Seriously!
Go Back   Seriously! Forums > Serious Sam Series > Serious Sam HD

Serious Sam HD Discuss anything and everything about Serious Sam HD, the official remake of SS:FE on Serious Engine 3.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 6 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 06-28-2009, 10:28 PM   #91   Add To Ignore List  
Scrapjack
 
freker's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: I'll give you a clue, its very English around here
 
freker is offline PSN ID: Freker Steam ID: Freker Send a message via MSN to freker
Default Re: The "Bug-Me" Thread: Your Questions for Croteam

Another question here.

Is the XBLA version of SS:HD going to have splitscreen co-op like the XBOX version of Serious Sam? And if so, how many?
__________________
WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAARRRR!
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 03:16 AM   #92   Add To Ignore List  
PASGETTI!
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
 
Gimli is offline
Default Re: The "Bug-Me" Thread: Your Questions for Croteam

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crusty Jugglers View Post
Can you guys conclusively say that Serious Sam HD is JUST the First Encounter?
I'll explain again. Serious Sam HD is FE HD + SE HD. In other words it is one game that consists of two episodes: FE HD and SE HD - just like the original game. The first one to be released is, obviously, FE HD.
__________________
"But someday I will break the curse. If there's such a thing as peace, I will find it! Faith... is better than any plan!"
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 08:16 AM   #93   Add To Ignore List  
Lava Golem
 
Joined: Apr 2003
 
jasser is offline
Default Re: The "Bug-Me" Thread: Your Questions for Croteam

@Rosco: I wouldn't be worried about the achivements. Doubt Croteam would force you to get them to unlock something. If they're there, i bet they'll be more in line with adding an additional challenge (say, complete the maps with Colts only or without picking up any health packs).
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 08:28 AM   #94   Add To Ignore List  
Footballer Orc
 
Rosco[CoF]'s Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: Northern Michigan
 
Rosco[CoF] is offline
Default Re: The "Bug-Me" Thread: Your Questions for Croteam

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gimli View Post
I'll explain again. Serious Sam HD is FE HD + SE HD. In other words it is one game that consists of two episodes: FE HD and SE HD - just like the original game. The first one to be released is, obviously, FE HD.
So, let me get this straight, I like to clarify things. SSHD will be both the First and Second Edition, but they are not going to be released at the same time. Kind of like HL Episode 1 and Episode 2, but hopefully closer in release dates? I'm fine with that. Will there be an option to purchase this on CD-DVD or will this be a downloadable game only? I may have missed that being pointed out somewhere, so I apologize in advance if it was.
__________________
Consoles are schwag.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 08:36 AM   #95   Add To Ignore List  
Hey ladies
 
Fiendian's Avatar
 
Glowing Red Stove Top
Joined: Nov 2002
Location: Iceland
 
Fiendian is offline Steam ID: BjossiAlfreds Send a message via ICQ to Fiendian Send a message via MSN to Fiendian
Default Re: The "Bug-Me" Thread: Your Questions for Croteam

That is actually a good question that I don't think has been asked before.
So let's ask it: Will the Serious Sam remakes be released for the PC in both digital and physical form?
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 08:39 AM   #96   Add To Ignore List  
Footballer Orc
 
Rosco[CoF]'s Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: Northern Michigan
 
Rosco[CoF] is offline
Default Re: The "Bug-Me" Thread: Your Questions for Croteam

Yep, I'm still kind of old skool, I still like to have a nice shiny CD or DVD for my games, minus the Valve stuff. I bought Chronicles of Riddick years back on a digital dist and it was a pain in the butt, I had to re-register the game even if I changed my video driver, and after a while it just quit working. Now mind you that has never been an issue with Steam releases, so there is hope a digital release would be alright, I hope.
__________________
Consoles are schwag.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 08:42 AM   #97   Add To Ignore List  
Lava Golem
 
Joined: Apr 2003
 
jasser is offline
Default Re: The "Bug-Me" Thread: Your Questions for Croteam

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fiendian View Post
That is actually a good question that I don't think has been asked before.
So let's ask it: Will the Serious Sam remakes be released for the PC in both digital and physical form?
You guys really should visit the front page (of S!) more often. Or just read the news properly (in the Serious Discussion forum that is) .

Quote:
Originally Posted by CDV
CDV Software Entertainment AG works together with Croteam and Devolver Digital to develop Serious Sam HD for the PC, which will be released in all territories (except in Russia and the Commonwealth of Independant States) in retail stores and as a digital download, in autumn 2009.
I hope that official statement by the publisher answers your question.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 09:03 AM   #98   Add To Ignore List  
PASGETTI!
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
 
Gimli is offline
Default Re: The "Bug-Me" Thread: Your Questions for Croteam

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rosco[CoF] View Post
So, let me get this straight, I like to clarify things. SSHD will be both the First and Second Edition, but they are not going to be released at the same time. Kind of like HL Episode 1 and Episode 2, but hopefully closer in release dates? I'm fine with that. Will there be an option to purchase this on CD-DVD or will this be a downloadable game only? I may have missed that being pointed out somewhere, so I apologize in advance if it was.
Yes, like HL 2 Episode 1 and 2. Serious Sam 1, to my knowledge, was the first game to successfully pull off the episodic game model. Unfortunately, it was widely not understood at the time, so for a long time people were confused and thought that Serious Sam 2 should have been named Serious Sam 3.

Jasser answered the rest.



I've thought about the interview some more. I think we should go for it after all. So the idea is to submit your questions to this thread, Zocky will sort them and we'll include them in the list we send to Croteam (we'll probably add a few of our own). You may also want to ask a few questions that aren't specifically related to SS.

We'll need to get permission for this, but this should be easy now that we can quickly reach both CT and Digital Devolver. I think that in the worst case scenario we'll have it up by next Monday or Tuesday. Although it could easily be this Thursday or Friday.
Obviously, to make up for not getting the answers sooner, I think we might be able to persuade CT and DD to have a little extra with the interview (like a screenshot or two).
Does this sound good to you guys?
__________________
"But someday I will break the curse. If there's such a thing as peace, I will find it! Faith... is better than any plan!"
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 09:22 AM   #99   Add To Ignore List  
Footballer Orc
 
Rosco[CoF]'s Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: Northern Michigan
 
Rosco[CoF] is offline
Default Re: The "Bug-Me" Thread: Your Questions for Croteam

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gimli View Post
Does this sound good to you guys?
Sounds good to me!
__________________
Consoles are schwag.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 09:41 AM   #100   Add To Ignore List  
Lava Golem
 
Joined: Apr 2003
 
jasser is offline
Default Re: The "Bug-Me" Thread: Your Questions for Croteam

Sounds like a plan Gimli.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 10:04 AM   #101   Add To Ignore List  
Hey ladies
 
Fiendian's Avatar
 
Glowing Red Stove Top
Joined: Nov 2002
Location: Iceland
 
Fiendian is offline Steam ID: BjossiAlfreds Send a message via ICQ to Fiendian Send a message via MSN to Fiendian
Default Re: The "Bug-Me" Thread: Your Questions for Croteam

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasser View Post
I hope that official statement by the publisher answers your question.
It does.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 10:21 AM   #102   Add To Ignore List  
Witch Bride
 
NecroViolator's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
 
NecroViolator is offline
Default Re: The "Bug-Me" Thread: Your Questions for Croteam

Now reading about the SS3 Engine is great, you can import your older maps...
So does this mean we DONT have to re create all the Texture we already have on Serious Engine 2 ???

I dont want to convert my 19Gig...



Also, will the Sound be fixed in the newer Editor/Engine ???
Every time I used a MP3/WAV/OGG I would get crap sounds, or no sound at all... Needs a revamp please ...

Last edited by NecroViolator; 06-29-2009 at 11:03 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 11:13 AM   #103   Add To Ignore List  
Mental
 
Deepblue's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
 
Deepblue is offline Steam ID: Deepblue_Seriously
Default Re: The "Bug-Me" Thread: Your Questions for Croteam

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rosco[CoF] View Post
So, let me get this straight, I like to clarify things. SSHD will be both the First and Second Edition, but they are not going to be released at the same time. Kind of like HL Episode 1 and Episode 2, but hopefully closer in release dates? I'm fine with that. Will there be an option to purchase this on CD-DVD or will this be a downloadable game only? I may have missed that being pointed out somewhere, so I apologize in advance if it was.
Or like SS:FE and SS:SE were in the first place.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 11:28 AM   #104   Add To Ignore List  
Hey ladies
 
Fiendian's Avatar
 
Glowing Red Stove Top
Joined: Nov 2002
Location: Iceland
 
Fiendian is offline Steam ID: BjossiAlfreds Send a message via ICQ to Fiendian Send a message via MSN to Fiendian
Default Re: The "Bug-Me" Thread: Your Questions for Croteam

Quote:
Originally Posted by NecroViolator View Post
Also, will the Sound be fixed in the newer Editor/Engine ???
Every time I used a MP3/WAV/OGG I would get crap sounds, or no sound at all... Needs a revamp please ...
They will be using a new audio sub-system in SE3. But do keep in mind that bad quality may just be your audio hardware at work as well.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 02:25 PM   #105   Add To Ignore List  
Loner Wiener
 
Joined: Apr 2007
 
Da Doom Man is offline
Default Re: The "Bug-Me" Thread: Your Questions for Croteam

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zocky View Post
Q: Will Serious Engine 3 use anything similar to Id's Megatexture technology?
A: No. We have to be able to create downloadable games (XBLA, etc.), not Blu-ray titles.
Well i can understand that, but I wonder if they will use megatexturing for SS3 and their unannounced war game?

It'll be cool to see some HUGE environments with it.
__________________
I often forget to go to this site. :P
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 02:39 PM   #106   Add To Ignore List  
Kamikaze
 
mr_z0mbie's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
 
mr_z0mbie is offline
Default Re: The "Bug-Me" Thread: Your Questions for Croteam

Hi, i have two questions about Serious Editor 3.
Will SED3 have primitive geometry tool, to quick making basic levels topology, like SED1, UnrealED or Valve Hammer? Its very uncomfortable to creat simple room in SED2.
Will SED3 have support 3ds max mesh export?
Thanks.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 03:00 PM   #107   Add To Ignore List  
Ugh-Zan III
 
Zocky's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2002
Location: Slovenia, EU
 
Zocky is offline
Default Re: The "Bug-Me" Thread: Your Questions for Croteam

da doom, what part you didn't understand? If Seg3 doesn't support megatexture tech, then ss3 won't use it either.
__________________
My Art Thread: link
UDK map - Yakushi-ji Temple wip
My portflio:
https://www.artstation.com/artist/zocky
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 06:36 PM   #108   Add To Ignore List  
Kleer
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Springfield, IL
 
Loggitt is offline
Question Re: The "Bug-Me" Thread: Your Questions for Croteam

Will SS3 be designed to take advantage of multiple CPU cores? If so, two only or all four of a quad core? Anxiously awaiting both HD releases in the meantime!
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 07:12 PM   #109   Add To Ignore List  
Poops!
 
Pooper's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: Siriusopolis downtown, 13SS Beheaded St. 4th Floor
 
Pooper is offline Send a message via AIM to Pooper
Default Re: The "Bug-Me" Thread: Your Questions for Croteam

I have a question:

Will there be entity support for cut-scenes like in SS1 or will I have to Lua my way through it like in SS2?
__________________
Castle of Doom........//////////
The Apollyon Cannon.//////////
Showcase || Maps Info || Castle Of Doom Music
Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something. - Plato
For when my days have come to an end, you shall be king. - King Terenas Menethil II
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 08:46 PM   #110   Add To Ignore List  
teitai
 
Louva-Deus's Avatar
 
魂クラッシャー
Joined: Oct 2001
 
Louva-Deus is online now
Default Re: The "Bug-Me" Thread: Your Questions for Croteam

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_z0mbie View Post
Hi, i have two questions about Serious Editor 3.
Will SED3 have primitive geometry tool, to quick making basic levels topology, like SED1, UnrealED or Valve Hammer? Its very uncomfortable to creat simple room in SED2.
Will SED3 have support 3ds max mesh export?
Thanks.
The short answer to the first question is no. CSG is a dead technology.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 11:07 PM   #111   Add To Ignore List  
Witch Bride
 
ChrisW's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
 
ChrisW is offline
Question Re: The "Bug-Me" Thread: Your Questions for Croteam

Will there be enhanced physics in SS HD? Maybe ragdoll physics? Perhaps you guys could add the sniper rifle to SS:FE HD and traditional desert foliage.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 08:03 AM   #112   Add To Ignore List  
Witch Bride
 
NecroViolator's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
 
NecroViolator is offline
Default Re: The "Bug-Me" Thread: Your Questions for Croteam

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fiendian View Post
They will be using a new audio sub-system in SE3. But do keep in mind that bad quality may just be your audio hardware at work as well.
Doubt my Comp is at fault... Its never the computers fault... NOOOO, not my baby...

Im using a X-Fi Ultimate...Vista Ultimate 32... And I use Sound Forge for all my sounds and such, so its great quality...

How dare you say its my computer... LOL ...


Never had problems with any other editor, just Serious Editor 2...


AND WILL THERE BE A " Collision " fixer/finder in the editor ??? SO ALL those bad triangles can be fixed ??? When I used in SE2 and Deleted the bad collisions newer ones would be created... Totally wacko stuff...
A Error Finder/Fixer would be a great relief ...
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 08:27 AM   #113   Add To Ignore List  
Hey ladies
 
Fiendian's Avatar
 
Glowing Red Stove Top
Joined: Nov 2002
Location: Iceland
 
Fiendian is offline Steam ID: BjossiAlfreds Send a message via ICQ to Fiendian Send a message via MSN to Fiendian
Default Re: The "Bug-Me" Thread: Your Questions for Croteam

Quote:
Originally Posted by NecroViolator View Post
How dare you say its my computer... LOL ...
You haven't written your computer's specs into your profile.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 08:32 AM   #114   Add To Ignore List  
Custom User Title
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: Krautsland
 
Politician is offline Send a message via MSN to Politician
Default Re: The "Bug-Me" Thread: Your Questions for Croteam

Will there be automatic map download from server this time ?
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 09:11 AM   #115   Add To Ignore List  
Witch Bride
 
NecroViolator's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
 
NecroViolator is offline
Default Re: The "Bug-Me" Thread: Your Questions for Croteam

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fiendian View Post
You haven't written your computer's specs into your profile.
Do I have to...he he...

OK, Im using a Dual Xeon/Quad Core, 4Gig, 8800GTX, 4 1TB WD HDs, X-Fi Ultimate, Vista Ultimate 32B...

Now you know what Im using, do I get a cookie ...
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 09:38 AM   #116   Add To Ignore List  
Hey ladies
 
Fiendian's Avatar
 
Glowing Red Stove Top
Joined: Nov 2002
Location: Iceland
 
Fiendian is offline Steam ID: BjossiAlfreds Send a message via ICQ to Fiendian Send a message via MSN to Fiendian
Default Re: The "Bug-Me" Thread: Your Questions for Croteam

Not quite, a 32-bit OS installed on a system totalling almost 5 GBs of memory? Your only excuse is if you set up the current OS before your RAM + vRAM (XRAM too but that one's a tiny factor) went over 4 GBs.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 09:59 AM   #117   Add To Ignore List  
Witch Bride
 
NecroViolator's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
 
NecroViolator is offline
Default Re: The "Bug-Me" Thread: Your Questions for Croteam

Yeh, I know... ...

Problem was I bought the 32Bits when there wasnt a 64Bit present...
Also had only 2Gig in beginning, and Im currently waiting for Windows 7 before any upgrades on my OS...Dont feel like installing the 64bits at the moment...Maybe later, depending prices on Win7... Which Ive seen so far will be 200 bucks just for upgrade to Win7 Pro/Ultimate... ...
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 10:05 AM   #118   Add To Ignore List  
Footballer Orc
 
Oinatikua's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Location: your sisters bed
 
Oinatikua is offline
Default Re: The "Bug-Me" Thread: Your Questions for Croteam

Great to hear from the Crazy Croats again! And even better the announcement!!

[SS:HD] question: since the release date is pretty soon, will there be any media (screenshots, trailers, ...) to show beforehand (if it's ok with the publisher)?
__________________
Did you hear about the dyslexic devil worshipper who sold his soul to Santa??
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 10:46 AM   #119   Add To Ignore List  
Kamikaze
 
mr_z0mbie's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
 
mr_z0mbie is offline
Default Re: The "Bug-Me" Thread: Your Questions for Croteam

Quote:
Originally Posted by Louva-Deus View Post
The short answer to the first question is no. CSG is a dead technology.
Perhaps the process of creating simple geometry will be more automatical, for example editor will be have a set of most used presets?

Will Serious Engine 3 have full dynamic lighting and SSAO?
Will the enemies use pathfinder or move to a target along the straight line?

  Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 10:56 AM   #120   Add To Ignore List  
Hey ladies
 
Fiendian's Avatar
 
Glowing Red Stove Top
Joined: Nov 2002
Location: Iceland
 
Fiendian is offline Steam ID: BjossiAlfreds Send a message via ICQ to Fiendian Send a message via MSN to Fiendian
Default Re: The "Bug-Me" Thread: Your Questions for Croteam

Although CSG is old, I would hope that SE3 could do such operations by some means. It'd be kind of lame if one had to go to great lengths to just make a simple room when it can otherwise be done within 3 seconds.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Anti-Patriot Thread MeadowMuffin Off Topic Forum 49 04-03-2004 04:45 PM
Anxiety/Panic Attack thread Kenjamin Off Topic Forum 27 03-15-2004 12:38 AM
The Self-Gratification Thread supershine785 Off Topic Forum 133 08-31-2002 09:24 PM
Computer Building Thread Parasite Off Topic Forum 9 06-29-2002 09:05 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:07 PM.