that code works?
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2005, 08:38 PM   #6  
λ
 
Shrinker's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2001
Location: Germany
 
Shrinker is offline Send a message via ICQ to Shrinker Send a message via AIM to Shrinker Send a message via MSN to Shrinker
Default

The DLLs directly are not in assembler, they are in byte code resembling assembler.
__________________
Homepage | Mirror I | Twitter
 The Beautiful Nature
  Lights | Echoes
   Arrival Mix | Tree of Life

  Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2005, 08:44 PM   #7  
Hey ladies
 
Fiendian's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2002
Location: Iceland
 
Fiendian is offline Steam ID: BjossiAlfreds Send a message via ICQ to Fiendian Send a message via MSN to Fiendian
Default

I´m lost, Zerg probably understands this.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2005, 09:18 PM   #8  
Egg
Block faced Pirate
 
Egg's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2001
Location: Australia mate
 
Egg is offline
Default

Oh, I highly doubt it.
__________________
Damjan Mravunac - Hey, what about a game called 'Serious John' where you run around Vegas and play with strippers?! Noooo.... too complex. It would take forever to finish it...
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2005, 03:38 AM   #9  
0wner
 
Rodzilla's Avatar
 
Seriously! Reaper
Joined: May 2001
Location: Georgia Tech
 
Rodzilla is offline
Default

lol...
__________________
Rodzilla
-Seriously! Director of Operations
- I'm a Ramblin' Gamblin', Hell of an Engineer!
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2005, 06:21 AM   #10  
Modding Fool
 
D w K's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
 
D w K is offline
Default

Code:
Steps to modding anything:

Step 1.

Download Source Code.

Step 2.

Modify Source Coce.

Step 3.

Test Modifications.

Step 4.

Modify some more.

Step 5.

Fix what you f'ed up in Step 4.

Step 6.

Thank God you fixed Step 4's f'up.

Step 7.

Modify some more source code.

Step 8.

Wish you had backed up before Step 7 :(

Step 9.

Thank god you got back to the point you were at Step 4.

Step 10.

Step 9 is now backed up, ready to rock and roll, make tons of changes.

Step 11.

Now the game crashes, wtf?

Step 12.

Mess around for a week trying to fix all the stuff you messed up on Step 10....

Step 13.

Give up and go back to Step 9's backup.

Step 14.

Learn that patience and baby steps make a mod.

Step 15.

Forgot Step 14, f it all up, start again at Step 1.......
Well that was fun but I think we have a bigger problem here....

Zerg, are you in need of some meds? I'm serious here, in a kind of just kidding, but worrying that I'm not kidding kind of way.

I recommend you spend more time researching and doing/attempting to do than posting on these forums.

Just my opinion, I don't mean to be mean or anything, because you seem like a passionate kind of guy, and I can understand that.

But It won't get the job done!

Last edited by D w K; 01-15-2005 at 06:24 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2005, 06:25 AM   #11  
Razardous
 
The Serious Spoon's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: The Netherlands
 
The Serious Spoon is offline Send a message via ICQ to The Serious Spoon
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by D w k
Steps to modding anything:

Step 1.

Download Source Code.

Step 2.

Modify Source Coce.

Step 3.

Test Modifications.

Step 4.

Modify some more.

Step 5.

Fix what you f'ed up in Step 4.

Step 6.

Thank God you fixed Step 4's f'up.

Step 7.

Modify some more source code.

Step 8.

Wish you had backed up before Step 7

Step 9.

Thank god you got back to the point you were at Step 4.

Step 10.

Step 4 is now backed up, ready to rock and roll, make tons of changes.

Step 11.

Now the game crashes, wtf?

Step 12.

Mess around for a week trying to fix all the stuff you messed up on Step 10....

Step 13.

Give up and go back to Step 4's backup.

Step 14.

Learn that patience and baby steps make a mod.

Step 15.

Forgot Step 14, f it all up, start again at Step 1.......
__________________
Facebook | Last.fm | Twitter | DeviantArt

"And yet be reminded by the Gods that though cooperation is a friendly pursuit, friendly fire is righteous in its purging of the vile and corrupt. Let ye not be deserving of its wrath for the hoarding of power-ups."
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2005, 07:25 AM   #12  
-
 
Joined: Nov 2001
 
fetzer is offline
Default

disassembling closed source applications is illegal
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2005, 07:27 AM   #13  
blahblahblah
 
--Fragman--'s Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: In an inexistant City
 
--Fragman-- is offline Send a message via ICQ to --Fragman-- Send a message via AIM to --Fragman-- Send a message via MSN to --Fragman-- Send a message via Skype™ to --Fragman--
Default

Ok, so you want to mod a mod that is already there?
Ever thought of what the people that made it would think of that if you just took their work and do what you want with it?

Apart from that, you won't be able to modify those disassembled dlls.
Ask the guys that made it for the source code, if they're nice, they'll probably give it to you if they still have it.
__________________
City War City War 2 Rats Rats BTBA
--------------------------
Bomberman SS:XBOX

--------------------------
My Page!
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2005, 09:26 AM   #14  
Werebull
 
Zerg-OverMind's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: USA, GA
 
Zerg-OverMind is offline Send a message via MSN to Zerg-OverMind
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by --Fragman--
Ok, so you want to mod a mod that is already there?
Ever thought of what the people that made it would think of that if you just took their work and do what you want with it?

Apart from that, you won't be able to modify those disassembled dlls.
Ask the guys that made it for the source code, if they're nice, they'll probably give it to you if they still have it.
that's why it's for Fenidan only, I think posting a forum on SSF would be a great source of research. Because ppl who might have played Q2 and modded it will know this stuff, all I'm asking for is an uncompiler.
__________________
"It's not what's through it's what's believed by your enemy!" - Mushroomhead, Destroy the World Around Me

"You sing along! You get the horn! This is your favourite song!" - INSTILL, Horn

Admin Plus 1.1
// If you find a bug with this let me know

SS Hacking
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2005, 03:04 PM   #15  
Hey ladies
 
Fiendian's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2002
Location: Iceland
 
Fiendian is offline Steam ID: BjossiAlfreds Send a message via ICQ to Fiendian Send a message via MSN to Fiendian
Default

Zerg, I think it´d be a better idea to start over since we now know that DLLs are "protected".
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2005, 02:37 AM   #16  
大君主
 
Louva-Deus's Avatar
 
Seriously! Overlord
Joined: Oct 2001
 
Louva-Deus is offline Steam ID: LouvaDeus Facebook: LouvaDeusS Twitter: JonathanTanzer Youtube: TheSeriousZone
Default

First of all.. it's called a decompiler.. and no you can't have one. Try to avoid illegal activities, I'm sure we would all miss you if you were stuck in a boys home for the next five years.

Your only solution to this is to ask the author of the mod if he/she would be willing to give you the source code to make your own version. If they say no or don't even respond then find something else to work on.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2005, 08:40 AM   #17  
Hey ladies
 
Fiendian's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2002
Location: Iceland
 
Fiendian is offline Steam ID: BjossiAlfreds Send a message via ICQ to Fiendian Send a message via MSN to Fiendian
Default

Louve, that´s the problem. The author hasn´t answered my email nor private message for weeks.

But you´re right, it´d be better to start a new mod. But I think Zerg doesn´t know how Quake 2´s code works. So he´ll need the Quake 2 source, that might help wouldn´t it?
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2005, 08:59 AM   #18  
Nev
Kleer
 
Nev's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: Stockholm
 
Nev is offline Send a message via ICQ to Nev Send a message via MSN to Nev
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fiendan
Louve, that´s the problem. The author hasn´t answered my email nor private message for weeks.

But you´re right, it´d be better to start a new mod. But I think Zerg doesn´t know how Quake 2´s code works. So he´ll need the Quake 2 source, that might help wouldn´t it?
Download the Quake 2 source, then?
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2005, 09:28 AM   #19  
Hey ladies
 
Fiendian's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2002
Location: Iceland
 
Fiendian is offline Steam ID: BjossiAlfreds Send a message via ICQ to Fiendian Send a message via MSN to Fiendian
Default

Then what?
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2005, 06:25 PM   #20  
Nev
Kleer
 
Nev's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: Stockholm
 
Nev is offline Send a message via ICQ to Nev Send a message via MSN to Nev
Default

Then that'd help, wouldn't it?
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2005, 06:25 PM   #21  
Werebull
 
Zerg-OverMind's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: USA, GA
 
Zerg-OverMind is offline Send a message via MSN to Zerg-OverMind
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fiendan
Then what?
Then i code like hell
__________________
"It's not what's through it's what's believed by your enemy!" - Mushroomhead, Destroy the World Around Me

"You sing along! You get the horn! This is your favourite song!" - INSTILL, Horn

Admin Plus 1.1
// If you find a bug with this let me know

SS Hacking
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2005, 07:17 PM   #22  
0wner
 
Rodzilla's Avatar
 
Seriously! Reaper
Joined: May 2001
Location: Georgia Tech
 
Rodzilla is offline
Default

I thought the source for Quake 2 has been released...
__________________
Rodzilla
-Seriously! Director of Operations
- I'm a Ramblin' Gamblin', Hell of an Engineer!
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2005, 08:42 PM   #23  
Werebull
 
Zerg-OverMind's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: USA, GA
 
Zerg-OverMind is offline Send a message via MSN to Zerg-OverMind
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rodzilla
I thought the source for Quake 2 has been released...
it has been released, I'm gonna recode it to make a mod, that's what i mean anyway
__________________
"It's not what's through it's what's believed by your enemy!" - Mushroomhead, Destroy the World Around Me

"You sing along! You get the horn! This is your favourite song!" - INSTILL, Horn

Admin Plus 1.1
// If you find a bug with this let me know

SS Hacking
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2005, 11:55 PM   #24  
Ugh Zan III
 
Jedi Outcast's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2001
Location: Florida
 
Jedi Outcast is offline Send a message via AIM to Jedi Outcast Send a message via Yahoo to Jedi Outcast
Default

so, do you go to school or do you just do your homework really fast...? you seem to be working on a lot of mods.
__________________
{star wars}{email} {portfolio}{cry havok}

My Maps:
{Multiplayer}
Lunar Eclipse (FE)
Lunar Chaos (SE)
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2005, 08:26 AM   #25  
Hey ladies
 
Fiendian's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2002
Location: Iceland
 
Fiendian is offline Steam ID: BjossiAlfreds Send a message via ICQ to Fiendian Send a message via MSN to Fiendian
Default

Btw, Zerg, if you need to test your mod to see if the values are working, maybe Quake 2 demo accepts mods, but I doubt it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2005, 12:29 PM   #26  
Werebull
 
Zerg-OverMind's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: USA, GA
 
Zerg-OverMind is offline Send a message via MSN to Zerg-OverMind
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jedi Outcast
so, do you go to school or do you just do your homework really fast...? you seem to be working on a lot of mods.
Lets put it this way, I'm above avagerage smart, but I'm normal avg on spelling, grammer, and language arts (those bore me)

btw Fiendan I dont see how Q2 could test a D3 mod when it needs the phyics and new code that Q2 cant support, but I already have Q2 (all of them, The Reckoning, Qround Zero, The Reckoning 2, and more) so I dont see why I'd need a demo
__________________
"It's not what's through it's what's believed by your enemy!" - Mushroomhead, Destroy the World Around Me

"You sing along! You get the horn! This is your favourite song!" - INSTILL, Horn

Admin Plus 1.1
// If you find a bug with this let me know

SS Hacking

Last edited by Zerg-OverMind; 01-22-2005 at 12:40 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2005, 12:58 PM   #27  
Hey ladies
 
Fiendian's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2002
Location: Iceland
 
Fiendian is offline Steam ID: BjossiAlfreds Send a message via ICQ to Fiendian Send a message via MSN to Fiendian
Default

It´s good you already have it.
Btw, don´t you need a decompiler if you want to do the same mod for the mission packs? Decompile the DLL for the mission packs, add the code for the three new commands and then compile a new DLL.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2005, 01:16 PM   #28  
λ
 
Shrinker's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2001
Location: Germany
 
Shrinker is offline Send a message via ICQ to Shrinker Send a message via AIM to Shrinker Send a message via MSN to Shrinker
Default

Okay, let me write this in caps:
ZERG CAN NOT ADD TO NOR MODIFY DECOMPILED CODE AND RECOMPILE IT
__________________
Homepage | Mirror I | Twitter
 The Beautiful Nature
  Lights | Echoes
   Arrival Mix | Tree of Life

  Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2005, 07:06 PM   #29  
大君主
 
Louva-Deus's Avatar
 
Seriously! Overlord
Joined: Oct 2001
 
Louva-Deus is offline Steam ID: LouvaDeus Facebook: LouvaDeusS Twitter: JonathanTanzer Youtube: TheSeriousZone
Default

If that doesn't work maybe we can put it to a ban picture..
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2005, 07:18 PM   #30  
Hey ladies
 
Fiendian's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2002
Location: Iceland
 
Fiendian is offline Steam ID: BjossiAlfreds Send a message via ICQ to Fiendian Send a message via MSN to Fiendian
Default

I know that already.
I´m just not good at coding, so I can´t understand the legal terms of it either.

Then I ask myself if there´s source code available for the mission packs aswell.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quake IV Gold! Rodzilla Off Topic Forum 21 10-05-2005 12:17 PM
Quake I...anyone else out there like it? Blues Cowboy Off Topic Forum 68 01-24-2004 12:54 PM
Problem with Quake 1 and 2 Fiendian Off Topic Forum 11 07-12-2003 07:56 AM
Quake 4? Fiendian Off Topic Forum 78 01-03-2003 06:22 PM
Serious Sam vs. Quake 3 MADMAN360 Off Topic Forum 43 01-03-2002 09:12 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:35 AM.