Seriously!
Go Back   Seriously! Forums > Serious Sam Series > Serious Sam HD

Serious Sam HD Discuss anything and everything about Serious Sam HD, the official remake of SS:FE on Serious Engine 3.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-05-2012, 11:47 AM   #1  
Highlander
 
Kristo's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2002
Location: Croatia
 
Kristo is offline
Default Mesh modifier list problem

For example I don't like sand rock texture on mesh and I want it to change to other. I use mesh modifier to change whole surface texture its works great then i save model and when there are two instance of same model visible its switch back to sand texture. Is that a bug or i doing something wrong.
__________________
Serious Editor 3 import-export add-on for new Blender 2.6x is HERE.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 09:40 AM   #2  
Afursome
 
Mischievous's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: I'm a gamer, so in a metaphysical way,no where.
 
Mischievous is offline
Default Re: Mesh modifier list problem

I had that trouble too, but with my own models.
One thing that caused it were LODs, and the other, the actual shader settings of my model. But both I needed edit data to fix.
Though you just may have not set the surface name right. Try "Default" and if that doesn't work, Solais found that you can get the surface names, if you open the mesh file (not the actual mdl one) with a hex editor.
If all fails, I'd suggest that you try the Material Editor , But remember to save the mesh of the model too since that isn't local too sometimes. Simply select the model, and open the material editor from the bottom left option. Where it'll say "World Editor".
__________________
Secretly Blue
Mass Effect 3, It's kind of as if you had to pay extra to see Golum in the LOTR series.
Louva-Deus:"You were born with a longer tail that the rest of us"
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 11:53 AM   #3  
Educated Fairy
 
Solais's Avatar
 
Seriously! Dev Master
Joined: Nov 2009
 
Solais is offline Steam ID: SolaisYosei
Default Re: Mesh modifier list problem

Hey Misch, I certainly remember something like this. Remember that Autumn Tree model? That has to be created, because when I changed a tree's texture, then made a copy of that tree, the texture changed back. So we had to make a completely new model. Dunno what causes this though... maybe it has something to do with that thing you did once, again with your tree model, that the model looked different from far than how it looked from close.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2012, 10:16 AM   #4  
Afursome
 
Mischievous's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: I'm a gamer, so in a metaphysical way,no where.
 
Mischievous is offline
Default Re: Mesh modifier list problem

Aka. LODs , and yes. Though modifiers can work with LODs too, It's a wild guess, but having transparent shaders in them seems to be a cause of this.
__________________
Secretly Blue
Mass Effect 3, It's kind of as if you had to pay extra to see Golum in the LOTR series.
Louva-Deus:"You were born with a longer tail that the rest of us"
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:29 AM.